Stalling, need help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tininha & Juno

Member Since 2014
Hi,

Juno's PMPS is 157, but I'm afraid of shooting so low. Should I skip the PM shot or should I reduce his dose? Can you advice me on what dose to give him? Today morning I gave him 1.25u and he's on Levemir.

Thank you for your help!
 
I've posted a request over in the Lantus TR forum for people to come over to help you out. There are experienced Levimir users over there.

In the meantime, would you get another BG reading and post it here?
 
Hi Christina. Levemir, like Lantus, works best if given the same dose consistantly, and at as close to 12 hours apart as you can. That 168 and the 157 are pretty close, and it looks to me like Juno is holding a nice steady BG. Do you have plenty of test strips and some high carb food or syrup if they should be needed? Will you be around tonight to monitor Juno. If yest to both questions, then I would shoot the same 1.25 as you did this morning and hold that dose for 6 cycles (3 days) and gather as much data as you can.

I am guessing you did not feed him yet. I would go ahead and get another test in 30 minutes after the last one and report back with that number.
 
hi Christina!

your sweet Juno is bouncing. I'm not a Lev-user, although i'm familiar with how it works. I can tell you that both Lantus and Lev work best with a consistent dose given twice a day, about 12 hrs apart.

newly diagnosed cats have a great chance of going into remission if they become tightly regulated (meaning their blood sugar is kept between 50-120) as soon as possible after diagnosis.

i'm not answering your question directly about shooting right now, because i think i'd like to see a second test as well, and i'm wondering what your goals are.

Are you hoping to get Juno into remission?

Would you get another test and repost it?
 
Thank you Julie. I hope I can get Juno into remission. Definitely, but I know that is hard. His BG now is 189. It increased quite a bit since last test.
 
Has he eaten between the +12 and the last test? If so, the 189 could be a rise in glucose from the food.
 
Yes, Dyana. He has eaten between the first shot and the last test. I always leave him during the day. He prefers eating small doses. I'm worried now. I already gave hime the shot... Do you think I should start giving him some food in high carbs?
 
i just read through your previous post. i should correct what i said about Juno bouncing - his numbers are all over the place and he *might* be bouncing, but i suspect it's actually as much that Lev needs consistent dosing.

Seems like you're on the right track now.

I hadn't realized that Juno was so difficult to manage. If he's not responding to the low carb treats you've got, perhaps we can help you find something that he will like. Punkin loved boiled chicken - just a tiny cube of it was a great motivator.

I do want to encourage you that yes, it is a little difficult to follow the protocol to get a diabetic cat regulated, and some cats are definitely easier than others, but for the ones that make it into remission, their people all say it was worth it. i read that you travel and don't have someone to take care of him, which adds to the challenge. i wonder if someone could begin to "woo" him and if he'd eventually accept them as a substitute. we had a vet tech come to take care of punkin when we needed to be gone. we do have some cats that won't allow testing, but a cat sitter can give the shot.
 
I think there's a misunderstanding

What Dyana was asking was if you had gotten the PM test, and FED between then and the time you actually shot

I think you meant he'd eaten since AMPS but not that you'd fed him tonight until after you shot??

We had discussed stalling earlier...that you should test, don't feed, and ask for help. Is that what you did?
 
I didn't feed him since I did the PM test, Chris. I tested and asked for help. He had no food on his bowl. He wanted to eat, but I waited for your answers to give his shot.
 
Hi Julie,

Juno has been quite difficult to test, but in the past days it has been a lot easier. Right after Juno was diagnosed, once I wasted 7 strips just for a single test... Perhaps right now I'm pricking his ears much better. I'm also giving him lots of attention, and petting him a lot when I have to test him since he's not very fond of treats.

That's true about the travelling. That's also one reason why it would be great I could make it into remission. I'm also living abroad and everything seems more complicated when we are alone in a different country. Before the diagnosis I used to leave Juno and my other cat Zack at home, and a pet-sitter would come to check on them, but right now I cannot leave Juno alone for one week without the shots. I have to take him every time I have to travel because no strangers can approach him to give him the shots (or even to pet him). The vet knows how badly he reacted in the clinic and he also advised me the same.
 
If you can, get a +2 and as long as there's no big surprise, enjoy your night!

Sometimes, bounces can be good things....like when you're exhausted and need to get some sleep without worrying about where your sugarcat's blood glucose is going to go!
 
If you can find Bach's Rescue Remedy there, it can help to calm a cat down and relieve any anxiety. I used to give my cats some when we traveled, and then i used it with Anya when i got 2 kittens after punkin passed away. She was attacking them and generally being very aggressive and difficult. it helped quite a bit. i gave it to her a couple of times a day for a while.

one of the things that happens when you start testing is that the ears don't have many capillaries in them, but as you poke, it stimulates the capillaries to grow. so all that poking that doesn't bring blood at the beginning, is still doing something. Usually after 2-4ish weeks you'll start hitting blood every time and it gets infinitely easier! it's SO frustrating to be poking away and not get blood.

Have you seen this picture of where to poke? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/download/file.php?id=4550&mode=view

sleep well!
 
Thank you, Julie. I think I have been poking his ears a little bit below that spot, but I have also been noticing that the ear (the left one) that I poke more is the one easier to get blood. Now it makes totally sense what you are saying. I will start poking more the right ear from now on.

About the medicine for anxiety I don't thing I can get it here, but I google it and I think I can find it in my home country :) Thanks for the tip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top