SPOT - has me scratching my head...pmbg 29

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb & Spot

Member Since 2009
Spot has been really keeping me on my toes. His numbers have been super starting December 27th......his numbers were really wonky during 2014. So, he has been getting some super nice blues and greens and hasn't been bouncing high at all. Nice huh!

Worked a double last night and he didn't get his shot until 7:15 pm. Adjusted his am shot this morning to 6:45 am. Couldn't wait any longer since I had to leave for work....plus he was 138 so I felt comfortable shooting then.
Figured I could give him his shot at 6:30 this evening.

Mom called me at 1:45 saying that Spot had thrown up his snacks twice today and that his numbers were 35 then 32. I left work so I could come home and give him some pepcid and when I got home he was finishing up his snack of FF gravy lovers. I waited a bit and retested and he was 51. Ok good, he is going up. PM shot was going to be at 6:30 (trying to get him back to his 6am-6pm dosing time). BUT tested him and he was down to 29. Well, of course I needed to give him something to bring him up again...and he ate with gusto his FF gravy. Now it's +13.25 and he is up to 81. No insulin....wondering if I should give him his shot now and begin to adjust or just skip today's shot.....Any input??

2015 Spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1XtIpVKa1SrDibgkHeNSP3oOydxkl6PcnxLUV6cbHmQ8/edit#gid=0
 
The 2015 spreadsheet link is saying I need to ask permission to view it

I think if China had numbers running that low, I might skip and let the depot drain a bit tonight
 
That +13.25 could still be showing the effects of the FF gravy. I wouldn't shoot just yet if you are going to, I would test again in an hour to make sure he's not going down again. If you do shoot then you will need to be prepared to keep a close watch on him through the night and he's going to be even further off his shot times.

Whatever you decide don't forget to take the reduction at his next shot - it was earned with gusto!

P.S. - it isn't advisable to move shots by more than half an hour in total per day - you can move 15 mins at each shot or 30 mins at one shot
 
Strange that it was telling me I had to ask permission then! I can see it now though!

It's going to be up to your comfort level if you shoot at all tonight, but since he's requiring the high carb so much today, I still think it might be easier on you (and then you could get back on whatever schedule you want in the morning) if you skip tonight

If you do decide to shoot, definitely reduce the dose...those 20's and 30's mean business....I have a feeling he will probably have a pretty big bounce at some point. I know the only time I see China doing a big bounce anymore is when she drops into those really low numbers
 
Thank you Vyktors mum. I am leaning on not giving the shot...that 29 was just a tad to low for me. That way I can get him back on his schedule for his amps tomorrow.
 
Hi Deb,
I'm inclined to agree with Serryn and Chris: skip the shot tonight and get back on your regular schedule tomorrow. Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
I would definitely skip tonight - that 81 is purely gravy-influenced. And with that 29, you need to take a full .25U reduction.
 
So, decided not to shot last night. Was expecting higher numbers this morning due to no insulin and the expected bounce....he went up to 371 for his amps. Gave him his reduction of .5. Didn't do much since he's been going up all day. He is currently at 390! When Spot does it, he does it good!
Thanks everyone for your responses!
 
More vines for a quick bounce.

You are so lucky to have your mom there to monitor. "Hi Mom :) :bighug:"
 
Dyana...mom said hello back!!!

So, he did come down nicely for his pmps......294. Continued with the reduction. Just realized as I looked out my window....There is a semi-full moon out there....Spot may have been doing a moon dance and that is why his numbers went down so low.....yup, could be!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top