? Sprocket 12/6 New Info.. Bloodwork

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sprocket-when-do-i-up-dose.207406/#post-2298658

Hi. He went to vet yesterday for bloodwork but to my surprise the bloodwork was not good.
I will post it (i hope) but his liver values were like lower 200s in march. He is on ursodiol for his liver and I added milk thistle since then.
Plus Dr. Goodpet digestive enzymes with probiotics. He started acting very good and his bgs were better so I dont know what happened.

?? If he caught a virus last week or week before when his bg was 100s midcycle then bounced to high 300s for amps/pmps tests(as he acted like he felt horrible while in 300s. drank more water, played with water dish, looked nauseous) OR last week when he reduced his food intake by about 5oz suddenly yet his bgs were in 100s every cycle for 5 cycles & I had to reduce dose with the huge good decrease.
Could either of these situations cause the liver numbers to go up to 511?
Doesnt it take awhile to come back down if this is true?

Please see spreadsheet too.
I think I uploaded the bloodwork.
Is it readable??

Ok thoughts on whats going on??

Vet even asked if he was ever tested for leukemia or felv (or as some know it as feline aids)
Vet wants ultrasound. He has appt dec 19th

Please help.
@Chris & China
@Wendy&Neko
@Squeaky and KT (GA)

ugg all i can remember.
I gotta write them down again.
Any experienced people that should look at it please tag them.
thanks
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Sorry, I can't help you with liver numbers. I have no experience there. Did the vet suggest anything?
 
the compounding company changed the base from water to almond oil. Would that screw up the strength?

The strength would be the same but it would absorb differently. How differently I don't know but water and oil don't absorb the same.

I'm not any help with liver numbers... :( Hopefully someone else will be able to help.
 
The bloodwork file above is upside down...kind of hard to read.

If you put your cursor along the top, you should get the option to "rotate" it
upload_2018-12-5_22-20-1.png


Depends on the browser you use too.....on Edge, the options only come up right as it shows up. On Chrome it has it like the picture above
 
Call the pharmacist at thrivingpets.com

They compound ursodiol. I have called them in the past for similar questions and they were very helpful.



http://www.thrivingpets.com/index.php/catalogsearch/result/?q=ursodiol

http://www.thrivingpets.com/index.php/contacts/

Wont they only answer if I got it there?
Roadrunner will answer me but I want to find out first from an unbiased person.
I am calling my vet today but i was hoping someone in our huge group might be a science person.

And...do you have any ideas about his bloodwork??
 
Yet I worry now cause he is already on the ursodiol liver medicine.
Yet. the compounding company changed the base from water to almond oil. Would that screw up the strength??
Hi @Darnell & Sprocket ,

Just a thought:
there are 2 types of almonds – sweet and bitter. What does the label on Ursodiol say?

The bitter almond is toxic (in large quantities) unless processed properly. It is widely believed to be banned in the US since the 90s however I know for a fact that California does grow bitter almond trees. And given that CA is the main supplier of all US almonds it can end up in any part of the country and used inadvertently in both – pharma and culinary. Many countries still use bitter almonds in medicine.

I am sure your pharmacist knows his business and wouldn’t put any toxic stuff in but because he was preparing the med for a diabetic he might have tried to avoid anything called “sweet.” Bitter oil contains (or produces?..:confused:) amygdalin which might cause elevated liver chemistry. I’d call him to rule out the possibility.
 
Hi @Darnell & Sprocket ,

Just a thought:
there are 2 types of almonds – sweet and bitter. What does the label on Ursodiol say?

The bitter almond is toxic (in large quantities) unless processed properly. It is widely believed to be banned in the US since the 90s however I know for a fact that California does grow bitter almond trees. And given that CA is the main supplier of all US almonds it can end up in any part of the country and used inadvertently in both – pharma and culinary. Many countries still use bitter almonds in medicine.

I am sure your pharmacist knows his business and wouldn’t put any toxic stuff in but because he was preparing the med for a diabetic he might have tried to avoid anything called “sweet.” Bitter oil contains (or produces?..:confused:) amygdalin which might cause elevated liver chemistry. I’d call him to rule out the possibility.

Thanks Tanya. That is good info. The label says almond oil.
I will call to ask what type of almond oil & where its coming from.
The compounded meds is from roadrunner pharmacy and they are in Arizona so it could be from CA.
 
Omg!!!:banghead::banghead:
Just spoke with Roadrunner Pharmacy & they are trying to blame my vet saying the script was written differently for a medicine he has been taking since 3/2017.
This being the reason that the base was changed. And previously roadrunner has said many times that it was changed due policy change. It was always sugar free when i ordered it before. And when it did change they are trying to say they discussed the change with my vet. They did not!!!
And I am the client!!! Should be discussed with me not the vet!!! No one discussed it with me!!
Bullshit here!!! Wow.
I am so mad at them!!!:banghead::banghead::banghead::mad::mad:


So they probably know it is a problem base and are trying to save their asses!

So this medicine is probably causing his numbers to go up!!
They are killing him!!!
 
Btw....I looked at his weight this week. He is now 13.75 lbs and he was at 15.5lbs in march.
I hope its a good weight loss.
@Darnell & Sprocket
If, as you posted earlier ,Sprocket was eating his regular 14-15 oz a day March thru now and still lost weight I'd talk to the vet about it.
If I am not mistaken this maybe a sign of hyperthyroidism. Ask your vet if there is a correlation between hyperT(if that's what he has) and elevated liver values.
If he was eating less then I think it is ok.
Do you have the U/S appointment with your reg vet on the 19th?
Perhaps it is good idea to start making a list of questions to ask her/him and have a good chat.
If I don't make a list of ? I usually forget most of what I wanted to discuss.
 
@Darnell & Sprocket
If, as you posted earlier ,Sprocket was eating his regular 14-15 oz a day March thru now and still lost weight I'd talk to the vet about it.
If I am not mistaken this maybe a sign of hyperthyroidism. Ask your vet if there is a correlation between hyperT(if that's what he has) and elevated liver values.
If he was eating less then I think it is ok.
Do you have the U/S appointment with your reg vet on the 19th?
Perhaps it is good idea to start making a list of questions to ask her/him and have a good chat.
If I don't make a list of ? I usually forget most of what I wanted to discuss.

He was tested for hyperthyroidism before, possibly in February. I will check his records.
He has been eating from 11oz-15oz most of time this year. I checked calories before when vet told me how many he should have and it was about average to maintain or reduce weight. He has also been much more active this year vs. last year.
I dont mind him losing a little but next bloodtest i will add the t4 again.

I will be chatting with vet tomorrow. Yes the 19th is at the vets office as the U/S person comes to the office.

And yes. lists are part of my world. My memory is a mess so I use stickies & notes & list pads...lol. All over...lol
 
Back
Top