Stalling - need advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack and Jenell

Member Since 2014
Jack's AMPS (I test/shoot @ 12/12 because of my work schedule) was 174. I usually give 4 units Prozinc but that seems like a lot given his number. Should I give a half dose? I leave for work @ 2:45. Thank you in advance.
 
Can you get another test in about 30 minutes without feeding to see if he's on the rise?

Jack's SS looks to me like too much insulin. He is dipping fairly low for nadir, and those high pre-shot numbers, and even the strange AM Sunday cycle look like bounces. However, with the very recent history of DKA, it's a little more sketchy to recommend a reduced dose. How long will you be gone at work and unable to monitor his BG?
 
I'll be at work from 3-11:30 pm. I decided to give him 1 unit because he is on steroids as well. I'll come home and check him @ 7pm on my lunch break. Thanks for the info though. I am also not sure about his dosing. Pretty confused at this point.
 
I think that's a good plan. I'm curious to see how he does even on the 1 unit. Before the DKA, it looked like Jack's dose may have been high even at the 1.5u. I supposed its possible that the release of glucose due to bouncing over a prolonged period could also lead to DKA. If it weren't for the DKA, I'd suggest going down in dose. I'm wary of suggesting going down a lot in light of the DKA, however, since I'd absolutely hate to see it happen again. nailbite_smile

You may have posted this elsewhere, but are you checking his urine for ketones as well?
 
Jacks +6 is 308. What a bummer! I guess he really does need insulin with the steroid. I wish I was home to keep a better eye on his BG.
 
Maybe at the weekend you can get some more mid cycle tests in.. i find myself wondering how low he drops during the day - cos I bet the 57 and 82 you got the last few days weren't the lowest he went... and if he goes under 50 the dose is too high. And if he is going under 50 it would explain the high black bounces!

If he is bouncing you might want to hold a dose a few days to let the bounce clear before trying a new dose.

Then, Given he had DKA I would try say 3 units for a few days and see what happens. If he goes under 50 then reduce the dose. and keep us updated so we can look at his SS and see how the dose is working.

Wendy
 
Yes, my weekend is Mon/Tues so I will do many tests those two days to get better info. I'm hoping that he can tolerate the 4 units for the next few days so the numbers I get on Mon/Tues will be more informative. Given what he did on 3/26, I think I will bump my no shoot number down to 150 taking into account that he is getting oral steriods twice daily. If I do get an unshootable number (hopefully not) I may just have to bump him down to 3 or 3.5 units and wait another few days to let him readjust. Frustrating :/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top