@FrostD are you around?Pmps at 114 Should I wait a little longer and re test? His PMPS shots have read low last 2 nights so I administered no shots. Any advice would be great! Thank you!
Yes, I retested he’s at a 118. I couldn’t wait to feed him any longer he was being patient but ready for his dinner. No shot again this evening. I have to work a really early 1am shift so I wouldn’t be able to monitor him if I did.Definitely stall without shooting and retest. Perhaps you have done this already?
Are they bad?There are so few mid-cycle tests here that I am very uncomfortable.
Okay… to make sure I understand what’s been going on … your spreadsheet says you’ve been shooting .6 or .4 units. Is that correct. But you said that your vet said to give 2 and then 3 units? Can you clarify? This was before you started your spreadsheet?I’m trying SLGS. It’s been about a week. I initially just did what my vet told me to do, start at 2units n go up to 3u. And only feed twice a day. I was so uncomfortable with that after a few days I found this site and adapted the SLGS. It’s still so new for me and I’ve read so much Info and think i have a good understanding and then he starts giving me low PS numbers and I panic in what to do ![]()
You made the right decision, I think. If you cannot monitor, it was best to not shoot. Please tell me - for future reference- what are you feeding your kitty? Feeding only twice a day with insulin is not optimal- some snacks during the cycle help to stabilize blood glucose numbers.Yes, I retested he’s at a 118. I couldn’t wait to feed him any longer he was being patient but ready for his dinner. No shot again this evening. I have to work a really early 1am shift so I wouldn’t be able to monitor him if I did.
No. I am saying that we need to get more data on Beau. We need to see some more testing done during the cycle to get a good picture of what’s happening. I’m just wanting to be safe.Are they bad?
Oh yes, so when I first started posting on the site some members noticed My vet provided me with the wrong syringes, u100 instead of u40 so I was given a conversion chart. So the dose I document is based off the conversion( I order the u40 syringes still using u100 in tOkay… to make sure I understand what’s been going on … your spreadsheet says you’ve been shooting .6 or .4 units. Is that correct. But you said that your vet said to give 2 and then 3 units? Can you clarify? This was before you started your spreadsheet?
When I joined the forum I was educated that my vet had provided me with the wrong syringes (u100) as opposed to u40. I was kindly referred to a conversion chart for the time being until I get the U40 syringes. I have been logging my numbers as the converted number. So I believe, and hope I understood correctly, .6 on a u40 syringe is a 1.5 dose on the syringe I correctly have. Because I’m going to switch to the correct syringe when they arrive shortly I’ve been using the concerted numbers to make it an easy transition. Hopefully this makes sense?Okay… to make sure I understand what’s been going on … your spreadsheet says you’ve been shooting .6 or .4 units. Is that correct. But you said that your vet said to give 2 and then 3 units? Can you clarify? This was before you started your spreadsheet?
No. I am saying that we need to get more data on Beau. We need to see some more testing done during the cycle to get a good picture of what’s happening. I’m just wanting to be safe.
@FrostDOh yes, so when I first started posting on the site some members noticed My vet provided me with the wrong syringes, u100 instead of u40 so I was given a conversion chart. So the dose I document is based off the conversion( I order the u40 syringes still using u100 in t
When I joined the forum I was educated that my vet had provided me with the wrong syringes (u100) as opposed to u40. I was kindly referred to a conversion chart for the time being until I get the U40 syringes. I have been logging my numbers as the converted number. So I believe, and hope I understood correctly, .6 on a u40 syringe is a 1.5 dose on the syringe I correctly have. Because I’m going to switch to the correct syringe when they arrive shortly I’ve been using the concerted numbers to make it an easy transition. Hopefully this makes sense?
What was his exact diagnosis? And what specific steroid?
I would also like to know which steroid was prescribed and what duration and dose. Steroids can raise blood glucose, yes. Sometimes they are necessary and insulin can be adjusted accordingly.@FrostD @Suzanne & Darcy @AbbottTheCat
Hi everyone, sorry for the delay in my posts. Last night after my stalling post I wasn’t comfortable with Beau behaviors I took him to the emergency clinic, he was seen right away and admitted overnight. I just want to seriously thank everyone here for their help and advice, the spreadsheet, I was I able to show the vet what I have been tracking thus far and it was really helpful. I got to pick him up today around 3:00. He’s home sleeping soundly. Vet has me stopping insulin at this time. With his numbers I’ve recorded… and what they have from last night I can stop completely! BUT we aren’t out of the clear yet since they prescribed him a steroid, which she said can cause high blood sugar levels and I may need to restart insulin. With all that being said I’m shouting out to anyone who has experience with steriods or knows someone who can maybe share some information and knowledge. Again thank you all for your help
Can you copy/paste here? I can't zoom in on the one in the PM without it being very blurry.I’m going to PM you the report they gave me.
He was really lethargic and didn’t want to eat, when I picked him up he was like a rag doll! Scared the heck out of me!
![]()
this might be more clear to read
Good. I assume it was okay at the time then since they didn’t mention it. Too bad you don’t have a record of the vital signs that were recorded in his chart or a summary. They should have prepared something for your regular vet. How is he today?View attachment 65200
This is the bill of all the treatments and test done. It does looks like there is BP monitoring on there.

The past month has been a rollercoaster with him but I’d do anything to make sure he’s ok. I felt awful when they told me they were keeping him overnight! It was the worst feeling, but ultimately it was good to know he was getting taken care. Besides the insulin he wasn’t on any other meds i talked with the Dr treating him at the ER for a long time. She does think it’s something neurological, can’t say what without an MRI. Could range from dementia to a brain tumor… honestly i didn’t want to put him through having an MRI, and it’s really expensive. The emergency is it cost me A LOT of money. She said my choices are mri, a steroid that might help any inflammation if there is something like a tumor or cancer in the brain, or euthanize.. I choose the middle option. Although maybe I should have just came and got him with none of the above options!Good job once again following those razor sharp instincts of yours and taking him in. Hopefully you will get some answers soon and glad he is doing better at least, get well Beau!
Are there any other medications he is on besides the steroids? And what duration for the steroids?
Steriods are .3ml for 5 days(once a day) then .15 for 5 days (once a day) then .10 ever other day for 3 days.Good job once again following those razor sharp instincts of yours and taking him in. Hopefully you will get some answers soon and glad he is doing better at least, get well Beau!
Are there any other medications he is on besides the steroids? And what duration for the steroids?
I think you chose the same option that I would have. I do hope the steroids will help.The past month has been a rollercoaster with him but I’d do anything to make sure he’s ok. I felt awful when they told me they were keeping him overnight! It was the worst feeling, but ultimately it was good to know he was getting taken care. Besides the insulin he wasn’t on any other meds i talked with the Dr treating him at the ER for a long time. She does think it’s something neurological, can’t say what without an MRI. Could range from dementia to a brain tumor… honestly i didn’t want to put him through having an MRI, and it’s really expensive. The emergency is it cost me A LOT of money. She said my choices are mri, a steroid that might help any inflammation if there is something like a tumor or cancer in the brain, or euthanize.. I choose the middle option. Although maybe I should have just came and got him with none of the above options!
I am happy to read this report that he is doing better.When I left for work this morning he seemed to be doing well. He was up walking around normally, he ate breakfast. My husband is home with him now he sends me updates that he’s doing good, sleeping a lot but not acting lethargic. Definitely much better.
And also to answer your question from earlier about his vision, yes it was one of the concerns I had when I brought him in, I didn’t think he was seeing well.
my Primary vet is a nice guy and all but I’m really not happy with how he initially gave this diagnosis a month ago and the direction I was given, being someone who knows zero about it. Even after the follow up appointment 10 days from beaus diagnosis his BG was 200 n he told me to Increase from 2u to 3u… I’m just thankful I started my research and found this site to give me more insight and everyone has helped out with their experience and knowledge. If I didn’t get a BG kit to test Beau daily, he’d be getting 3u 2x a day with hopes of using the urine strip provided to determine a dose.I should probably start a new thread, I’d like to talk about what the ER vet told me about his diabetes. Her opinion, that it may have been a misdiagnosis, there is also something she called “transient diabetes”.She kept telling me to bring it up to my primary vet, she really gave basic answers to my questions about this. I did bring up the steroid and diabetes which she said test his BG n if it’s over 250 to resume insulin. I’m wondering now, if that does happen, what dose would I even start at!? I have so many questions the more I think about everything that’s happened to us the last month.