I would really appreciate some feedback on how to recognize if my cat has a "Sputtering Pancreas" and how to handle it going forward if that is the case.
Dot is 13 yr old male cat diagnosed 3 weeks ago with an initial BG of 28 (504). Fed dry food for 13 years (8 years of salty urinary care Royal Canin SO). Transitioned to wet food 1 week after diagnosis. Weighs 13 lbs (usually 14-16 lbs)
Have fed only low carb wet food for the last week and insulin dose of 3 units of Humulin bid. (Note: Will be switching to Lantus or Levemir shortly, trying to make only one change at a time)
AMPS this morning was the lowest ever at 15.1 (272) and a BIG DROP from 27.1(488) the previous three mornings (see test numbers below). There was one other lower reading of 19.5 (351) shortly after increasing dose to 3 units from 2. There have been no changes to insulin, dose or food type/portion for over a week.
The drop made me nervous and prompted me to reduce his dose to 2.5 units from 3 since no one was going to be home during the day and I didn't know how low he would go if his pancreas was also trying to help him out. I also wondered if this was just a delayed drop from the switch to the low carb wet food now that his body is getting used to it.
Being a newbie any dramatic shifts in his numbers make me get a bit freaky!
Thanks for any light you can shed on this for me! Karen
DOTs BG Readings
AMPS
28.6 (515)
28.0 (504)
19.5 (351)
27.1 (488)
27.1 (488)
27.1 (488)
15.1 (272) this morning
PMPS Range
22.2-25.7 (400-463)
Daytime +6 readings have been averaging 14 (252) and one overnight +6 reading taken was 12.7 (229).
Dot is 13 yr old male cat diagnosed 3 weeks ago with an initial BG of 28 (504). Fed dry food for 13 years (8 years of salty urinary care Royal Canin SO). Transitioned to wet food 1 week after diagnosis. Weighs 13 lbs (usually 14-16 lbs)
Have fed only low carb wet food for the last week and insulin dose of 3 units of Humulin bid. (Note: Will be switching to Lantus or Levemir shortly, trying to make only one change at a time)
AMPS this morning was the lowest ever at 15.1 (272) and a BIG DROP from 27.1(488) the previous three mornings (see test numbers below). There was one other lower reading of 19.5 (351) shortly after increasing dose to 3 units from 2. There have been no changes to insulin, dose or food type/portion for over a week.
The drop made me nervous and prompted me to reduce his dose to 2.5 units from 3 since no one was going to be home during the day and I didn't know how low he would go if his pancreas was also trying to help him out. I also wondered if this was just a delayed drop from the switch to the low carb wet food now that his body is getting used to it.
Being a newbie any dramatic shifts in his numbers make me get a bit freaky!
Thanks for any light you can shed on this for me! Karen
DOTs BG Readings
AMPS
28.6 (515)
28.0 (504)
19.5 (351)
27.1 (488)
27.1 (488)
27.1 (488)
15.1 (272) this morning
PMPS Range
22.2-25.7 (400-463)
Daytime +6 readings have been averaging 14 (252) and one overnight +6 reading taken was 12.7 (229).