Stanley changing to Pro Zinc today :)

I get your angst and can understand how previous losses would play into the emotions of it all. 4.7 is perfectly safe on either meter. If he goes below 3.8 then you boost his BG with HC and keep him up. Even that number has a bit of safety built in. On the human meter 2.8 would be the point where high carb comes into play. It's just that we don't want to necessarily push them down that far that we make dose adjustments at 5 (90) at least this early in the game. As time goes on and you understand Stan's reactions more, then you could reduce at slightly lower levels. So tonight, take him down to 1.5u and let's see what he can do with the new dose in the next few days.

He's doing so well you should be proud of yourself. You got this and Stan's a lucky little fella!
 
Last edited:
I get your angst and can understand how previous losses would play into the emotions of it all. 4.7 is perfectly safe on either meter. If he goes below 3.8 then you boost his BG with HC and keep him up. Even that number has a bit of safety built in. On the human meter 2.8 would be the point where high carb comes into play. It's just that we don't want to necessarily push them down that far that we make dose adjustments at 90 at least this early in the game. As time goes on and you understand Stan's reactions more, then you could reduce at slightly lower levels. So tonight, take him down to 1.5u and let's see what he can do with the new dose in the next few days.

He's doing so well you should be proud of yourself. You got this and Stan's a lucky little fella!

Ah it’s just been a tough few months and I’m on edge with it all, now we got Stan’s son (possibly!) booked in for ultrasound and other testing tmrw, then Stan’s sister or aunt?! With a bad tummy and thyroid issues... so praying for Stan he keeps up the good numbers. (Actually we both need to keep off the carbs!)

Thank you for explaining it to me re: dosing and carbs etc, I think I’m getting it. All of your support is just a god send, Stan is lucky to have you :kiss: & I’m the lucky one to have him!! let’s see how he gets on @ 1.5. The water splashing hasn’t been as bad for a few days, let’s see if he floods the floor tonight.

Xxxx
 
ABFC6785-5A6D-4DDE-94BC-BDA083CA1D14.jpeg

Just caught these two cuddling, there like this every night; Stan and his sister (or daughter!) princess :) nite nite everyone and thank you from this gorgeous boy x
 
Hey everyone just to update you, Stan is still a mystery his bg’s went back up after reducing the dose to 1.50 not to the 30’s though so that’s good. But now just before his shot he’s tested @ 7.4 (human meter) and 9.7 on the pet meter, so I’m guessing I won’t do his shot tonight? And do a few more tests before bed?

I don’t know what’s going on with him!! I know I should have tried to get more tests today but nightmare day with another sick kitty who is at the vets atm :(

I have made sure he has had lots of lc food and watched him eat he hasn’t seen hypo.

Any ideas appreciated! Xx

(P.s: sorry still not sorted the ss sheet out but I’m using the human meter now (aa from today) as seems accurate enough.)
 
I'm so sorry to hear your other kitty is at the vet. Hope all is OK soon.

Stan has cleared a bounce thus the lower BG. It's fine that you skipped but don't fear he's going too low. He's in great shape and you can just feed him normally since he had no insulin tonight.

Hope you get a good night's sleep and your other fur baby is home soon!
 
I'm so sorry to hear your other kitty is at the vet. Hope all is OK soon.

Stan has cleared a bounce thus the lower BG. It's fine that you skipped but don't fear he's going too low. He's in great shape and you can just feed him normally since he had no insulin tonight.

Hope you get a good night's sleep and your other fur baby is home soon!

Ah Thanks so much Linda, I’ll get some more food down him, test him and go to bed :)

Sadly my other boy looks like he has a tumour In his abdomen and waiting for test results but not looking great, I’m devastated. He’s my bed buddy soul mate, and the other little ginger one cuddling Stan (princess) is also booked in tmrw for an ultrasound tmrw just feel sick about it all. I love them all to bits Im trying to keep positive for them all, it’s just I lost my other boy to lymphoma recently and I have been so vigilant with them all, constant blood testing etc it’s just rubbish :(

Sorry for the unload!!! I’ll go give Stan a big big cuddle xxxxx
 
Oh Tania :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: They are never with us long enough. I'm so sorry for your recent loss. It's so hard when they get sick and each of them has a special place in our hearts. I have a 21+ yr. old who is my bed buddy and I know his days are numbered and I'll have to call it soon so I can truly relate to what you are saying. We feel so helpless especially when they can't tell us how they are feeling and so all we can do is our best. They are all lucky to have such a doting Mum.

ETA and no apologies for unloading. That's what we're here for! Support of any kind!
 
Oh Tania :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: They are never with us long enough. I'm so sorry for your recent loss. It's so hard when they get sick and each of them has a special place in our hearts. I have a 21+ yr. old who is my bed buddy and I know his days are numbered and I'll have to call it soon so I can truly relate to what you are saying. We feel so helpless especially when they can't tell us how they are feeling and so all we can do is our best. They are all lucky to have such a doting Mum.

ETA and no apologies for unloading. That's what we're here for! Support of any kind!
:( Thank you just feeling a bit overwhelmed at the moment hard to imagine them not being there purring and in your face all night!! Just a lot to deal with at the moment there all getting old and sick at the same time, I just hope I haven’t let them down :-( it’s hard when you have so many to look after, but I’ve tried to be so vigilant with them all and pick things up early, but cancer is a f****cker & I missed it somehow!!

Thank you for being there for me it means so much to me. Wow 21 that’s a grand old age :cat: we have to just enjoy every second with them and cuddle and cuddle them :-) on that note I have a few dogs waiting to come to bed and ofcourse the cats!!

Give your oldie a big kiss from me! Lots of love xxxxx
 
Bless you Tania, that's a lot to deal with. You love them unconditionally and so will undoubtedly do your best for them,your love for them all comes across strongly in your writing.

Squidge them all tight and hold them close, for however long they are with you they will know how loved they are xxx
 
Thankyou all for your amazing support & kind words it means a lot. A bit of good news is that Princess the one in the pic Stan’s girlfriend:-) is all good her scans were fine she just has a dropped kidney, kidney levels are slightly raised but thankfully no tumour! Such a relief, now just have to wait for the other ones test results and pray it’s something treatable if not I’ll just enjoy every day with him and get even more cuddles in. Just waiting to hear from vet as to when I can pick them up.

Stan seems a lot more settled and his results have been quite good today :-) so a better day!! Thankyou all, big hugs to you & have a lovely weekend. Hopefully no dramas like last wknd ;-) xxx
 
Evening all! Just a bit of advice please Stan is due his shot but he tested 10.9 on human meter. He has been quite low all day so do I skip this one or give him half a dose? Or normal 1.75 dose?

@MrWorfMen's Mom & @Red & Rover (GA)

He’s doing great though :)

I changed to the human meter officially on the 27th! Just waiting for Marje to help me change it all over again!

Thankyou :bighug:
 
Just got in the door. I'm not great for dosing advice and reading spreadsheets.
That was one nice cycle today. Stan could very well be on his way up after those blues.
It would be a shame to lose the momentum and the 196 could well be a low yellow. Keeping him in lower numbers will help him get used to lower numbers and the bouncing should decrease.
Can you stay up tonight if need be? Strips? MC/HC food? Chocolate? Coffee? Wine?
 
Just got in the door. I'm not great for dosing advice and reading spreadsheets.
That was one nice cycle today. Stan could very well be on his way up after those blues.
It would be a shame to lose the momentum and the 196 could well be a low yellow. Keeping him in lower numbers will help him get used to lower numbers and the bouncing should decrease.
Can you stay up tonight if need be? Strips? MC/HC food? Chocolate? Coffee? Wine?
Thankyou! Hahaha I just ate all the chocolate:-) I know it would be a shame for him to bounce I’m wondering if I test him now and he’s gone up it might be safer to shoot. Wanted to wait a little, I was up all night last night with other Cat after his op, not sure I can manage another all nighter :(
 
You hold the needle. No pressure. If it is sleep you need, then go for it. It is already midnight over there. Skipping means you can shoot anytime tomorrow morning and get can on track (if that is a factor).
The other option is a token half dose, depending on the next test. If he is going up without benefit of recent food, then you could give a slightly over half dose of 1 unit.

Downstairs to check on dinner. Will switch to my dodgy laptop. Some of the keys do not work so word choices can become creative and it takes longer to type.
 
Oh thank you @Red & Rover (GA) im just going to let dogs out & then I’ll re test him and make a plan! Quite like the idea of changing his dose time to earlier in the morning then evening pmps I can get more tests in before bed. Xxx
 
Ok he’s gone up to 15.8 do you think I should shoot? Or could do an early morning one. No history of keytones.

Thank you so much for your help! X
 
I’m thinking maybe just a half dose? (So .75) As he has been eating, so possibly going up with help of food too. What do you think? Xx
 
Yes, shoot full or half..
The other way to get bac ontrac is to move the shot bac 15 minutes per cycle . Need to double check with Linda on that. You mite be able to move bac more minutes per.
 
Just got home and have to run out to do a quick errand but wanted to tell you that you can shoot up to an hour early as long pre-shot is high enough tomorrow. Not sure how late you are now but looks like it might be 2 hours already.

He dropped low enough today to earn yet another reduction in dose so new dose would be 1.25u and his BG is high enough you are safe to shoot that new dose without fear of major dramatics tonight.

He's looking good and shooting 1 hour early tomorrow and Monday will get you back to usual schedule then if you want to shoot a bit earlier still, you can shoot early on Tuesday too.

You don't want to lose the momentum you have going but as Kel said, you hold the needle and your wellbeing is just as important as Stan's. He like your other charges, is relying on you so if you choose to skip that is OK too. Stan will get back on track in short order.
 
Thankyou! Sorry just had to try get antibiotics in other kitty, wasn’t so successful, wish hey had given me shots for him!!

I’ve dosed him half at my time 12 pm so will see how he’s going in he morning xxx
 
Thank you again everyone you are stars
Just got home and have to run out to do a quick errand but wanted to tell you that you can shoot up to an hour early as long pre-shot is high enough tomorrow. Not sure how late you are now but looks like it might be 2 hours already.

He dropped low enough today to earn yet another reduction in dose so new dose would be 1.25u and his BG is high enough you are safe to shoot that new dose without fear of major dramatics tonight.

He's looking good and shooting 1 hour early tomorrow and Monday will get you back to usual schedule then if you want to shoot a bit earlier still, you can shoot early on Tuesday too.

You don't want to lose the momentum you have going but as Kel said, you hold the needle and your wellbeing is just as important as Stan's. He like your other charges, is relying on you so if you choose to skip that is OK too. Stan will get back on track in short order.
thanks Linda sorry I read your message too late and already shot half dose but great you think we can reduce his dose even more :-)
xxx
 
Stan is recovering from bounces quickly and is slowly getting used to lower numbers (the bounces are not quite as high).
Thanks @Red & Rover (GA) hope that’s a good sign. He has been pretty low numbers today mostly greens! His lowest was 3.8 (human meter) stuck with the low carbs! But he is now at 5.2 (@ +9) so I’m not sure what to do about dose tonight?! I don’t know what’s happening with him!! But I think & pray it’s good :)

Thankyou for checking in on him xxxx
 
That is what you want to see – dark greens.
Post for advice closer to shot time.
I may or may not be online. Christmas baking, day 2.
I will do! Hopefully chat later, wow your early with the Christmas baking, have fun!
 
Ok he’s gone up to 12 but has been eating. Any ideas if safe to shoot? I’m thinking half dose? I’ve got another 35minutes before he’s due his shot X
 
I ended up giving Stan a half dose tonight I’m sure probably a full dose would have been ok but he went to 3.8 today, again I know this is good but lower than he has done for a few days....so I just want to play it safe throughout the night as I’m not sure how many times I can check on him, had a few restless nights recently ;-) I think once I’m a bit more confident and understand the bg’s better I’ll hopefully be able to adjust and know when to do full & when not to dose etc! And not bother you!

Hope that was the right thing to do @Red & Rover (GA) & @MrWorfMen's Mom

I’m wondering if Stan is aiming for another reduction in dose soon?!! ;)
 
WOW! Stanley is looking absolutely FABULOUS! He dropped low enough today with that 3.5 and 3.8 to earn a reduction in dose to 1u so giving the 0.75u tonight was just fine.

I am thrilled to see Stanley's progress. Go Stanley! :D
 
Evening all, I hope your all well and getting ready for the holidays!! Stan has been steady-ish. He has been sick a few times the past week and a little bit of an upset tummy. So he seems to be going quite low in the morning so I skipped one shot and now he seems high again. I’m not sure if this is a bounce or I need to increase insulin a little. I did also give him some gastro intestinal food to sort his tummy out which probably hasn’t helped.

It’s been a terrible few weeks we lost Stirling and so I’ve not been on the case as much as I should have been with testing at night and all the time.

Any thoughts will ofcourse be greatly appreciated!

I’m going to take him to Vets for full bloods on Tuesday as it’s been 3 months since his last tests.

Paws crossed for him! He’s good in himself but not sure he would show it if he wasn’t he’s such a stoic boy :-) x thankyou as always! X
 
I'm so very sorry to hear abut Stirling. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Tough enough having one furkid needing extra care but with several, it can be a handful.

I'm not sure what is going on with Stan. He was looking so good. Might be the upset tummy and the digestive food (? dry high carb).

You've held the 1u dose for awhile but then I'm not quite clear why you only gave the 0.75u for one night and went back up. Stan was getting some good green readings that were low enough to warrant the dose reduction and sometimes giving too high a dose can start looking like more insulin instead of less is needed although with the upset tummy that may be a long shot.

Try to get some night tests when you can as what's happening at night is a bit of mystery right now. Doesn't look to me like he's bouncing but without the night data, half the picture is missing. If you can grab some night tests for a couple of nights, then I think we can decide what dose adjustment is needed. It is looking like he needs an increase but I'd rather be certain given how low he was dropping before.
 
Thanks Linda, I’m not quite sure why I didn’t carry on at 0.75 dose my head has been everywhere recently trying to hold it together. Probably because his amps was 22 then continued to be high at preshots. Possibly he has had another flare up of pancreatitis or maybe the kidneys? Just when I thought I didn’t have to worry about him too much! We did a urine / creatinine test recently and it was at the high end of normal.

I’ll try get some night tests over the next few days, because he was low at normal amps I waited to do his shot until later so that’s kinda put us later than normal so trying to bring him back to earlier, probably not helping him either! Ah it’s such a fine art getting this right ;-)

Vet said could wait till new year for blood test but I think I’d rather do it sooner or I’ll be worrying even more!

Thankyou xxxx
 
Oh and the digestive food was wet intestinal food (just a few meals on the day he was sick) but have noticed he has been stealing renal food again so could be that! But really don’t think he has been having any significant amount to be affecting him that much.
 
Evening all and happy new year hope you had a wonderful holiday :) apologies for lack of updates but it’s been very hectic and we’ve all had flu

Just a quick one and I’ll update in more detail on Stan and how he continues to baffles us!! Recent bloods show he does have kidney issues and his thyroid needed upping to the next dose he is on meds for protein in his urine too. Saying that he is still great in himself apart from the past few days where he has been not eating as much and had slightly gunky eyes one of my other cats has had a bit of cat flu and unfortunately I think he might have had a mild attack, but now seems back on form. He has a really stressful trip at the vets which took it out of him.

So he seems to be really high in the mornings and then in the evening he has been quite low so a few times I have given him half his dose or not given it at all. So tonight pmps he is 9.3 do I give him his full dose? Or wait until he is over 11 and then dose? He is now on 1.5 units so not sure if I should reduce it. He seems to be doing quite well on that dose and maintains good figures through the day. Ofcourse knowing Stan that could all change next week!!!

Any thoughts / ideas will be gratefully apprecied.

Thank you as always xxxx

@MrWorfMen's Mom @Red & Rover (GA) @Kate & Toby :)
 
Last edited:
Just to update I waited until his bg went up to 16 and then did full dose of 1.5

Hope that was the right thing to do! :nailbiting:
 
Sorry to bother you all but Stan just tested 12.6 at his pmps shot & im wondering if I should just give him half dose? Or one unit or 1.25? He’s currently on 1.5.

Haven’t done his shot yet but he is due now!

Thank you all x

@MrWorfMen's Mom @Red & Rover (GA) :bighug:
 
Not sure what you decided to do tonight (nothing on SS) but you haven't shot that low before and don't have much night time data. I'd probably be inclined to reduce the dose to 1u tonight only and grab a +2 test to see if BG is dropping. If it is, then a little more monitoring may be necessary.

It would be a really good idea to get a test before bed every night because most cats go lower at night than during the day and without night data, you are missing half the picture.
 
Back
Top