Stalling, I need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Freddie

Member Since 2014
3/17/14
PMPS 105 taken 1/2 hour later and testing is 121

Freddie has not eaten much today and we are new to testing for about 2 weeks. He has been on insulin since 2-10 and his numbers are all over the place..

I have not given him any insulin Since I have not heard from anyone..I don't know what I should do.
I posted over on the Health Board and only received one post so I am at a loss as to what I should do for him now.
He hasn't eaten all day so I am going to have to get him to eat he is a big boys and he hasn't been eating much since I am switching him to soft and no more W/D.Kibbles..
Now I know that is what has been spiking his insulin.
I am very concerned.

Yvonne
 
If he's not eating skip tonight on his shot. If you can get him to eat and can check on him during the night then give him a token dose of .5u

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I've done both the wait and retest before and a token dose. Caution is always a good thing if you're not sure, especially if Freddie isn't eating. Hoping Freddie is feeling better soon or gets used to the new diet soon. The diet change has made a huge difference for my Max, so it's worth it. I think I remember it taking a few weeks for him to get on board though. Also, have you tried different brands and/or flavors? It took a little experimenting for me to find what Max likes. He hates turkey anything. He also hates the gourmet food but will eat Fancy Feast chicken (and that's almost about it).
 
I can hardly think of a brand of food that I have not tried on Freddie.
I have not tried Soulistic foods or Life's abundance or Addiction. I would hate to order a case of it and no one sells it around here. I usually try and stay away from fish he really has not liked fish anyway. But see thath most fish foods are low in carbs and fat...I just can not believe he will not eat FF it would be too easy I guess. Will try it again. Thanks
 
Is Freddie thirsty? If he is, you might try to wet down some canned food to soupy like texture - mix it up and put it next to the water bowl. He may be attracted to it when he is thirsty. If he licks all of the water out, add and mix some more in. I transitioned three chow hounds this way. They went for the water but preferred the soupy food to the plain water and soon were licking the entire dish clean. That was when I completely removed the dry food.

I have ordered a case of Life's Abundance for my CRF kitty. I had to order a whole case BUT was told that if they don't like it, I can return the rest for a refund. I will let you know how they do. These girl civvies were my most dry food addicted kitties so it will depend on taste. Mine will not eat Fancy Feast Pate food either but I am surprised that all five of my cats love the Wellness Core, grain free, turkey, chicken and chicken liver food. I use this to supplement their raw food diet.

I would be happy to send you a can of the Life's Abundance if I think it is good food.
 
Robin, Thank you for the tip of watering down food, Freddie is thirsty and usually drinks anything I bring to him. I have not thought of doing that.
Let me know how your babies like the Life Abundance food I have heard it was a good one. Fred might like a food with liver in he use to eat liver when I use to feed it to him small amounts. TY
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top