Stall : Advice please. 28 July Tucker AMPS 5.7 (103)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker

Member Since 2018
Hi There, We've had a strange couple of days. Yesterday Tucker had his first super low numbers and had to have some honey and missed his morning shot. I tested during the day and he got a reduction to 5 units last night. I tested until midnight and his BG was going up. At +6 he was in the 10 range. It's now 6am and he should be getting 5 units but his BG is low again. Do I stall and retest? Is 103 a safe number to give 5 units to?
 
103 is a safe number to shoot. But because he dropped at AMPS yesterday and kept dropping, I would stall just for 20 mins just to check he is on the way up again. Others might not agree and say shoot now but I am quite conservative.
Also I am going to be in and out today and won't always be online so I don't want to encourage you to shoot as I won't be able to always stay with you.
 
That's one area (well, there are still many areas...) where I am still sketchy. At 6am I did his blood and it was 103. So I have stalled for 30 minutes now and if I've not fed him why would I expect the number to go higher in that short of period of time? It seems like such a small window for things to change in (20 minutes) but then it's a small window to be able to shoot in before it's too late to give an AM shot. Does that make sense?
 
That's one area (well, there are still many areas...) where I am still sketchy. At 6am I did his blood and it was 103. So I have stalled for 30 minutes now and if I've not fed him why would I expect the number to go higher in that short of period of time? It seems like such a small window for things to change in (20 minutes) but then it's a small window to be able to shoot in before it's too late to give an AM shot. Does that make sense?
We are stalling to see if his numbers will go up because the insulin is starting to wear off and he is not still going to go lower because the insulin is still not wearing off
 
Is 5.9 up from 5.7 enough to show he is rising? Or should I wait another 15 minutes? I see you are moving house today, you don't have time for this! Sorry!
 
The barricade is still up under the bed! I'm coaching today and need to leave the house by 11:30 and will be back home by 3:30, then we can be in the rest of the weekend.
 
From the past, it seems as if he does have a late nadir, sometimes it seems like he hits it just a couple of hours before his next units are due.
 
The barricade is still up under the bed! I'm coaching today and need to leave the house by 11:30 and will be back home by 3:30, then we can be in the rest of the weekend.
Well I think if you are not going to be home todayfor 4 hours you should not give the full dose. We can't guarantee his nadir will be late so I think I would give him a big chicken shot (BCS)....1/2 the dose .....2.5 units.
You will still need to test until you leave and you might have to give him some extra food before you leave, but keep posting please so we can see. I will have my iphone with me so can go online, but could get caught up with builders etc.
Get. +1 and +2 to see where he is going
 
Ok, I think that sounds like good advice. I just did a +1 since the first test at it was 5.5.
 
Well that is showing us he is on the way up slowly.
The +1 that I mean will be one hour after the 2.5 units
Yes, that is correct, one hour after the shot. Have you shot yet? If so, put that in the unit box that you are shooting 2.5 dose. Even though you reduced, the larger depot could be in play. So, let's see what the +1 and +2 tell us and it will give some indication of whether you need to leave any higher carb food for him. What time are you leaving? Tell me in + talk as we are in different time zones and it will help me to know when to look on.
 
It's been another hour since I think you shot, which would be approx. your +2 after shooting. I need to feed my family now and will check in one more time before I go to bed. If I don't hear anything, I will assume you decided not to shoot or you are doing okay.
 
Yes, that is correct, one hour after the shot. Have you shot yet? If so, put that in the unit box that you are shooting 2.5 dose. Even though you reduced, the larger depot could be in play. So, let's see what the +1 and +2 tell us and it will give some indication of whether you need to leave any higher carb food for him. What time are you leaving? Tell me in + talk as we are in different time zones and it will help me to know when to look on.
Thank you, but I don't know what the + talk means?
 
Thank you, but I don't know what the + talk means?
Have you shot? And did you get any more test since then and how many hours after the shot were the test. +1 would be 1 hour after the shot and +2 would be 2 hours after the shot and so on.
 
Last edited:
I just looks at your SS an it looks like Tucker is just surfing along nicely. Are you able to get another test in before you have to leave? And please post it.
 
Since he is getting near the middle of the cycle, hopefully he will start a rise upwards. But, we can't assume anything with cats :rolleyes:
 
Perfect! Another test in 30 minutes. We want 2 test 30 minutes apart without food influences to see if the numbers are going up and staying up, then we can let down the guard a bit. Of course if after the next test he starts to fall again, give another 1 tbsp. of gravy . You don't want to fill him up on too much food if case you need to steer him some more. That is why we say just gravy and a little food.
 
Tucker was at 6.4 (~115 U.S.) - which is perfectly safe.
It is 9:30pm CST here. I can be on for the next 4 hours until 1:30am.

Bron - good luck with the move.

Patty - good progress with Tucker.
 
Tucker was at 6.4 (~115 U.S.) - which is perfectly safe.
It is 9:30pm CST here. I can be on for the next 4 hours until 1:30am.

Bron - good luck with the move.

Patty - good progress with Tucker.
Yep, that is a nice safe number. I just wanted to make sure they get another test in when the high carb food wears off to make sure he is staying up and not falling.

Thanks Jeff.
 
Thanks guys for taking over...I really appreciate it. Am just home for lunch.....
Tucker is up to his latest tricks again.:rolleyes:

Am just wondering about the PM dose as he has had a skipped dose, a reduction of 0.5 units and a 1/2 dose and he is still dropping to 47 this cycle. I would have thought the depot would have drained a bit with those three altered doses. What do you think the PM dose should be? PM dose due in 5 1/2 hours time.
@Bobbie And Bubba @JeffJ @Wendy&Neko
 
I'm the most conservative (maybe in FDMB). If Tucker comes up to a decent level (100-150) then a 1/2 dose. Alternative is to skip the PM dose if he is not coming up.

Not sure what the issue is, but we can't have him hypo-out at 4 in the morning.
 
I have just had a text from Patty....she is not at home but DH sent the latestBSL to her because he doesn't use the forum and Patty can't access it where she is.
It was 6.2 not food influenced. They will test again in a couple of hours.
 
Looking good, but kinda low for a PM dose. Could be insulin resistance, and Tucker punched through.

Summary (conversions are x 18)
AMPS +0 = 5.7, at 6am or 6:30am Aussie time, 3:30pm CST
AMPS +2 = 5.2 (US 94)
AMPS +3 = 5.2 (US 94)
AMPS+5 = 2.6 (US 47) at 8:30pm CST
AMPS +5.25 = 6.4 (US 115) at 8:45pm CST
AMPS +7.5 = 6.2 (US 112), not food influenced at 11pm CST
AMPS +9 = is next test at 1am CST
AMPS +12 = PMPS and I'll be asleep
 
Last edited:
It's still too early to say where Tucker will be at shot time. It may be still some depot talking, but I would still reduce to 4.5 units. the question is whether that's what Patti shoots tonight.
 
Thanks Wendy and Jeff
The problem for us here in Oz is that the rest of the world is asleep at PMPS and I wanted to be a bit prepared and to hear what others thought as I felt that 5 units would be too much given Tucker’s numbers over the past few days.
@Wendy&Neko@JeffJ
 
Last edited:
I'm more conservative. If this was a more stable dose adjustment, then normally I would stay the course. But with 2 hypo-range drops in 2 days that is pretty challenging.

It's too bad that kittehs can't just cooperate and deliver perfect numbers. Tucker was doing so well.
 
So I need to figure out how to view and load this site as well as the SS into my phone if I can! It's too hard trying to get information relayed between my husband, my phone and then to Bron to put onto this page, and it's not fair to Bron! Tucker has had a funny day again, with a very low morning and then slowly climbed up during the day with a little help from gravy FF. If his number is up to 12 now I am guessing he would get his 5 unit shot in half an hour? Thanks to all of you who are keeping eyes on my boy.
 
Tucker has had a funny day again, with a very low morning and then slowly climbed up during the day with a little help from gravy FF. If his number is up to 12 now I am guessing he would get his 5 unit shot in half an hour? Thanks to all of you who are keeping eyes on my boy.
I asked Wendy, Jeff and Bobbie what they thought about the PM dose as I was concerned about him still dropping so low with the skipped dose, the half dose and the reduction.
Wendy suggested to drop to 4.5 units and I agree with her suggestion of a reduction.
I hope you see this before you shoot
 
Ok, but does it matter that he has gone from 12.1 to 13.5 in the last half hour?
No. He could still drop low during the cycle even though he is at 13.5
He just may be needing less insulin now..
Normally when you give a cat a reduction you don't see them dropping for several cycles like Tucker did. once the reduction is taken they usually go back to the higher numbers they were in before they earned the reduction. Sometimes the depot is still in play and can influence the BSL but Tucker has had a reduction, a half dose and a skip and he was still dropping low. So the safe thing to do is reduce it and see if he stays blue and higher green numbers. Does that make sense?

The most important thing is Tuckers safety
 
Hi Patty, yes, I would still do the 4.5 due to all the reductions in doses lately and him still swimming with the sharks. He is in bounce mode now which can give you a chance to hopefully catch some sleep. Still grab a test before you go to bed because this boy has tricks up his sleeve!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top