Stalling? Sort of? Do I shoot? PMPS 125 but newbie...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy & Huey

Member Since 2014
Can someone take a look at Huey's spreadsheet and advise? I thought after the 125 I'd give him 0.5u so I went ahead and fed him, but now I'm second-guessing myself. I'm trying to lower his dose so I don't need to skip as many shots as before but he seems to be going lower than before???

Hope I'm not misusing the 911, this is timesensitive but not exactly an emergency per se...

Thanks!
 
The 911 is fine for this situation because you want to get eyes on your post quickly to help with his shot. Just remember to take it off once the "emergency" is done. ;-) (Go to your first post, click "edit," select the "None" button, and click "submit.")

I would suggest either skipping tonight if you're not going to be around to monitor or reducing his dose to .25u for the next few cycles to see how Huey does. He looks like he's trying to go into remission so we want to support that recovery as best as possible and give insulin when needed.
 
Well, when you stall, you do not want to feed before your next test in 15-20 minutes. The reason is that we want to see a non-food influenced BG reading. If you took a reading now, it would show some increase from the food when in reality he may be dropping.

2 choices for you.
1. skip the shot again "Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment"
2. shoot a reduced dose, like half his normal dose. That would be only 0.25U.
If you do shoot, I'd recommend getting a +2 to see what direction the numbers are headed. If they drop a lot, you may have a "Pajama Party" on your hands and need to stay up to test and make sure he does not go <50 mg/dL.

Not sure if you can or want to stay up all night testing. Your choice.
 
I think my brain has been so focused on the "OMG must wake up and get home on time for shots" that I keep forgetting that stalling (and NOT FEEDING) is an option. I'm around all night so I gave him the .25u and will test in an hour or two. I hope it doesn't throw things off in the morning... I'll check in here too.

Thanks!
 
Last night seemed to go as ought to have but his AMPS is 120. Can't test or stall so I guess it's another skipped shot this morning. Also thanks for pointing out the west coast folks, Deb, that's good to know.
Nancy
 
I think you might want to start posting over on the Lantus Tight Regulation forum. People there can guide you better in shooting those low pre-shots you are getting. Looks like Huey is trying to go OTJ, and we'd sure like to help you get him there.

Just introduce yourself as new to the forum. People usually post every day. Put the question mark icon on your post when you are looking for some specific feedback. It's a great group of people and very welcoming.
 
How can I put this politely?

ARE YOU F!@#ING S*@#ING ME???

BY WHICH I MEAN, I figured from poking around that Huey was as good a candidate for remission as any cat was, but it's barely been two weeks! I've been trying really hard not to get my hopes up or jinx anything so it's a bit of a shocker to be thinking about going OTJ already. I haven't even made it in to the first post-insulin follow-up appointment yet. (Which I've been putting it off partly because I am avoiding telling the vet I'm completely ignoring his instructions. The test results will vindicate me and the FDMB, but what if somehow they don't???)

I'm rambling and a little spazzy, and maybe now it's my blood sugar's that's low? I will definitely get over to the Tight Regulation board and get their thoughts on Huey's situation.
 
Nancy, some kitties do seem to go the OTJ route pretty quickly. I'm not saying it's a for sure thing, but the best way to get Huey there is to 'shoot low to stay low'. Yes, it can be very scary when you are shooting those low numbers in the beginning. But, I do think that Huey has a good chance of being one of those kitties that can go OTJ. It may take some time, but I'd rather see you over in Lantus Tight Regulation getting the feedback and support you need to get you there. There are more eyes over there to look out for you and help you help Huey get even better.

We don't know if it's the change to a lower carb food, some support for the pancreas to heal, losing a bit of excess weight or a combination of other factors that let's some kitties go OTJ so soon while other kitties will always be on insulin.

I'm just seeing some great blues and greens on Huey's SS and think he could be a good candidate for diet controlled remission. Keeping all fingers and paws crossed for that to happen for you guys.

p.s. You can always test your own BG levels. I did and it's how I found out I'm pre-diabetic. Low carb diet and weight loss here I come.
 
In hindsight, :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat probably would've been a more forum-appropriate response... I posted on the TR forum, looking forward to hearing what they think.

I have totally been testing myself! At my last checkup my doc told me my HbA1c is a little higher than it should be (so pre pre diabetic?), between that and Huey's diabetes, I've been extra curious about my own BG. Haven't started a spreadsheet (yet??) for myself though!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top