Spy Kitty's Thread

MarthaL

Member Since 2021
I have moved Spy Kitty over here from the Main Forum since my posts are mainly seeking help on when to change Prozinc dose or what to do when PS numbers are too low. I am slowly gaining confidence on these issues but it is so reassuring to have an experienced member chime in and offer their take on the situation.

Prior posts: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/update-on-spy-kitty.249918/

To recap today: Spy Kitty's AMPS number was too low (106) for me to be comfortable shooting his regular dose 0.75U Prozinc. Stalled 20 min. and got 109. Stalled again and got 111. Very flat.
I opted to shoot a reduced dose of 0.5U.

+1 =131. +3 = 110. +4 = 98. +6 = 101. +10 = 172 (all in SS)

Very good numbers on the 0.5U AM dose but Spy Kitty did not "earn" that reduction. Do I return to 0.75U? @Shelley & Jess
 
Fantastic job getting those tests in!!

You're right about him not earning the reduction from 0.75U and if he's high enough to shoot (looks like he will be tonight) I'd stay with the 0.75U.
 
Shot 0.75U last night and again this morning. His AMPS was 134. Tested at +1 and got 150. Was out for a couple of hours so test at +3. Got 56. Will test at +3.5. @Shelley & Jess

58 @ +3.5
64 @ +4
 
Last edited:
The MPM protocol says reduce if kitty drops below 50. He was so darn close and we're kinda starting over trying to learn his patterns again since the food transition.

I'd try the 0.5U see if it sticks this time. If it doesn't we can always increase again if needed.

You might be in for a few ups and downs and frequent dose changes while Spy settles in and gets used to those lower numbers.

ETA: We're not sure yet if he's one of those kitty's that will have a hard time holding a reduction or not. He may not have been ready for the last true reduction to 0.5U since we had taken the dose down so quick the last time.
 
Last edited:
The MPM protocol says reduce if kitty drops below 50. He was so darn close and we're kinda starting over trying to learn his patterns again since the food transition.

I'd try the 0.5U see if it sticks this time. If it doesn't we can always increase again if needed.

You might be in for a few ups and downs and frequent dose changes while Spy settles in and gets used to those lower numbers.

ETA: We're not sure yet if he's one of those kitty's that will have a hard time holding a reduction or not. He may not have been ready for the last true reduction to 0.5U since we had taken the dose down so quick the last time.

I forgot about MPM having a lower threshold for a reduction, but I am glad you think it is ok to try 0.5U again. Fingers crossed for it to stick this time.
 
Nice start to the day!

What's his eating been like lately? Do you still have to 'remind' him to eat?

If he follows the same pattern as yesterday and drops to around 100 at +2 today make sure he eats something at +2 today, maybe a tsp or two of LC. Let's see if we can manipulate the curve and slow the drop a bit - it may help him stay in green numbers a bit longer through the cycle.
 
Nice start to the day!

What's his eating been like lately? Do you still have to 'remind' him to eat?

If he follows the same pattern as yesterday and drops to around 100 at +2 today make sure he eats something at +2 today, maybe a tsp or two of LC. Let's see if we can manipulate the curve and slow the drop a bit - it may help him stay in green numbers a bit longer through the cycle.

He is doing better with his eating better. I used to have to bring the food to him but now he will get up more often and eat on his own. He prefers smaller portions, so for pre-shot I give him 1 oz and then follow it up with another one or two additional 1/2 oz servings after his shot. I then offer another 1/2 oz every couple of hours up until +8.
 
I usually like to see a bit more than a 10% rise - basically flat with meter variance.

As long as you are around to test and steer with food if needed you should be good.

I'd get a +1 to start.
 
That's a hefty bump - we haven't really seen that before. Could be combined end of duration and food bump.

Good decision to stall earlier, when they get a bit of a dip at the end it's good to make sure they're flat or on their way back up.

You're doing great!!
 
Hey Spy whatcha up to??? Looks like someone needs a bit more juice - we want to see some more of those pretty tree greens!

Here's a link to a thread that I love how @Sue and Luci describes what's going on with our FD kittys - see post #9 and especially post #13.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...1-1-295-2-281-8-346-increased-tonight.234063/

Thanks for sharing that thread. It was a great explanation in simple terms (w/ a spin of humor) of what is going on with the pancreas and liver. It helps one to understand why you might get unexpectedly high or low BG numbers as you are working your way toward a steady state. Just when you think you know what's coming..... you get a curve ball from the pancreas or liver!
 
So Spy had a really good day so far (up to +11)! :):):)
That pancreas and liver must be reasonably content today. Numbers are high enough for PM shoot which is good because I want to do it 15 min early. No time for stalling tonight!
Thanks again @Shelley & Jess for sharing the post with the explanation of how the pancreas and liver behave or mis-behave :joyful:
 
Last edited:
So Spy had a really good day so far (up to +11)! :):):)
That pancreas and liver must be reasonably content today. Numbers are high enough for PM shoot which is good because I want to do it 15 min early. No time for stalling tonight!
Thanks again @Shelley & Jess for sharing the post with the explanation of how the pancreas and liver behave or mis-behave :joyful:

Hello there! Glad you enjoyed my little story - it is truly mystifying to not be able to see what's going on inside of our kitties - but the process is normal and natural...and we just have to roll with it and try to learn to navigate all those ups and downs.

Hang in there! You're doing a great job with Spy!
 
AMPS's have been steadily coming down. Today they are in the 90's. Last night at +9.5 got a 91. This morning AMPS got a 97. Stalled 20 min and got a 91. I am thinking it is ok to shoot his regular dose of 0.5U. I will be home to monitor. Does that sound ok based on his recent trends? @Shelley & Jess

ETA: stalled another 20 min and got 94
 
Last edited:
Back
Top