Started BCP PZI tonight. No onset at +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misterbeesmom

Member Since 2016
ok took the plunge.

+6 was 323 from his final vetsulin dose. Gave initial BCp dose per vet instructions - 1 unit
+2 is 377. So not looking like onset is happening.

Two nights ago we had an awful time with a messed up fur shot on vetsulin, resulting in a "hi" meter reading, so in the 600's at least. He was cry-meowing. I am not going to let that happen again if i can help it, no matter what the protocol is. If his +3 is still going up, i'm dosing again.
 
Your +2 can be a food rise. Jen, how much Vetsulin were you giving? In general, we would say to halve the dose when you switch and give the insulin at least three cycles. I would not give more insulin - the problem you will run into is that you will have two nadirs and giving the shot in 12 hours will be problematic.

Depending on how much Vetsulin you were giving (Am I missing your current data on the spreadsheet?), you might be able to increase the dose tomorrow.
 
Your +2 can be a food rise. Jen, how much Vetsulin were you giving? In general, we would say to halve the dose when you switch and give the insulin at least three cycles. I would not give more insulin - the problem you will run into is that you will have two nadirs and giving the shot in 12 hours will be problematic.

Depending on how much Vetsulin you were giving (Am I missing your current data on the spreadsheet?), you might be able to increase the dose tomorrow.
Thanks
My ss isnt up to date. Was giving vetsulin at +6's and impossible to record that on our template.

We were dosing 3-4 u of vetsulin and barely keeping him under 350 if caught him at +6's.

Giving him 1u of bcp tonight felt like nothing. Maybe its a food spike, but i cant bear him going 'hi' again, so i'm watching watching watching.
 
I think two units is a logical choice, but I would really wait till amps tomorrow to up the dose. Then, every three cycles, if he is too high, you can raise.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top