? Stalling: need advice on Vetsulin dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Smoky

Member Since 2016
I am not sure about giving smoky his AM dose. BG at 76 at 11:15pm last night, +3 after his shot, jumped to 322 by 2:15am, + 6 after PM shot. Checking his PSAM BG in 5 minutes. First time he ever had low BG, has always been around 350-380 since his dx on Sept 1st, 2016. Just checked smoky, PSAM 288.
 
Last edited:
Lisa, I can't stay to watch you this morning so I'm just going to tell you what I think (remember, I've never used Vetsulin)

Are you going to be home today to test as much as necessary? If so, the 1 unit dose last night actually did OK...he dropped to 76 (which is a safe number), but we don't know what might have happened if you hadn't given the Karo/food....he could have kept dropping or that might have been as low as he was going to go....that's what we mean when we say that Vetsulin usually hits "hard and fast" and then wears off long before the next shot

That being said, I also don't see any reason why you couldn't give .5 this morning if it would make you more comfortable while you're getting used to testing and posting

Might let you "ease into it" a little slower while you're learning
 
Okey dokey,
That 288 should be shootable in principle (will you be able to monitor if you give the shot?)

But I would strongly suggest that you reduce the dose. I agree with Chris's suggestion of half a unit.
For newcomers to Vetsulin/Caninsulin we suggest that it is best not to 'aim' for a nadir (lowest number) of less than 90 to 100 (5 - 5.6). That is to give some buffer of safety if the cat's blood glucose actually drops lower than that.
That 76 that you got yesterday was a bit too low, and also a bit too early in the cycle (he may have dropped even further without intervention from you).

Eliz
 
Lisa, I can't stay to watch you this morning so I'm just going to tell you what I think (remember, I've never used Vetsulin)

Are you going to be home today to test as much as necessary? If so, the 1 unit dose last night actually did OK...he dropped to 76 (which is a safe number), but we don't know what might have happened if you hadn't given the Karo/food....he could have kept dropping or that might have been as low as he was going to go....that's what we mean when we say that Vetsulin usually hits "hard and fast" and then wears off long before the next shot

That being said, I also don't see any reason why you couldn't give .5 this morning if it would make you more comfortable while you're getting used to testing and posting

Might let you "ease into it" a little slower while you're learning
I will be home the next three days so can hone test. Never mind about the .5 duh, I shld have known it was half a unit.
 
Hi Lisa,

Here, for a bit of light reading (;)) is the link to the Vetsulin/Caninsulin user guide. It has some basic info on handling and using this insulin.
Vetsulin/Caninsulin user guide

It's good that you are able to test today.
Do shout out if you need help, or if you are concerned in any way. :bighug:

Eliz
 
Okey dokey,
That 288 should be shootable in principle (will you be able to monitor if you give the shot?)

But I would strongly suggest that you reduce the dose. I agree with Chris's suggestion of half a unit.
For newcomers to Vetsulin/Caninsulin we suggest that it is best not to 'aim' for a nadir (lowest number) of less than 90 to 100 (5 - 5.6). That is to give some buffer of safety if the cat's blood glucose actually drops lower than that.
That 76 that you got yesterday was a bit too low, and also a bit too early in the cycle (he may have dropped even further without intervention from you).

Eliz
Thank you for your advice and Chris too has been very helpful. I will be home the next three days so can watch my boy
 
Hi Lisa,

Here, for a bit of light reading (;)) is the link to the Vetsulin/Caninsulin user guide. It has some basic info on handling and using this insulin.
Vetsulin/Caninsulin user guide

It's good that you are able to test today.
Do shout out if you need help, or if you are concerned in any way. :bighug:

Eliz
Thanks Eliz
I was just looking over the vetsulin guide when you posted. Slept about 4 hours so going to try and get a catnap in.:cat:
 
I give Callie Vetsulin and I have had times when we get numbers lower then what I feel comfortable with. I keep slowly reducing her dose to match what her numbers are going and where they might be going. Callie's numbers are always lower in the middle of the night. I have to give her a smaller dose for her PM shot.
 
I gave smoky half a unit of vetsulin in the am, his BG was 288 but it was 76 at +3 after his pm shot. I had some good advice from others on this board. I don't know what I wld do if I didn't have all of you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top