Squeaks OTJ trial Day 3 BG 125 (AM) & 128 (PM)

Sugarkitty15

Member Since 2020
Hi,

Apologies I didn't post on day 1 and day 2! You can see from his spreadsheet he was doing good and staying below 100 until today. This is what happened last trial too--he did good for the first few days and then crept back up to 150's, where we had to start his drop dose again. Should I continue on the OTJ trial for a few more days?
 
Ooch darn it! :( We were so close, Squeaks!

I dug around and found this info that Deb posted. From the looks of it, he wasn't ready to start the trial to begin with (all greens for a week prior to trial, he had all blues).

Your cat needs to have been stepping down the dosing scale, from 1 to 0.75, to 0.5, to 0.25, to 0.1 and getting good numbers all along before you attempt an OTJ trial. Any blues at mid-cycle tell you your cat is not ready for an OTJ trial. A blue pre-shot tells you your cat is not ready for an OTJ trial.

Your cat should have been getting green numbers across the board, at all testing times before you attempt an OTJ trial. For a week, all greens for a week.

Cat needs to be steady in the greens before attempting an OTJ trial.

OTJ Trial Guidelines (These are the criteria we use when following an OTJ Trial.)

Here are the instructions for an OTJ trial: If on Lantus or Levimir, depot has to drain first before trial starts, about 3 days or 6 cycles. No depot with in and out type insulins (NPH, Vetsulin/Caninsulin, Prozinc). The trial starts when numbers are in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range. Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If you are posting in the Lantus/Levimir forum, please start a new thread each day which says ‘[Cat name] OTJ trial Day 1 BG xx’ (where xx is the BG reading for that cycle PM), then day2,3 etc. If you are posting in the Main Forum, we don’t require you or need you to do that separate post for each day. In fact, if you have never posted before over in the Lantus/Levimir forum or use a different insulin, you are fine staying in the Feline Health (Welcome & Main Forum). Or in the specific ISG (Insulin Support Group) for your insulin. We’ll cheer you on!

1. Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas). The morning test is now called the AMBG. The evening test is now called the PMBG.

2. If your cat is green (0-99 mg/dL human meter, 0-130 mg/dL pet meter, 0-5.5 mmol/L) at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If the numbers are blue or higher (100-199 human meter, 130-230 petmeter, 5.5-11 mmol/L), feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. Food raises BG's. So if the number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

3. Your cat may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

4. After 2 weeks, 14 full days, if everything is looking good, we have a party!

Sometimes, the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support by starting the cat with a tiny dose of insulin again. I had to do that with Wink. We simply start the cat back on a tiny dose of insulin to support the pancreas with healing for a bit longer. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to be safe now then sorry later that you rushed it. With just a little more time we will probably get that strong remission we are looking for.
 
That's really good info, thank you! I think I'm just a little confused about how to go about this being we're so close to trying an OTJ. Take for instance this morning, Squeaks AM BG was 72, our no shoot number is 100, so no insulin this AM. Basically, until I have a full week of greens, would I just not shoot if BG is below 100 and shoot if above 100? Then, after we get a week of greens, try the OTJ?
 
That sounds about right but I can't be sure. How about you ask in the Main Health forum for clarification? Lots of knowledge people hang around there that would know!
 
Back
Top