STALLING - need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heather and Khouklo

Member Since 2020
+22 (last dose 0.5 unit lanus)
BG: 107 relion

was trying to get on track with dosing at +21 so i could start tomorrow on time as planned for my first glucose curve test but he's still not high enough for me to dose .

was planning on dosing 1 hour ago and again 11 hours from now but if i wait until morning that puts me at 32 hours.
 
i have only checked him once comparing libre to relion meter

relion meter was 20 points lower than libre.

right now libre says 120 so im guessing relion would say 100.

i will be checking the two against each other again
 
this is how he's been trending since the libre sensor went on 7 hours ago
Screenshot_20200221-010320_LibreLink.jpg


fwiw....
+14 BG: 103 relion
+22 BG: 107 relion
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200221-010320_LibreLink.jpg
    Screenshot_20200221-010320_LibreLink.jpg
    23.8 KB · Views: 196
Last edited:
We really have no experience reading the Libre or understanding how it fits in with our current dosing methods.

It doesn't even really measure the blood glucose....it measures the glucose in the body's interstitial fluid

It will help us if you'll go ahead and put the blood glucose numbers you've gotten using your Relion into the spreadsheet.

Once you start keeping track of your numbers, we'll probably want to move you over to the Lantus insulin support group so you get the most experienced people helping out
 
@Chris & China (GA)
With the BG levels reading like they are, no insulin for so long, I'm wondering if her cat is even diagnosed correctly.

Despite the high fructosamine, cat showed no other symptoms.
One of her other threads, where I asked a few questions. Because I had my doubts this cat was actually diabetic.
STALLING Again -NEED DOSING ADVICE / Last Dose 25 hours ago

She said her cat was lethargic. That was his only other symptom.
Questions I had for her included these:

That's it. He was lethargic?
No polyuria? peeing a lot
No polydipsia? drinking a lot of water
No ravenous appetite?
No steady weight loss? despite ravenous appetite
Not constantly begging for food?
No big flakes of dandruff? big ones dime and nickel size
No diabetic neuropathy? walking funny, down on his hocks
Coat condition? dry and lifeless, or soft and shiny
Glucose in the urine?
Ketones in the urine?
Goucose level in the blood was what?
Is your cat overweight?


p.s. French language feline diabetes facebook group has members that use the Libre more frequently. Getting used to reading the flow on the Libre charts a bit.
 
20200221_124150.jpg
@Chris & China (GA)
With the BG levels reading like they are, no insulin for so long, I'm wondering if her cat is even diagnosed correctly.

Despite the high fructosamine, cat showed no other symptoms.
One of her other threads, where I asked a few questions. Because I had my doubts this cat was actually diabetic.
STALLING Again -NEED DOSING ADVICE / Last Dose 25 hours ago

She said her cat was lethargic. That was his only other symptom.
Questions I had for her included these:

That's it. He was lethargic?
No polyuria? peeing a lot
No polydipsia? drinking a lot of water
No ravenous appetite?
No steady weight loss? despite ravenous appetite
Not constantly begging for food?
No big flakes of dandruff? big ones dime and nickel size
No diabetic neuropathy? walking funny, down on his hocks
Coat condition? dry and lifeless, or soft and shiny
Glucose in the urine?
Ketones in the urine?
Goucose level in the blood was what?
Is your cat overweight?


p.s. French language feline diabetes facebook group has members that use the Libre more frequently. Getting used to reading the flow on the Libre charts a bit.

No to everything BUT
*excessive drinking and urination
BUT he was on steroids
(although this had increased even more within the past 3 - 4 weeks but didn't know what else to think other than steroids but think it was bladder infection)

*any weight gain or loss seemed to correspond to being on and of steroids

Glucose: 263
fructosamine: 616

no ketones in urine
urine glucose: 1000 mg/dl
 

Attachments

  • 20200221_124150.jpg
    20200221_124150.jpg
    45.2 KB · Views: 284
No to everything BUT
*excessive drinking and urination
BUT he was on steroids
(although this had increased even more within the past 3 - 4 weeks but didn't know what else to think other than steroids but think it was bladder infection)

Glucose: 263
fructosamine: 616

no ketones in urine
urine glucose: 1000 mg/dl

Steroids can definitely cause transient diabetes and once the cat is off them they don't need insulin anymore. Infection can also cause high BG, and now that the UTI is resolving his BG is trending back down. I would hold insulin and continue to keep getting a few daily tests--as long as the BG is mostly below 180, I would hesitate to give any insulin because it's very possible he doesn't need it anymore.
 
Steroids can definitely cause transient diabetes and once the cat is off them they don't need insulin anymore. Infection can also cause high BG, and now that the UTI is resolving his BG is trending back down. I would hold insulin and continue to keep getting a few daily tests--as long as the BG is mostly below 180, I would hesitate to give any insulin because it's very possible he doesn't need it anymore.


it seems to correspond to the UTI, not the steroids.

I'm monitoring him but not giving insulin, he still doesn't need it

his BG was 81 , one hour ago
 
it seems to correspond to the UTI, not the steroids.

I'm monitoring him but not giving insulin, he still doesn't need it

I wouldn't discount the impact steroids can have on diabetes. Bandit had been in remission for 5 years when he had to go on prednisolone for immune-mediated myelofibrosis, and immediately needed Lantus as well (that's the entire 2015 tab on his spreadsheet). His need for insulin dropped as we weaned him off the steroids, and once he was completely off them he went back into remission. That said, if he needs steroids again in the future, don't be afraid to use them, just be aware that he may need to be on insulin and monitored while he's getting them. Steroids can treat many life threatening conditions, and diabetes is very treatable if you're using the right insulin, food, and home monitoring. :)
 
As long as the blood glucose (BG) numbers are still too low to shoot, I'd hold off on the insulin.

Those low BG readings may partially be due to the fact that the Lantus insulin you are using has a "depot" or storage area.
That "depot" is still providing some insulin.
It usually takes at least 3 days for the Lantus "depot" to drain.
Let's see how Khouklo does over the next few days.

p.s. Where did he get his name? It's very unusual.
 
As long as the blood glucose (BG) numbers are still too low to shoot, I'd hold off on the insulin.

Those low BG readings may partially be due to the fact that the Lantus insulin you are using has a "depot" or storage area.
That "depot" is still providing some insulin.
It usually takes at least 3 days for the Lantus "depot" to drain.
Let's see how Khouklo does over the next few days.

p.s. Where did he get his name? It's very unusual.

why does my vet know know this? about the depot affect? i tried to ask about this and she said the insulin wouldn't stay in his system for more than 18 hours.

so far he's looking good but I'll feel a lot better after several more days of steady levels.
 
View attachment 51431

No to everything BUT
*excessive drinking and urination
BUT he was on steroids
(although this had increased even more within the past 3 - 4 weeks but didn't know what else to think other than steroids but think it was bladder infection)

*any weight gain or loss seemed to correspond to being on and of steroids

Glucose: 263
fructosamine: 616

no ketones in urine
urine glucose: 1000 mg/dl

I made a typo his glucose was 463

blood glucose: 463
fructosamine: 616
no ketones in urine
urine glucose: 1000 mg/dl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top