spreadsheet reviews note - switched to human meter on 2/8/23 trying to create new ss

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula and Sammy(GA)

Member Since 2019
Here is my current spreadsheet. Covid caused me to take a break and I think I did some dangerous numbers without knowing it. I started daily now and this is what I'm seeing. I'm trying to add his Metrix spreadsheet to my signature. Please advise! Thank you
 
You don't need a new spreadsheet just because you switched to a human meter
I'm going to tag Bhooma to change the color coding up top ,the last 2 colors/will change when using a human
On your spreadsheet for 2-8 you need to type Switched to Human meter

You definitely need to be getting some tests in after the PMPS cycles
I'm going to tag a prozinc user to take a look at your spreadsheet because your doses are all over the place
You don't have a signature set up yet
I think you should set up your signature
Hi if you are having trouble setting it up this might make it easier for you
signature
click on your name up top above where it says sesrch and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.

Do you see mine?
From some of your previous posts I see Sammy has asthma and takes meds for it
Please list any health issues and any meds he is on also

@Paula and Sammy
 
Last edited:
Here is my current spreadsheet. Covid caused me to take a break and I think I did some dangerous numbers without knowing it. I started daily now and this is what I'm seeing. I'm trying to add his Metrix spreadsheet to my signature. Please advise! Thank you
Tagging Suzanne
@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi Suzanne can you take a look at Paula's SS about the units she's been shooting
She did switch to a human meter on 2-8
Thanks Suzanne
 
Ill ask @Bandit's Mom to help you change over the SS to human meter.
Could you also put a coloured line through the SS where you did the swap to the human meter please so helpers can clearly see. Thanks.

Looking at the SS I can see you are not getting any test in during the PM cycle at all. That means we have no idea how low the BGs are dropping during the night, when many cats drop low. So I would strongly recommend you start getting at least one test in during the PM cycles. A before bed test is a good habit to get into. If that test is lower than the preshot test I would suggest you get another test to see how low the BG is dropping, because a lower number after a preshot indicates an active cycle.

I would also choose a dose and try and stick to it instead of chopping and changing. The dose is based on the nadir not the preshot BG. Until Suzanne responds I would stay with the 0.5 U dose.
I'm going to tag @Suzanne & Darcy to give you some dosing advice as she is a prozinc user.
 
@Paula and Sammy
Your signature isn't here , do you see mine at the end of my post in gray
click on your name up top above where it says sesrch and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.

Do you see mine?
From some of your previous posts I see Sammy has asthma and takes meds for it
Please list any health issues and any meds he is on also
 
Last edited:
@Paula and Sammy
Your signature isn't here , do you see mine at the end of my post in gray
click on your name up top above where it says sesrch and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.

Do you see mine?
From some of your previous posts I see Sammy has asthma and takes meds for it
Please list any health issues and any meds he is on also
Where do I put all those things above? Underneath the signature "tell us more about you" space? (Please excuse my ignorance.) I have all that info that I know of. I'll try to add it now. Thank you.
 
@Paula and Sammy
Your signature isn't here , do you see mine at the end of my post in gray
click on your name up top above where it says sesrch and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.

Do you see mine?
From some of your previous posts I see Sammy has asthma and takes meds for it
Please list any health issues and any meds he is on also
I am unable to add more info under his spreadsheet link! I highlighted yellow the comments where the people meter now used.
 
Last edited:
Bandit's Mom said:
Are you using a computer or a smartphone to edit the SS? Do you have a computer/laptop you can use?

Paula said
I am on a Chromebook. Kinda lame "laptop" but it seems to do the job. I'm hoping here.

@Bandit's Mom
Bhooma she can't add her signature because the link to her SS is too long
 
I am on a Chromebook. Kinda lame "laptop" but it seems to do the job. I'm hoping here.
If you open the spreadsheet in your browser window to edit it, just copy the link in browser address bar and paste it here.
The link will end with "edit?usp=sharing" or "edit?gid=" or something like that.

I am unable to add any info under his SS link! It says the sig is too long!
If you will share the info, I will try and compress it to fit the Signature.
 
If you open the spreadsheet in your browser window to edit it, just copy the link in browser address bar and paste it here.
The link will end with "edit?usp=sharing" or "edit?gid=" or something like that.


If you will share the info, I will try and compress it to fit the Signature.
Here is his basic background info hope is enough.
Sam is about 10 years old, and asthmatic. On Depo for years. DM in 2022. On Prozinc, and inhalers. Now on human Walgreen's Metrix meter. Had rear leg amputated July 2022 and later got pancreatitis and DM.
 
Last edited:
@Paula and Sammy
Your signature isn't here , do you see mine at the end of my post in gray
click on your name up top above where it says sesrch and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.

Do you see mine?
From some of your previous posts I see Sammy has asthma and takes meds for it
Please list any health issues and any meds he is on also
Here is his basic background info hope is enough.
Sam is about 10 years old, and asthmatic. On Depo for years. DM in 2022. On Prozinc, and inhalers. Now on human Walgreen's Metrix meter. Had rear leg amputated July 2022 and later got pancreatitis and DM.
 
Here is his basic background info hope is enough.
Sam is about 10 years old, and asthmatic. On Depo for years. DM in 2022. On Prozinc, and inhalers. Now on human Walgreen's Metrix meter. Had rear leg amputated July 2022 and later got pancreatitis and DM.
You need to tell Bhooma what you are feeding is it wet low carb or wet low carb and kibble?
Was Sammy diagnosed in July of 2022?

@Paula and Sammy

Did you give insulin last night? Nothing is filled in
Can you start to get some tests in after PMPS because you are only see half the picture
 
Last edited:
Tagging Suzanne to take a look at your SS and the number of units you have been giving.
Maybe she can suggest a dose so you can shoot the same units for both cycles
Plus we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time.Sammy is dropping
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
Tagging Suzanne to take a look at your SS and the number of units you have been giving.
Maybe she can suggest a dose so you can shoot the same units for both cycles
Plus we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time.Sammy is dropping
@Suzanne & Darcy
Yes I have seen it and I have decided to forego any insulin tonight, then tomorrow after amps I am going to stick with .5 units. I can barely see that, but if it seems to work I'll continue at that dose until his numbers go up enough for me to be concerned. He was quite low again today, at +9, and it seems to be staying in his system a long time. As an aside, I am still recording his numbers in the spreadsheet I made for human meter as well as his previous sheet, just in case one day it can take the place of the other one. I just can figure out why it won't attach to my signature? Maybe only one is allowed? I don't know enough, that's for sure. Thank you so much for your help.
 
He was quite low again today, at +9, and it seems to be staying in his system a long time.
Can you enter this on your spreadsheet
You need to tell Bhooma what you are feeding is it wet low carb or wet low carb and kibble?
Was Sammy diagnosed in July of 2022?

@Paula and Sammy

Did you give insulin last night? Nothing is filled in
Can you start to get some tests in after PMPS because you are only see half the picture
 
Tagging Suzanne to take a look at your SS and the number of units you have been giving.
Maybe she can suggest a dose so you can shoot the same units for both cycles
Plus we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time.Sammy is dropping
@Suzanne & Darcy

@FrostD
 
Last edited:
You need to tell Bhooma what you are feeding is it wet low carb or wet low carb and kibble?
Was Sammy diagnosed in July of 2022?

@Paula and Sammy

Did you give insulin last night? Nothing is filled in
Can you start to get some tests in after PMPS because you are only see half the picture
I did not give any insulin last night. This morning he was 354 but I stuck to .5 U. I believe he is bouncing. I have filled in the sheet maybe I'm not linking it correctly? Thank you.
 
Tagging Suzanne to take a look at your SS and the number of units you have been giving.
Maybe she can suggest a dose so you can shoot the same units for both cycles
Plus we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time.Sammy is dropping
@Suzanne & Darcy

@FrostD
Yes he was 354 this morning, no insulin last night. Going with .5 for a while. Looks like bouncing. Also late nadir, like +9?!
 
Yes he was 354 this morning, no insulin last night. Going with .5 for a while. Looks like bouncing. Also late nadir, like +9?!
The previous response has his correct spreadsheet attached but I'm not sure I didn't erase it this morn. I'm trying again. Looks like it's attached now. Should be up to date. The one you did for me I am unable to add stuff to.
 
I'm going to tag Bhooma again to fix things for you
What are you feeding ? You didn't say ,is it all lc wet or
lc and kibble
Also
Was Sammy diagnosed in July of 2022?
 
Last edited:
Hi Bhooma I don't know if you are getting the tags ?
Bhooma please see post #21
Also
Bhooma her SS should say 2023 up top not 2022, there was only one date that she tested in 2022
Thanks Diane, I got all the tags and I'm in touch with Paula over PM for the Signature and SS.
 
Hi! So, I need your advice. I gave Sammy .5U this morning at 6 am and his AMPS was 354. I just did a BG check at 2:30 and its 60 again! I don't understand what is going on!!!??? What should I do? I know it'll cause him to bounce again so I gave him some Karo and some FF savory center to bring it up but I don't know why it's so low with so little insulin? He can't be not needing insulin if he was 350 this morning!
What is his feeding schedule? Does he get small snacks in the first part of the cycle to slow drops?

Also that late in the cycle (+8), you may not need higher carbs to bring his numbers up since insulin action will be on the wane. Next time, try feeding his usual food and test in an hour.

It's likely he needs less insulin, but it would really helpful if you could get more tests so we have a clearer picture. Especially one before bed every night like Bron suggested earlier. Would it possible to get some tests in the first part of the cycle and feed to slow him down? Or are you at work then?
 
What is his feeding schedule? Does he get small snacks in the first part of the cycle to slow drops?

Also that late in the cycle (+8), you may not need higher carbs to bring his numbers up since insulin action will be on the wane. Next time, try feeding his usual food and test in an hour.

It's likely he needs less insulin, but it would really helpful if you could get more tests so we have a clearer picture. Especially one before bed every night like Bron suggested earlier. Would it possible to get some tests in the first part of the cycle and feed to slow him down? Or are you at work then?
His food doesn't seem to make him rise at all. I did early tests but they don't seem to show much in the past. However, now that he's so very high this morning 349, I guess I shall cut him down some more and do .25. He was just so low later in the afternoons! I'll try some more spot checks. I currently walk dogs for a living so I come and go all day. Thank you so much for the response Bhooma.
What is his feeding schedule? Does he get small snacks in the first part of the cycle to slow drops?

Also that late in the cycle (+8), you may not need higher carbs to bring his numbers up since insulin action will be on the wane. Next time, try feeding his usual food and test in an hour.

It's likely he needs less insulin, but it would really helpful if you could get more tests so we have a clearer picture. Especially one before bed every night like Bron suggested earlier. Would it possible to get some tests in the first part of the cycle and feed to slow him down? Or are you at work then?
I'll try the one late at night. It's just that I'm usually in bed very early especially this time of the year. Dark you know. But I'll try to do more tests. Sammy's been quite tolerant of 3 a day, but his ears are tough and its a challenge, even with a heated sock. He does got lunch at midday, also raw food. He eats but it doesn't seem to raise his BG at all.
 
Last edited:
His food doesn't seem to make him rise at all. I did early tests but they don't seem to show much in the past. However, now that he's so very high this morning 349, I guess I shall cut him down some more and do .25. He was just so low later in the afternoons! I'll try some more spot checks. I currently walk dogs for a living so I come and go all day. Thank you so much for the response Bhooma.

I'll try the one late at night. It's just that I'm usually in bed very early especially this time of the year. Dark you know. But I'll try to do more tests. Sammy's been quite tolerant of 3 a day, but his ears are tough and its a challenge, even with a heated sock. He does got lunch at midday, also raw food. He eats but it doesn't seem to raise his BG at all.
For everyone reading along: I have merged the old (pet meter) and new (human meter) SSs so we can see all of Sammy’s data.

Paula: a few observations on his SS for you.

  • as previously mentioned, it’s really important to get one or two nighttime tests; part of the reason you are seeing the cycles you are is because he’s dropping lower at night and you aren’t catching it to feed him. Insulin + food work together to help flatten out the curve.
  • PZ is not intended to use once a day so, as also said, if you are not shooting twice a day because you are worried about the lower BGs, then you need to change the dose. It’s good you reduced to 0.25u this morning and we can see where his BG ends up once he clears the current bounce.
  • He is bouncing today and that means his BG is likely to come down further; it might not come down as low as it has but you should be testing him to catch the lower BGs.
  • You should always get an AMPS and a PMPS. Even if you test at +11, you still need that preshot (PS) BG because it can change rapidly in an hour especially if the kitty is clearing a bounce.
Based on his BGs that you’ve seen to date, the 0.5u dose might have been a good dose for him but without the nighttime test(s), we don’t know and so we have to be more cautious. For that reason, he might (or might not) need to go back up in dose after we see what the ).25u dose does but, again, the nighttime test(s) (and by this I mean at +2 or so and before you go to bed), will tell you whether the 0.25u dose is working fine or if it’s safe to raise it back to 0.5u.

Please tag me if you have questions.
 
For everyone reading along: I have merged the old (pet meter) and new (human meter) SSs so we can see all of Sammy’s data.

Paula: a few observations on his SS for you.

  • as previously mentioned, it’s really important to get one or two nighttime tests; part of the reason you are seeing the cycles you are is because he’s dropping lower at night and you aren’t catching it to feed him. Insulin + food work together to help flatten out the curve.
  • PZ is not intended to use once a day so, as also said, if you are not shooting twice a day because you are worried about the lower BGs, then you need to change the dose. It’s good you reduced to 0.25u this morning and we can see where his BG ends up once he clears the current bounce.
  • He is bouncing today and that means his BG is likely to come down further; it might not come down as low as it has but you should be testing him to catch the lower BGs.
  • You should always get an AMPS and a PMPS. Even if you test at +11, you still need that preshot (PS) BG because it can change rapidly in an hour especially if the kitty is clearing a bounce.
Based on his BGs that you’ve seen to date, the 0.5u dose might have been a good dose for him but without the nighttime test(s), we don’t know and so we have to be more cautious. For that reason, he might (or might not) need to go back up in dose after we see what the ).25u dose does but, again, the nighttime test(s) (and by this I mean at +2 or so and before you go to bed), will tell you whether the 0.25u dose is working fine or if it’s safe to raise it back to 0.5u.

Please tag me if you have questions.
Ok. I will do my best to try and test him at night. Thank you for your valuable advice!
 
You’re very welcome. Any data helps so if you are headed to bed by +2, then just grab that one. If you are up until +4, then grab a +2 and a +4. It’s not forever.....just until we get a little nighttime data.
He's back up at 276 at +2. I gave .25 at ps. Going to try and stay up another couple hours.
+4 319. Pretty high. Going to bed now.
 
Last edited:
He's back up at 276 at +2. I gave .25 at ps. Going to try and stay up another couple hours.
+4 319. Pretty high. Going to bed now.
Great job last night!!! This is good data.

This is telling us he’s a little bouncy since he came back down today. If you can continue the nighttime tests for a bit, we can see whether he might need a bit more insulin to bring those blues down to greens. Sound ok?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top