Darnell & Sprocket (GA)
Member Since 2015
Hi there, posting here to hope get some different opinions.
Long story short....2.7 yr diabetic. 2xdka, 4xketones this year. 2x liver issues. Cystitis diagnosis in july. 30+days no flare up.
Has had so many meds this year. In july/august had sugar in some meds caused wacky bg. Had to start weird dosing due to going into 300s then under 100 as you will see on ss for past 3 months.
He got buprenex in august daily as it was helping to not have flare ups of the peeing constantly, some with blood with cystitis.
But buprenex was also raising his bg even though no sugar n no reason to with no consisitancy. His bg would rise from 50-100pts mostly but not all the time.
Now since he is doing better with that his buprenex is reducing more this week to none.
I have been giving a 3u dose when over 300 mostly to get him down. Then 2.87u for rest mostly. Sometimes he even went too low to give insulin so I had to feed n wait to give insulin. Just wacky bgs all over up n down with no predictability.
So this am was just over 300. Tried not to do 3u but he is still high. Tried to give 0 or 1 carb but he is sick of most of that food. Would rather starve than eat it. Wants 3 or 4 carb food instead. He seems to be somewhat sensitive to carbs as when i usually give 3 he will stay steady, under 2 carb will go down some and if 4 carb or more will go up on bg.
I have watched this happen for awhile so please dont tell me I am crazy.
Now he is wanting food from 3-5 carb mostly but hard to give that all the time as when I give higher insulin dose he goes under 100.
I was doing SLGS protocol. Not sure how to put him in 100s more while giving him food he likes as he is eating less as he is fussier.
Overall, I am baffled on how to regulate him more with all his issues & meds. I have a daily helper but she lost her diabetic not too long ago & its easier for me to talk one on one to a helper than to post n wait for answers. Sick of people arguing with me previously as his care is very stressful for me with my own medical conditions. So could use a 2nd helper with more experience to help sometimes without having to explain his long history all the time too.
Ok SS is updated and what are your tips or advice.
Thanks alot
Darnell n Sprocket
Long story short....2.7 yr diabetic. 2xdka, 4xketones this year. 2x liver issues. Cystitis diagnosis in july. 30+days no flare up.
Has had so many meds this year. In july/august had sugar in some meds caused wacky bg. Had to start weird dosing due to going into 300s then under 100 as you will see on ss for past 3 months.
He got buprenex in august daily as it was helping to not have flare ups of the peeing constantly, some with blood with cystitis.
But buprenex was also raising his bg even though no sugar n no reason to with no consisitancy. His bg would rise from 50-100pts mostly but not all the time.
Now since he is doing better with that his buprenex is reducing more this week to none.
I have been giving a 3u dose when over 300 mostly to get him down. Then 2.87u for rest mostly. Sometimes he even went too low to give insulin so I had to feed n wait to give insulin. Just wacky bgs all over up n down with no predictability.
So this am was just over 300. Tried not to do 3u but he is still high. Tried to give 0 or 1 carb but he is sick of most of that food. Would rather starve than eat it. Wants 3 or 4 carb food instead. He seems to be somewhat sensitive to carbs as when i usually give 3 he will stay steady, under 2 carb will go down some and if 4 carb or more will go up on bg.
I have watched this happen for awhile so please dont tell me I am crazy.
Now he is wanting food from 3-5 carb mostly but hard to give that all the time as when I give higher insulin dose he goes under 100.
I was doing SLGS protocol. Not sure how to put him in 100s more while giving him food he likes as he is eating less as he is fussier.
Overall, I am baffled on how to regulate him more with all his issues & meds. I have a daily helper but she lost her diabetic not too long ago & its easier for me to talk one on one to a helper than to post n wait for answers. Sick of people arguing with me previously as his care is very stressful for me with my own medical conditions. So could use a 2nd helper with more experience to help sometimes without having to explain his long history all the time too.
Ok SS is updated and what are your tips or advice.
Thanks alot
Darnell n Sprocket
from Noah and Dickson