? Sprocket. acting weird. wouldnt eat for hrs. crying. eating now. gave reduced dose.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
omg! he is scaring me so bad. hours he wouldnt eat 5 flavors. tried with treats n all. 61 amps. gave 20gravy lovers. and eating but had to put a treat on it and put karo.

ok just had to copy n paste this 4 times. what is going on? i am not even near the storm. Full moon?

he woke me crying alot. had food. wouldnt eat it.
put fortiflora and treats on it but still wouldnt for hours.
he was 155 /+4.3 then 215 at +6.4.

then acted weird
still weird.
and I have to give some insulin. what dose do i give??
he has been on 2.62u
what do i do now 2u? 2.u?
i have to shoot in 20 mins as bf is leaving n he helps hold him.
 
omg! he is scaring me so bad. hours he wouldnt eat 5 flavors. tried with treats n all. 61 amps. gave 20gravy lovers. and eating but had to put a treat on it and put karo.

ok just had to copy n paste this 4 times. what is going on? i am not even near the storm. Full moon?

he woke me crying alot. had food. wouldnt eat it.
put fortiflora and treats on it but still wouldnt for hours.
he was 155 /+4.3 then 215 at +6.4.

then acted weird
still weird.
and I have to give some insulin. what dose do i give??
he has been on 2.62u
what do i do now 2u? 2.u?
i have to shoot in 20 mins as bf is leaving n he helps hold him.

Are you comfortable giving his insulin? Will you be around to monitor later this morning? How are things in the litter box? Is he peeing/pooing ok? Does he let you hold him? Pet him? Feel anything unusual? Any dental issues? Is this behavior unusual? Hopefully the experts will be up soon - I'm not sure about dosing advice - but I will say - if it were me, I would not change dose at this point - his numbers aren't really very low. Have you checked his urine today for ketones? Might be helpful to the experts to rule out all those things so with your next post you might want to go down that list...hope he settles down soon...
 
I am not seeing the numbers from your post in his SS. Can you update it?

After you give insulin, you have about 2 hours before onset . Do you think Sprocket will eat some for you by then? Even if it's a tbsp. of food you should be fine to give him the insulin. I would give the same dose.


ETA Maybe a vet visit is in order to find out why he is acting so weird and not wanting to eat for you.
 
he is eating now but still acting weird.
it's spooky.
he never did that before.
giving under 2.5u.
havent had time to update yet thats why i posted what was missing
 
sorry for quick response. had to shoot.
Gave little less than 2.5u
i use a caliper so its 3.05mm/about 2.42u.

just tested he is 91.
its not the numbers that is freaking me out. it's more that he acted so weird overnight.
he woke me at 315am as he was eating or licking the plastic bag liner in trash can. He would never touch the trash can before.
then he wouldnt eat.
I had barely slept 1.5 hrs at that time.
I tried fortiflora n treats on food he ate very little and I left like 4-5 flavors out.
He still didnt eat by 6am. and he was crying like crazy.
poop was smelly but i think a little soft but he gets that from treats. pee was fine.
i give dr. good pet digestive enzymes with probiotics for that daily.

he ate now. gave gravy lovers cause he was scaring me.
then gave a 10carb meow mix.
he ate well.

can the hurricane affect how he acts? or was it a full moon?
does that affect him?
idk. just weird.
 
Any chance he got some thing from the trash and ate it and it's bothering him or have upset tummy? If he continues the behavior maybe seeing the vet before the weekend is a good idea.
 
nothing was in the trash. he has a plastic addiction.
at +4.5/46. gave leftover 20carb with big dollop of karo & treat crushed on top.
also 10carb, 1.4oz with some crushed Zero/Evo on top.
And earlier before i went to bed i had given some 3 dental treats and 2 freeze dried treats.

high carb doesnt seem to do much anymore, Anyone know why???
 
137 at +7.75 at 237pm.
he is eating some but is now so tired.
Gonna reduce his dose to 2.5u tonight.
He has reduced his food intake so hope now this dose will be good.
Still odd how he acted last night.

my other cat us in her glory eating all this tasty food. lol. She has eaten alot already.
 
Has he calmed down and returned to normal?
I would suggest a vet visit. He may have had a bit of an 'episode' of some sort.
The vet can check blood pressure etc. Check the neurological functions.
 
Ya he is back to acting normal. He is exhausted.
It was weird. I went to be at 130am and by 230am he was crying. He was fine when I went to sleep.
Very strange but hope it doesnt happen again.
 
Back
Top