That's in humans, cat's have a faster metabolism and you don't get the duration, 12 hours gives you better glycaemic control.The Lantus info says it was designed to be a 1x day dose.
The TR protocol we follow is based on a published retrospective veterinary study. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19592286The Vet has been trained to not use "anecdotal" info and to trust science. AND when the research hasn't been done and there is no scientific evidence they are bound to the science. I thank God for such a group as the FDMB.
Lantus is a depot insulin, so part of the shot you starts to get to work straight away, (onset typically around +2 for a cat), part of it remains in 'storage' for release later (the depot), the depot usually starts to come into play later in the cycle, and can even last into the next cycle, in some cases you may get depot action well beyond +12, and in situations like this when we are shooting on 12/12 schedule you may get some overlap, so you still have some depot action, as the next shot onsets. This, as your cat becomes regulated is what helps you achieve a flat curve that lantus is so famous for, take a look at the numbers on George's ss, you'll see that as he got regulated, he became super flat, we got good duration and overlap and his BG didn't vary by more than 20pts in a cycle.When you say Lantus does better w 2x day doses I don't understand because it looks like she was holding pretty good numbers (a little too high yes) but for the 24 hrs. and 2 days isn't much to go on I understand. The Lantus info says it was designed to be a 1x day dose. Just curious. I
That's in humans, cat's have a faster metabolism and you don't get the duration, 12 hours gives you better glycaemic control.
You'll be better off using the syringe(with the 1/2unit markings), the pen will only let you dose in 1u steps, with a syringe you can micro dose and change the dose by small steps. take a look at this link for info on how to micro dose 0.25u or smaller , I think vet's sometimees doubt that we are able to accurately draw small doses, they don't believe it's possible.
Both dosing methods we use here see us changing the dose by 0.25u (up or down, depending on numbers), in my experience, usually (ie no underlying conditions), we either see kitties fail to hold a reduction, or see their BG's bottom out if they have been taken up too fast. (at worst this could see your kitty experience a symptomatic hypo and a visit to ER, saddly I have witnessed this remotely and the outcome is not always happy)
The TR protocol we follow is based on a published retrospective veterinary study. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19592286
I followed TR with George, I have to say I'm a fan as it saw him go into remission after about 5months, he's still in remission now over a year later (anti jinx), my vet was also a bit circumspect of the board at first, I promised her that I would be careful and keep a close check on George, he's the only diabetic cat she's had go into remission, so she's now a fan of the board, and has referred some other clients to it.
Lantus is a depot insulin, so part of the shot you starts to get to work straight away, (onset typically around +2 for a cat), part of it remains in 'storage' for release later (the depot), the depot usually starts to come into play later in the cycle, and can even last into the next cycle, in some cases you may get depot action well beyond +12, and in situations like this when we are shooting on 12/12 schedule you may get some overlap, so you still have some depot action, as the next shot onsets. This, as your cat becomes regulated is what helps you achieve a flat curve that lantus is so famous for, take a look at the numbers on George's ss, you'll see that as he got regulated, he became super flat, we got good duration and overlap and his BG didn't vary by more than 20pts in a cycle.
Shooting once a day you aren't taking advantage of the depot/duration and overlap, that 47 yesterday at+1 tells me that 1u is too strong of a dose, when a kitty is overdosed on lantus, because the associated depot is also large you can see it hold the numbers down for longer as the depot drains. I suspect that as the depot drains, you may well see the numbers jump right up.
I want to clarify, that I would not recommend shooting 1u twice a day, I think that would be a mistake/risky. 0.5 units may be ok as long as you monitor closely. otherwise 0.25u would be a better option.
Click on the link in the signature of the members.Also, How do I check someone else's spreadsheet?
In my excitement I realize I forgot to test just now before I shot the .5 unit. Will be watching closely and ordering more syringes.
By "watching", I hope you mean you will be testing regularly. Since we don't know for sure when your kitty's onset is and don't know if that 65 is higher or lower than she was preshot, I'd recommend another test at +2, and go from there.Gill you were right +1 was still 65. Will just have to watch through the night. THX.
I can't see any reason why you should waste the money to buy a vial when a pen is much more economical, especially with a kitty on such a low dose. Has your vet ever looked at a pen? If you show him/her the cartridge, it looks just like the vial where you put the syringe in. Same thing, smaller package.My conversation with the Vet will go something like "I'm ok with anecdotal info when there is no science even though cats are not people. I may have to pony up the $$$ for a vial of Lantus just to get past all this.

Glad you tested.Gill you were right +1 was still 65. Will just have to watch through the night. THX.
Yes. I didn't know what to expect from Vet and had a frustrated moment there. I was afraid she might contact the Pharmacist who had to tell me no it wasn't a good idea to use a syringe BUT our Vet came through and was very supportive.By "watching", I hope you mean you will be testing regularly. Since we don't know for sure when your kitty's onset is and don't know if that 65 is higher or lower than she was preshot, I'd recommend another test at +2, and go from there.
I can't see any reason why you should waste the money to buy a vial when a pen is much more economical, especially with a kitty on such a low dose. Has your vet ever looked at a pen? If you show him/her the cartridge, it looks just like the vial where you put the syringe in. Same thing, smaller package.![]()
I'm wondering if my monitor is broken.
We find it easier to catch up on what has happened if you put it in the comments section, to the right of the BG columns. You can use the wrap text icon to get it to all fit. Look at other people's spreadsheets to see how it looks.Wasn't sure how to show today's activity on the SS. Just put in notes. Open to suggestions/directions.