Started TR but Im scared its too much Lantus for her PM shot

Jo & Nola

Member Since 2024
Nola has been doing 100-199 for the last 8 hours. Im a little scared in giving her 1 IU again for her PM shot thinking it might drop too low. Can I do 0.5 as PM shot? What do you suggest? When she was on the other NPG insulin her PM shot had to be reduced from 1 to 0.5 because at 12-2 AM it always dropped below 80, sometimes even 40.

I started doing TR protocol today. Shes been doing 1 IU of Lantus in the AM only for the past 7 days.
 
You hold the syringe, as someone on here once said. If you feel uncomfortable shooting a value like that for now, drop the dose and see what happens. Your confidence in shooting safe, yet lower numbers, may increase in time.
 
It picked up a little right before her PM shot so I gave her the full dosage. I'll monitor closely. Thanks for answering! I do get wayy to nervous sometimes, being new at this and all.
 
It picked up a little right before her PM shot so I gave her the full dosage. I'll monitor closely. Thanks for answering! I do get wayy to nervous sometimes, being new at this and all.
Hi Jo, glad you were able to stall and get BG came up so you could shoot. Now please monitor her to make sure all is ok. She may just bounce from those lower blue BG’s.
I see you moved your shot time by 2 hours. Did you do it all at once or in steps?
If you make a big time shift all at once that can also affect BG’s suddenly.
If you move your schedule around you can move shot times by 1/2 hour a day or 15 minutes each cycle. (You would do that over several days to make a 2 hour shift).
It’s best to try to only change one thing at a time so her whole system doesn’t get all out of whack.
If you have any questions, please ask them. People here are very willing to help.
Good luck with TR!! Have a safe surf, Nola :bighug:
 
Hi Jo,

It's great that you managed to get BG levels up and administer the shot. Keep monitoring her closely, as she might bounce back from those lower BG levels.

I see you shifted your shot time by 2 hours. Did you do it all at once or gradually? A sudden shift can sometimes cause BG fluctuations. It's usually best to adjust by 15 or 30 minutes per day over a few days for a smoother transition.

  1. Try to change only one thing at a time to avoid disrupting her system. If you need more advice or have any questions, feel free to ask here or visit MeowQueries.com for additional resources and support.

Good luck with the TR, and safe surfing!
 
Hi Jo, glad you were able to stall and get BG came up so you could shoot. Now please monitor her to make sure all is ok. She may just bounce from those lower blue BG’s.
I see you moved your shot time by 2 hours. Did you do it all at once or in steps?
If you make a big time shift all at once that can also affect BG’s suddenly.
If you move your schedule around you can move shot times by 1/2 hour a day or 15 minutes each cycle. (You would do that over several days to make a 2 hour shift).
It’s best to try to only change one thing at a time so her whole system doesn’t get all out of whack.
If you have any questions, please ask them. People here are very willing to help.
Good luck with TR!! Have a safe surf, Nola :bighug:

This makes complete sense, thanks for the advice! I'll for sure take it into account from now on! I've been monitoring her like a hawk, and will continue to do so. I'm planning on sleeping late tonight just in case, but her trend seems ok for now. Today she started with 2 shots (12hrs apart). So before today she's been having only 1 shot at 8:30 AM and then today at 6:30 AM. I thought I was save moving her AM shot 2 hours because I was told that Lantus leaves a cat's body in 12 hours? So in my mind she no longer had Lantus by the time it was 6:30 Am. Im now on 12/12 so your advice is more important than ever for any further changes I might need in the future (not planning on any, but life right?, gotta be prepared).
 
So since you have only been giving insulin once a day it will give you wonky numbers. It wears off after about 12 hours. It will take a little time to see if this is a good beginning dose. It looks like the onset is between +2-3 so if you get a test at that point and it’s lower than the preshot you will want to test again in an hour.

Changing your shot time to be 2 hours earlier this time was fine because you were not giving insulin at night. You just don’t want to give insulin more than a half hour early every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle going forward. You can shoot if the bg is 200 or higher .
 
Last edited:
To help us help you please read this sticky on posting guidelines as this forum gets busy and some of us scan the board to see if anyone needs help. And welcome to the LLB forum.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/

Oh I'm so sorry!! Ill get on that right now. I cant seem to change the subject line of this thread anymore, so Ill keep the rules in mind for next time. I fixed my profile & signature according to the guidelines. Thanks again!!
 
No worries. Please start a condo for today. It looks like you could increase in two days unless you see green. Let’s see what happens.
 
Back
Top