STALLING 26/5, Minerva, AMPS 169, +6.5 121, PMPS 157, PMPS +23 minutes 152

Joy W

Member Since 2021
Hey folk, if @Wendy&Neko or @Chris & China (GA) or anyone else is around right now would much appreciate some help!

After days of bouncing we've had a series of nice numbers, but her preshot is a little on the low side tonight. I'm not at home so my partner is shooting and I don't know that he will be willing to do monitoring throughout the evening/overnight, like I would. I shot full this morning at 9.7 and managed to get a slight-post-nadir read of 6.7, so not sure what her actual nadir is; and combined with some odd dips lately I'm worried a full dose will be too risky. But I don't want to set get back either. I'm away for the next 4 days for work so no curve until Saturday week.

She was bouncing all over then leveled out a bit, but I was wondering as her late night test last night was 7 if she had dropped under before her massive feed, so maybe she was meant to get a reduction? But I didn't actually catch a number under 5.

Apologies for not posting in the last week, it's been very full on - on the plus side some 1am or 2am bedtime shots after my late nights! I've been meaning to every morning but it's bananas in my world.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-15-minerva-amps-320-pmps-117-3-212.263304/#post-2949785

Ps: Wendy, thank you for your reply to my last thread, I did read it!
 
Last edited:
He retested after 23 minutes and got 8.4, but then fed her as she was losing her mind for food. She ate about .75 - 1 tin today, she forgot to have her afternoon tea. She's eating now and I'm trying to work out a dose.
 
If you were there to monitor I would say give the full dose. But if you don't think your partner will monitor, you could give a smaller dose.
 
He might? He has chronic pain and there is a good chance he'll be asleep on the couch almost immediately. I'll ask.
 
We're 30th minutes behind shot time now, our 9pm, so he might only be awake for 2 hours afterward, if that. Maybe .75 is still too risky? Argh I hate this.

OK he's replied just now saying he is happy to monitor until he goes to bed but he won't be up late.
 
We're 30th minutes behind shot time now, our 9pm, so he might only be awake for 2 hours afterward, if that. Maybe .75 is still too risky? Argh I hate this.

OK he's replied just now saying he is happy to monitor until he goes to bed but he won't be up late.
Ok, is up to you what dose you feel comfortable with. If you feel more comfortable with a lesser dose that is Ok as there are no ketones in the picture, are there?
And can you make sure he leaves out plenty of food for Minerva. Is she the only cat?
 
She's the only cat, she free feeds aside from fasting (but she sometimes forgets/doesn't get hungry for her afternoon tea until after her fast starts).

We're at 45 minutes post shot time, about 30 minutes after eating, she is already up to 11, the food is hitting hard.

No ketones but haven't checked in a couple of weeks tbf.

0.25% is a new thing, thank you! That would be about .31, but that's not an option haha. I think 0.5 and then I'll have to deal with the inevitable bounce from me being a wuss.
 
She's the only cat, she free feeds aside from fasting (but she sometimes forgets/doesn't get hungry for her afternoon tea until after her fast starts).

We're at 45 minutes post shot time, about 30 minutes after eating, she is already up to 11, the food is hitting hard.

No ketones but haven't checked in a couple of weeks tbf.

0.25% is a new thing, thank you! That would be about .31, but that's not an option haha. I think 0.5 and then I'll have to deal with the inevitable bounce from me being a wuss.
Ok. Go with 0.5
 
And she's now not quite 90 minutes post shot time and he still hasn't done it as he decided to finish his dinner first instead. Grrrr.

Sigh. At least it makes 0.5 even safer as it reduces the overlap, but now have to factor that in to tomorrow morning. There is no way to delay her dose tomorrow.
 
I don't know what you mean by early, there is no way we'd shoot early! Unless you you mean her normal time but that being 90 minutes shorter cycle time?

Unfortunately we have two choices: shoot at normal time, or skip completely. We can shoot a reduced dose at the normal time, but we can't delay.

We own a workshop and her dose is the last thing we do before we leave. If he doesn't leave on time, the shop opens late and all our customers stand around waiting for us so that they can drop their vehicles off. So we have no way to delay.
 
I don't know what you mean by early, there is no way we'd shoot early! Unless you you mean her normal time but that being 90 minutes shorter cycle time?

Unfortunately we have two choices: shoot at normal time, or skip completely. We can shoot a reduced dose at the normal time, but we can't delay.

We own a workshop and her dose is the last thing we do before we leave. If he doesn't leave on time, the shop opens late and all our customers stand around waiting for us so that they can drop their vehicles off. So we have no way to delay.
If you shoot at the normal time tomorrow you will be 90 minutes early. I would not advise that.
If you have to give the dose at the scheduled time in the morning, and you are now 90 minutes past the scheduled dose time now, I think you may be better to skip the dose and go back to the normal dose and schedule in the morning.
 
Unfortunately that's also not an option as I didn't realise how late he was shooting until it happened. Probably best to skip in the morning.

If however she bounces sky high, would it be OK to give an early but reduced, dose? Then delay tomorrow night and walk it back over the weekend? Or still best to skip in the morning?

Thank you for your help and patience with me tonight, it is much appreciated.
 
Unfortunately that's also not an option as I didn't realise how late he was shooting until it happened. Probably best to skip in the morning.

If however she bounces sky high, would it be OK to give an early but reduced, dose? Then delay tomorrow night and walk it back over the weekend? Or still best to skip in the morning?

Thank you for your help and patience with me tonight, it is much appreciated.
Shooting early is a bit like a dose increase, especially 90 minutes, so I would not recommend shooting that early.
I would wait and see what it is in the morning, post and ask for help…changing your subject line to gain attention. …something like ‘preshot xxx, have to shoot 90 minutes early PLEASE HELP.’
areyou going to be there in the morning or are you still away?
I won’t be awake but you could tag @tiffmaxee to help you.
 
Hi Joy, sorry I wasn't around to help. Chris and I are North America so were sound asleep. Bron is in Australia so a good person to tag if you need help then.
 
Back
Top