Starbuck AMPS 196 +4 71, +5 73, +7 83 could use advice about what next?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SarahNOLA

Member Since 2017
Last week...

I last posted on 9/6 and since then Starbuck has dropped from 1 unit to .25. She's been on insulin a bit less than 4 weeks. I want to say a HUGE THANK YOU to this forum because without it, I wouldn't have known to go from dry food to wet. It made an amazing difference.

I wondered if someone could walk me through what to do next... I had been doing SLGS, but she's already down to .25 units. She has been in the 70s-80s today, which under that protocol means she would get another reduction. What do you do when you're already giving .25?

Should I:

1) Reduce down to .1? (I don't know how to eyeball this, but from how I'm eyeballing .25 I would assume it's just a teeny sliver of light between the syringe plunger and the 0 line?)
2) Try to stay at .25 for a couple of days and be prepared to test her tonight?
3) Skip tonight's dose if she's under, say, 150 & give .25 again tomorrow?

From her spreadsheet you can see she DOES still need insulin. She jumps up when I reduce or skip. But in one week she's gone from 2 units to .25 and I am not sure what to do next! Would love any advice!
 
Last edited:
I would try the 0.1 unit dose next. It's hard to say what her dose should be because you've dropped it a lot lately and the larger depot could be in play, but according to SLGS you should reduce. If you can monitor tonight, you can try shooting lower than a preshot of 150, though with SLGS you should only shoot if above 90. From the Sticky Note on Insulin Handling and Fine Doses, here is the picture of 0.1 units:

01unit-1.jpg


Congrats on the reduction. :D She's having an awesome cycle today.
 
I would try the 0.1 unit dose next. It's hard to say what her dose should be because you've dropped it a lot lately and the larger depot could be in play, but according to SLGS you should reduce. If you can monitor tonight, you can try shooting lower than a preshot of 150, though with SLGS you should only shoot if above 90. From the Sticky Note on Insulin Handling and Fine Doses, here is the picture of 0.1 units:

01unit-1.jpg


Congrats on the reduction. :D She's having an awesome cycle today.


Oh thank you! That pic is exactly what I needed. That's about what I was imagining. As I understand it, the depot effect means her larger doses from a couple days ago could still be in play, right? So it may be the case that if I drop her, I might need to raise her back up again once that wears off.

I thought she was going to do great at .5 until she dropped to 48 yesterday. Whoops.
 
Good job! All those green numbers are healing numbers! I'm one of those people who had to reduce a lot in a short time. Hopefully this reduction will stick, too, :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top