STARTED LANTUS 12-30-19 SLGS TYLER AMPS-111 @+1-121 @+4-112 @+8-117PMPS-157@+2-112@+5-151@+9.5-132

Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Member Since 2018
From previous day's when he was on vetsulin
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tylers-journey-26.223494/#post-2500972

Hi all I'm Diane Tyler's Mom and I just moved over to the lantus board from the vetsulin board.
Tyler's AMPS this morning
MONDAY 12-30-19
AMPS - 111 started with 0.25 units
Started using a human meter on 12-18-19 RELION PRIME
He has been doing very well on vetsulin but decided to switch to lantus SLGS
He eats FF Pate 3% carbs chicken and beef and Dr Elsey Clean Protein Chicken Kibbles
Linda MrWorfMen's Mom has been with me from the get go and I don't know what I would have done without her you hear that Linda lol Beth who is Elmo's mom has been very supportive hey Beth
If I am posting something incorrectly please let me know as I have been use to posting on the vetsulin page
I am looking forward to meeting everyone here @MrWorfMen's Mom
Diane
 
Last edited:
Hey Diane :bighug: So excited for Tyler's Lantus debut :) You and he are going to love it here ❤️ Go sweet Tyler !!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️
Hey Beth I am excited too, we decided to start him with 0.25 , his numbers have been low and had quite a drop last night . Boy does lantus smell lol
Can't wait to test him through the day
 
Those tiny doses are a PIA to be sure but it's more important to be consistent than exactly accurate. You might want to draw up what you see as 0.25u in a used syringe with coloured water to use as a comparison to ensure consistency.
@MrWorfMen's Mom ok will do Linda @+1 -121 now is it higher than the pre shot because he just ate and I might not see a lower number until +2 or after or did he even get any of the insulin, but I'm sure he did @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Diane, Lantus doesn't pull down BG like Vetsulin does and you have to get the depot built up so right now don't be surprised if Tyler doesn't appear to be doing much. He was so stable on Vetsulin without steep drops that he may look like he's doing nothing right now on Lantus. Patience is key.
 
Diane, Lantus doesn't pull down BG like Vetsulin does and you have to get the depot built up so right now don't be surprised if Tyler doesn't appear to be doing much. He was so stable on Vetsulin without steep drops that he may look like he's doing nothing right now on Lantus. Patience is key.
@MrWorfMen's Mom oops forgot about the depot, thanks for the reminder, with all my questions you will see a poster on the board of Tyler's picture and it will say RUN it's Diane again lol @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Welcome, Diane!

Tyler's numbers are looking very good. It will likely take 5 - 7 days for the depot to be established so don't be surprised if Tyler's numbers are a bit higher, especially given the dose reduction. Some cats do have a temporary strong response to a change in insulin so don't let that surprise you, either.

We like questions so I doubt anyone will say, "RUN!"
 
Welcome, Diane!

Tyler's numbers are looking very good. It will likely take 5 - 7 days for the depot to be established so don't be surprised if Tyler's numbers are a bit higher, especially given the dose reduction. Some cats do have a temporary strong response to a change in insulin so don't let that surprise you, either.

We like questions so I doubt anyone will say, "RUN!"
Thanks Sienna, I was only kidding about the run comment lol I have a crazy sense of humor. When I was over at the vetsulin board I would bombard Linda with questions. I don't know what I would have done without her. She was with me right from the start, Thanks for the information , I was so use to shooting vetsulin and how it worked
I just have to be patient like Linda said
 
The mindset with Lantus is entirely different than with Vetsulin. The biggest considerations are that there's a depot and that dosing is based on the nadir numbers, not on pre-shot numbers. You also do not need to have food on board when you shoot. With Lantus, onset for most cats is at around +2. Most of us test, feed, and shoot all within as short of a time as possible. Gabby would get her shot when her head was in her food bowl!
 
The mindset with Lantus is entirely different than with Vetsulin. The biggest considerations are that there's a depot and that dosing is based on the nadir numbers, not on pre-shot numbers. You also do not need to have food on board when you shoot. With Lantus, onset for most cats is at around +2. Most of us test, feed, and shoot all within as short of a time as possible. Gabby would get her shot when her head was in her food bowl!
Thank you Sienna I have all of this written down and much more about lantus, I am so anal when it comes to details. I have to admit I am somewhat if a worry wart.Knowing that if I ever have a question or problem I know all of you will be here to help and that makes me feel so much better
 
Thank you Sienna I have all of this written down and much more about lantus, I am so anal when it comes to details. I have to admit I am somewhat if a worry wart.Knowing that if I ever have a question or problem I know all of you will be here to help and that makes me feel so much better
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:Diane, I’ve probably told you but inside my cat food cabinet are bullet points from all I’ve learned here, things I want for quick reference ,written on large bright index cards ...you aren’t anal, just thorough ❤️
 
Don't copy the title or the date. Copy the URL from here...the text on your browser bar at the top starting with "http:/xxxxx" and paste that into new condo for tomorrow.
 
This page shouldn't be displaying any differently than the Vetsulin page. Not sure what it looks like on the tablet 'cause I see the "http:" on my laptop browser. I seem to remember it's an android tablet you're using? I'll check on mine and see what it looks like.
 
Crashed early last night and woke up early this AM so I just got up. So much for grabbing some extra ZZZZs.:rolleyes:
Too early for me lol have the alarm set for 8 am , I should just stay up now.
You had to see me last night, I'm staring at this tablet saying where the hell is the URL, looked back at the vetsulin page, back and forth, then all of a sudden I see it, right in front of my nose, I am saying to myself how dumb can you be lol. I think I have lost a few brain cells along the way ha ha will talk soon @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Back
Top