Sprocket, Need dose advice, w/slow eating, lymphoma

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
hi. As many read before Sprocket was diagnosed with lymphoma of his kidney.
He has cypro(appy stim) for about 2-3 weeks now. Its only thing making him eat almost. It makes him eat alot about an hour after taking it then slows down as the hours go by to barely eating the last 5 hrs of each cycle. He gets it every 12 hrs.
But if he is nauseous then appy stim doesnt matter like yesterday & he barely ate anything but dental treats & tuna juice.
So I dont know when I give him his appy stim if he will eat or not for the next 12 hours.
So how do you choose a dose of insulin to give?
I am asking because its time to stop following any protocol & just make sure he is not too low and not over 300.
Just trying to stay safely balanced.

And we should be starting a steroid treatment soon too.
Advice for that too with dosing?
Thanks.
Its scary when he wont eat.
Yesterday he vomited some food, clear liquid and a spot of blood near the fake tree.
I dont know if he tried to get a needle off the tree & it hurt his throat throwing it back up or if it was something else. He wouldnt eat for hours. His bg stayed level oddly. He would only eat dental treats and tuna juice.
So how do I choose the right dose to balance him without knowing how much he will eat?

I know its a hard questions but tips would help too.
Thanks
 
Is Sprocket getting anti nausea meds? Cerenia or ondansetron? If so, how much? You don’t want to give an appy stimulant to a nauseous cat. Have you ever tried assist feeding him? When Neko was off her food, I supplemented with assist feeding so she got her calories, and kept the same insulin dose.
 
Is Sprocket getting anti nausea meds? Cerenia or ondansetron? If so, how much? You don’t want to give an appy stimulant to a nauseous cat. Have you ever tried assist feeding him? When Neko was off her food, I supplemented with assist feeding so she got her calories, and kept the same insulin dose.

He does have ondansetron. I had used it yesterday morning because he was slow eating the day before and loaf sitting alot so he already had it in his body when he vomited 4 hrs later.
He is taking the cypro every 12 hrs at test/feed/insulin time.
I have not food assisted him yet. I dont think he would be good at it. Its hard enough getting all the liquid meds in his mouth.

He will usually eat treats though so I have been keeping them around too.
 
If you are giving cypro, I would give ondansetron every twice a day too, but maybe 20-30 minutes before the cypro so it has time to take effect. You can even dose it three times a day. Can you crush some cat treats on his food?
 
If you are giving cypro, I would give ondansetron every twice a day too, but maybe 20-30 minutes before the cypro so it has time to take effect. You can even dose it three times a day. Can you crush some cat treats on his food?

In the morning I cant give any meds earlier than the cypro. I get up at 610am, test, give the cypro then feed. then give the liquid meds right after his insulin before my boyfriend leaves for work as he does the insulin then holds him so I can give the liquid meds.( more than one).
Problem is what do I do if he vomits mid cycle then wont eat?
ondansetron and insulin is already on board.
Plus if he is already in 100s that day then he may just keep going down.
Thats what I worry about.

and I have been sprinkling crushed soft treats on his food for a couple of months because the fortiflora was getting expensive he was using so much to eat.
 
I’m sorry about the lymphoma. If you can’t give the ondansetron earlier than the cyproheptadine don’t stress I used to give Tiffany who had intermediate cell lymphoma, ondansetron, cyproheptadine, prednisolone, and her bp med all in one gel capsule. I would definitely start prednisolone as it might help. Do you know which type of lymphoma it is?
 
I’m sorry about the lymphoma. If you can’t give the ondansetron earlier than the cyproheptadine don’t stress I used to give Tiffany who had intermediate cell lymphoma, ondansetron, cyproheptadine, prednisolone, and her bp med all in one gel capsule. I would definitely start prednisolone as it might help. Do you know which type of lymphoma it is?

He is also on famotidine 2x day, gabapentin, & buprenex.
I got an immune booster but its a large amount of liquid to give & after I gave one dose he slowed his eating so gotta talk to vet about that.
We have appt on thursday with a specialist.
hope to start it after that.
He has large cell lymphoma of his kidney.
 
Are you going to give chemo a try? I did with Tiffany. Gabepentin and buprenex “might” be too much. I’m glad you are seeing a specialist. Let us know what treatment is suggested. :bighug:
 
Are you going to give chemo a try? I did with Tiffany. Gabepentin and buprenex “might” be too much. I’m glad you are seeing a specialist. Let us know what treatment is suggested. :bighug:

We cant afford chemo. Why is gabapentin & buprenex too much?
bupre makes him awake instead of sedate. So she gave me gabapentin to help.
Crap, Am I not supposed to do them together??
 
You can do bupe and gaba together but for some cats it is too much sedation. I am glad you are seeing a specialist. Make sure you review the current list of meds and supplements with them.
 
You can do bupe and gaba together but for some cats it is too much sedation. I am glad you are seeing a specialist. Make sure you review the current list of meds and supplements with them.

the bupre doesnt sedate him, it keeps him awake instead.
Last time he was on bupre he was always awake and when he came off it he slept hard alot for a few days. He was so tired.
 
I agree withWendy. I would start prednisolone though. It helped Tiffany when she had to stop chemo injections due to an incompetent vet. It gave her several months of quality time. Intermediate cell is as aggressive as large cell. Good luck with the specialist.
 
Here is an example.
Amps was 117.
I was worried he wouldnt eat much to give same dose of 2u.
At amps meal time he ate 1oz.
So I gave him less insulin...1.62u.
I got up to test at 10am and he ate well.
+2.9 was 257.
+5.25 was 273.
He is slowing down now with his appetite but I gave some lower carb food now.
Its so hard never knowing how much he will eat.
 
Back
Top