sadye claxton
Member Since 2020
Hi! Okay so first and foremost THANK YOU for your help!! Here's the deal, I've been posting up until now but in case you haven't seen my posts...Bodie is my foster. Diagnosed 4/28/2020. We started on Lantus and went home with a FreeStyle Libre implanted glucometer to get curves. SO I have lots of BG numbers from over the past month that I could record but from what I've been told here I was doing it all wrong, so I've started over. I was wrong in that we are on Lantus and the vet told me "if pre-shot over 300 give 3, under give 2.5, under 250 give 2, under 200 1.5 and 100 give 1, under 100-don't shoot." So needless to say, his numbers were all over the place. She also told me to leave his DM kibble out during the day to free feed on. About 2 weeks ago I completely pulled the kibble after research. He's now only on DM wet food and some boiled chicken treats. I JUST started snacks of Fancy Feast, but I'm thinking of pulling that right now because I don't want to disturb the new numbers.
My questions:
1- can someone look over my SS? I wrote I'm doing "tight Regulation", because we picked a 1 unit dose and have stuck with it. Is that right? (please note...I am doing my best with getting a curve; he is VERY hard to get to sit still for an ear stick, and half the time his ear doesnt bleed; I know i need more numbers, but I'm trying!!)
2-He's starving all the time. Okay to just feed meals throughout the day? Is there a science to how much/little to feed. He needs to gain weight. But we are already way over the "feeding guidelines" for the DM. Purina says give 1 7/8 cans a day (for a 12 lb cat; he's about 10lbs). He's getting two cans a day, plus chicken treats throughout the day
3- I've wanted to add in some Fancy Feast snacks throughout the day to hopefully transition to that cheaper food, but I'm hesitant to throw a new "factor" into play right now as we figure out his dose...but if I don't do it now, will I have to do curves all over again later??
A BIT OVERWHELMED HERE...but SUPER thankful for this forum and all of you who are willing to take your time to look over my stuff and help me help Bodie!! Thank YOU!!!
My questions:
1- can someone look over my SS? I wrote I'm doing "tight Regulation", because we picked a 1 unit dose and have stuck with it. Is that right? (please note...I am doing my best with getting a curve; he is VERY hard to get to sit still for an ear stick, and half the time his ear doesnt bleed; I know i need more numbers, but I'm trying!!)
2-He's starving all the time. Okay to just feed meals throughout the day? Is there a science to how much/little to feed. He needs to gain weight. But we are already way over the "feeding guidelines" for the DM. Purina says give 1 7/8 cans a day (for a 12 lb cat; he's about 10lbs). He's getting two cans a day, plus chicken treats throughout the day
3- I've wanted to add in some Fancy Feast snacks throughout the day to hopefully transition to that cheaper food, but I'm hesitant to throw a new "factor" into play right now as we figure out his dose...but if I don't do it now, will I have to do curves all over again later??
A BIT OVERWHELMED HERE...but SUPER thankful for this forum and all of you who are willing to take your time to look over my stuff and help me help Bodie!! Thank YOU!!!
