Spy Kitty's Thread

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by MarthaL, Jul 24, 2021.

  1. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    I have moved Spy Kitty over here from the Main Forum since my posts are mainly seeking help on when to change Prozinc dose or what to do when PS numbers are too low. I am slowly gaining confidence on these issues but it is so reassuring to have an experienced member chime in and offer their take on the situation.

    Prior posts: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/update-on-spy-kitty.249918/

    To recap today: Spy Kitty's AMPS number was too low (106) for me to be comfortable shooting his regular dose 0.75U Prozinc. Stalled 20 min. and got 109. Stalled again and got 111. Very flat.
    I opted to shoot a reduced dose of 0.5U.

    +1 =131. +3 = 110. +4 = 98. +6 = 101. +10 = 172 (all in SS)

    Very good numbers on the 0.5U AM dose but Spy Kitty did not "earn" that reduction. Do I return to 0.75U? @Shelley & Jess
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  2. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Fantastic job getting those tests in!!

    You're right about him not earning the reduction from 0.75U and if he's high enough to shoot (looks like he will be tonight) I'd stay with the 0.75U.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  3. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Shot 0.75U last night and again this morning. His AMPS was 134. Tested at +1 and got 150. Was out for a couple of hours so test at +3. Got 56. Will test at +3.5. @Shelley & Jess

    58 @ +3.5
    64 @ +4
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2021
    Reason for edit: add info
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  4. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Just want to confirm that Spy Kitty earned a reduction today with those 50's and 60's. @Shelley & Jess
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  5. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    The MPM protocol says reduce if kitty drops below 50. He was so darn close and we're kinda starting over trying to learn his patterns again since the food transition.

    I'd try the 0.5U see if it sticks this time. If it doesn't we can always increase again if needed.

    You might be in for a few ups and downs and frequent dose changes while Spy settles in and gets used to those lower numbers.

    ETA: We're not sure yet if he's one of those kitty's that will have a hard time holding a reduction or not. He may not have been ready for the last true reduction to 0.5U since we had taken the dose down so quick the last time.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2021
    MarthaL likes this.
  6. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    I forgot about MPM having a lower threshold for a reduction, but I am glad you think it is ok to try 0.5U again. Fingers crossed for it to stick this time.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  7. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Nice start to the day!

    What's his eating been like lately? Do you still have to 'remind' him to eat?

    If he follows the same pattern as yesterday and drops to around 100 at +2 today make sure he eats something at +2 today, maybe a tsp or two of LC. Let's see if we can manipulate the curve and slow the drop a bit - it may help him stay in green numbers a bit longer through the cycle.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  8. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    He is doing better with his eating better. I used to have to bring the food to him but now he will get up more often and eat on his own. He prefers smaller portions, so for pre-shot I give him 1 oz and then follow it up with another one or two additional 1/2 oz servings after his shot. I then offer another 1/2 oz every couple of hours up until +8.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  9. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    RE +4
    LC not slowing him down much.
    Feed a small tsp of MC food.
    If you don't have MC a bit of HC gravy mixed with his LC food.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  10. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Fed 1 tsp of 15%C food. He had already eaten 1/2 oz LC.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  11. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    We're still a little early in the cycle, don't want it going much lower.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  12. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Thanks for keeping your eyes on this. When should I test again?
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  13. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    A 30 minute test would be good. Should tell us what way he's headed.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  14. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    70 @ +4.5 What next coach?
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  15. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    There's a bump! No more food and test again in an hour.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  16. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    PMPS only 118. Is that too low to shoot. Do I have to stall for 20 min and test again. He is has been asking for food for the past two hours. @Shelley & Jess
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2021
    Reason for edit: add tag
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  17. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  18. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    I usually like to see a bit more than a 10% rise - basically flat with meter variance.

    As long as you are around to test and steer with food if needed you should be good.

    I'd get a +1 to start.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  19. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Got 198 at +1. Is 70 points good for a food bump?
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  20. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    That's a hefty bump - we haven't really seen that before. Could be combined end of duration and food bump.

    Good decision to stall earlier, when they get a bit of a dip at the end it's good to make sure they're flat or on their way back up.

    You're doing great!!
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  21. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    If I squint, he is still blue at +2 ;)
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  22. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    LOL! Looks blue to me too!! ;)
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  23. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    MarthaL likes this.
  24. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    He surprised me with a 129 AMPS. What should I shoot?
     
  25. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Oh dear!! That's a (good) surprise. Can you do a 20 minute stall, make sure he's rising.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  26. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Yes, almost at the 20 min stall point now. Will be testing in a couple minutes.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  27. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Flat - 128 after 20 min stall.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  28. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    You've shot a number like this before & he's not still dropping.

    I'd do 0.5U if you're home to test today.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  29. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Good. Yes I can be home to test.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  30. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    LOL - sometimes the threat of a dose increase works!!!
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  31. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Feline Diabetes teaches you to expect the unexpected both good and bad!
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  32. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Thanks for sharing that thread. It was a great explanation in simple terms (w/ a spin of humor) of what is going on with the pancreas and liver. It helps one to understand why you might get unexpectedly high or low BG numbers as you are working your way toward a steady state. Just when you think you know what's coming..... you get a curve ball from the pancreas or liver!
     
    Sue and Luci and Shelley & Jess like this.
  33. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    77 @ +3.5
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  34. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Nice! Has he had a snack? Can you grab a +4 to see where and how fast he's headed?
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  35. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    79 @ +4
    He ate 1/2 oz LC between +1.5 and +2
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  36. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    So Spy had a really good day so far (up to +11)! :):):)
    That pancreas and liver must be reasonably content today. Numbers are high enough for PM shoot which is good because I want to do it 15 min early. No time for stalling tonight!
    Thanks again @Shelley & Jess for sharing the post with the explanation of how the pancreas and liver behave or mis-behave :joyful:
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2021
    Reason for edit: spelling
    Sue and Luci and Shelley & Jess like this.
  37. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Hello there! Glad you enjoyed my little story - it is truly mystifying to not be able to see what's going on inside of our kitties - but the process is normal and natural...and we just have to roll with it and try to learn to navigate all those ups and downs.

    Hang in there! You're doing a great job with Spy!
     
    MarthaL and Shelley & Jess like this.
  38. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    AMPS's have been steadily coming down. Today they are in the 90's. Last night at +9.5 got a 91. This morning AMPS got a 97. Stalled 20 min and got a 91. I am thinking it is ok to shoot his regular dose of 0.5U. I will be home to monitor. Does that sound ok based on his recent trends? @Shelley & Jess

    ETA: stalled another 20 min and got 94
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2021
    Reason for edit: add info
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  39. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    If it were me I'd try 0.25U shooting my first green.
    He's trending down.
     
    MarthaL likes this.
  40. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    What glad tidings you bring! Thanks for being there.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  41. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Little groggy - but THAT woke me up!!
     
  42. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    LOL. Your reply caught me just in time. I had the 0.5U syringe loaded! So very grateful.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  43. MarthaL

    MarthaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    So far so good as we come to the end of cycle 1 on 0.25U!
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.

Share This Page