Starbuck AMPS 415, +6 90, +7 105, PMPS 110

Status
Not open for further replies.

SarahNOLA

Member Since 2017
Yesterday...

So I wimped out and skipped Starbuck's shot last night, and she started off high this morning. Lowered dose to 1.25. Literally all I want from today is for her to go back high enough that I can give her a shot tonight.

Talked to my vet about how I've been keeping track of her numbers, and he said let's try taking her down to 1 unit. So I'm hoping to do that today/tomorrow.
 
I thought reducing the dose would get me to where I was confident giving her the night shot. I was going to give her 1 unit (she didn't get below 90 earlier today, but she got TO 90, so I was going to see where she was at this evening and maybe reduce her anyway.) But now she's at 110. Lowest yet.

I'm so frustrated. She NEEDS insulin because she shoots up to 350-400 if I let her go 12 hours with none. But she seems to need less and less. Now I understand why you should start WAY LOW and work higher, because doing it the other way around is hard. Thinking of giving a teeny token dose. Advice?
 
Last edited:
Seems she is definitely on too high of a dose causing those evening skips and then ugly bounces.

Oh well, guess I need to keep going until we get to something I can give twice a day. I've only been doing this for 3 weeks so I keep having to remind myself it takes time.
 
I'm glad you gave her "some" insulin. I would still get a before bed test or at least a +2 to see what she has planned for tonight.

Paws crossed the 1.0 unit allows you to shoot twice a day.
 
She's at 78 +3. I can stay up a couple longer just to make sure she isn't dropping too much. SIGH.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top