stalling pm shot- BG 197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nolan'sMom

Member Since 2014
I just tested my cat Nolan for his Pmps and he tested 197 so I tested again and it was 209. I've been giving him 2.4 units of prozinc for about five days now, trying to get him regulated, he has been doing better with it but now im afraid his BG is too low to shoot. Advice? He may have eaten a little less todaythat could be why its lower but im not sure whether to give him his shot or what?
 
He's around 200, so I would say to go ahead and give the shot. If you don't feel comfortable giving the full dose, you can give a BCD (Big Chicken Dose :lol: ) and give a reduced amount, like 2u or 1.5u. That way he's still getting insulin but you don't have to worry about him dropping too low. Then, the next time this happens, you'll know if a reduced dose at 200 is too much/too little and you'll know to decrease/increase the BCD, if needed.
 
Are you having trouble with Nolan's spreadsheet? (the one we can see has only numbers for the 20th) If so, send me a pm and we will see if we can get it going.
 
[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]




* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top