Spreadsheet- - Boots

Liz H

Member Since 2020
Good morning! I feel like every time I think I'm starting to get a handle on this, I get another curveball. When I tested before feeding last night, Boots was at 118. Thinking this was a good number, I fed her. I withheld her insulin. When I tested about 30 minutes later, she was in the mid seventies which surprised me. I tested again a couple of hours later and she was trending up at 118. This morning, she was at 333 at AMPS. I fed.her and shot 2 units . Can anyone make heads or tails of her spreadsheet?
Knowing what I know now, I can't believe I was regularly shooting 6 units of insulin for Boots and going off to work for the day without monitoring I know it was based on the advice of my vet, but I still feel badly.
 
Looks like Boots had a good duration on the morning shot. The 118 is probably the dose wearing out. So this morning's reading is from previous dose worn off and maybe a bounce mixed in.
 
So we're still on the right track?

I would say you are. I will let the others chime in though. You are very new to this. Ultimate goal is to get Boots into normal range with or without insulin. Of course without would be ideal.

You do want have 2 shootable safe numbers. The dose needs to be determined yet, that just takes time and tweaking.

There is also dry food in the mix, continue to transition off slowly. Once removed permanently it can have a significant impact. You need to monitor while doing transition.
 
We are off dry except for the occasional couple of pieces to get her in position for BG testing! She is getting 50-50 FF and w/d wet ar mealtime. I am hoping to get her on FF exclusively over the weekend when I can monitor like crazy.
 
Back
Top