Squee: "My mama, Dawn, is so confused!"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bloodykiss1979

New Member
Hi everyone!
Thanks again to those who have responded and have tried to help me so far take care of my furry baby. I am pretty confused though. Squee has been taking insulin for about 3 weeks now. I got a few wise responses from people here telling me to test his blood sugar at home. I've been testing him for a week, but his numbers confuse me. The last 3 days his blood sugar has been kinda high in the morning (158-190) and then after he has eaten, I'll take it again and it's way lower (96-120). I thought blood sugar went up after you eat, not down! Since his numbers are low and in a good range after he eats, I'm reluctant to give him his Insulin. I'm scared his sugar will go way low. I skipped his morning Insulin yesterday because his blood sugar was at 96, then at his night feed his Blood sugar was 197 and stayed the same after he ate. I gave him his Insulin of course. So I am confused if skipping his dose was a good or bad thing? I don't want his sugar to go too low, but it seemed it was pretty high that night and it may be because I skipped that morning dose. Does anyone have any ideas about these readings? And where should I go from here?
Thank all of you guys so much!
Dawn
=^..^=
 
Hi Dawn,

These are lovely circumstances! If he goes down after eating, it means his pancreas is helping out. I have forgotten what kind of insulin you are using- the type will determine our advice.

But the good news is that he seems to want off the juice! (anti jinx)
 
Dawn, excellent call on your part not to shoot. Also, with his numbers going down after he eats either his pancreas is trying to help some or he is getting extended duration on the Prozinc and the insulin is still working. I would strongly suggest you back down to 1 unit of Prozinc if he is over 200, nothing if he is under. We really need more numbers taken in between his a.m. and p.m. preshot numbers. Those 2 units may be bringing him down too far but no way of knowing without more tests. So very glad you are hometesting.
 
Oh good, glad Hope found out your insulin. The trick is to find a dose that you can shoot twice daily to keep his numbers in a nice range while staying below a "no shoot" number. A regulated kitty on insulin tends to run in the low 200s at shot time and in the double digits at mid cycle. We consider the 40-50 range getting low at mid cycle and we would want you to intervene with food or possibly syrup if the number dips below 40. That is why Hope wants those mid cycle numbers. A kitty off insulin can range from 40 -120 with the majority of the time in double digits.

I am not clear if you are giving 2 units when he is above 200 and it is giving you low preshot numbers for the next shot? Or are you getting low numbers overall and not having to shoot very often?

Any chance you could give us a "picture" of your shot numbers? Something like this (I tried to use your numbers but am not sure I am right):

12/21 amps 96 no insulin
pmps 197 # units given
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top