Good job getting the SS data entered. We follow two dosing methods here on the forum:
Dosing Methods
Some of the dosing advice we can give you depends on which dosing method you'd like to follow, so please do have a read through, and we're happy to help with questions.
At the moment you have been getting only preshots and no mid cycle tests. The mid cycle tests are critical in determining how low the dose is taking the kitty.
As Elise said, we never give insulin if the preshot number is under 50 and following TR. That number would be 90 if following SLGS. For new members who are just gathering data, and are posting here on the Lantus Lev Basalgar subforum, we would usually suggest not shooting under 150 until you have a sense of how the insulin and carbs you feed are influencing your cat, which requires trying to test at various times in the cycle so you can determine where your cat onsets, nadirs, and how much duration they are getting.
- Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
- Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
- Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
This post may also help :
New? How you can help us help you
When you get a preshot under 150, it is often best when you are still gathering data, to stall, not feed, and test again in 20 minutes to see whether the BG is rising on its own. As you gather more data, and get more comfortable with how the insulin is affecting your cat, you can gradually reduce this number.
For now, since you have giving insulin, as Elise said, start with a +1 and +2, and depending on those tests, it would be good to continue to monitor tonight to ensure Squints isn't dropping too low, and if you need to intervene with higher carb food.