Spoke w/vet yesterday about Cedric

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
I had done a curve on Cedric last week after increasing him to 1.5 units twice a day. Doc called me yesterday afternoon to dicuss rasing the dose again and the possbility of switching to Lev since Cedric seems to hit his nadir at hour 4 (I think he has always been that way). Vet is ok with switching but doesn't feel it will make much difference (I gave him some links to this site btw but he is good with diabetes and Cedric isn't his only FD). I decided to up his dose last night to 1.75 units as discussed with the vet, since I still have about 100 units of Lantus left in my pen and it looks good. I also gave him a shot of B12.
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/p ... atid=10630

I'd like to do another curve on him but can't find anyone to take my shift at my part time job on Saturday. I am thinking of working from home on Friday to do this - is this too soon after changing his dose on Monday night? I could stay home next Monday, but since I have a 1/2 day seminar on Tuesday, I would prefer not to. What do you think?
 
Looking at Cedric's SS, trying to see how long it takes him to settle into a new dose and build up that depot again. It's hard to tell but 6 cycles or 3 days looks about right for him to settle into that new dose. That would make Friday AM the 8th cycle on this increased dose.

If it were my cat, I'd go ahead and do a curve.

On the switch from Lantus to Levimir, because of the early nadir, well, some cats simply nadir early. My foster Wink always did, right around that +4.
 
I would go over to tight regulation and post the question there.

Personally I would hold this new dose for the usual 6-10 cycles before making a change again (unless he goes under 50). But I would also see if you can get a test in the next few nights PMPS +6 to +8 because I find myself wondering how low he drops when he is in those blue 150s in the morning. I wonder if he is lower prior to that.. And if he is you might want to hold the dose longer. Set the alarm!

Wendy
 
I can usually get a +3 or +4 number from him, but didn't think about waking up to test him. I might try that, but with the stress in my new job, i might not be falling back to sleep! I am ready to quit (been there since November and it's a mess) but am trying to hold on until I go to a seminar next week to see if the other place that wanted to off me a job last fall still has an opening.

That siad my immediate boss in this office has gone up to CT for the next couple of days to visit the home office and complain about quite a few things. he mentioned that he is thinking of taking off on Friday, so I can't do Cedric's curve until Monday when I can work form home - unless I get a call that someone wants my shift on Saturday, but I don't see that happening.

I forgot his log book at home, so I can't update his sheet until tonight, but he was over 200 this am - just tho, I want to say like 203.
 
Yep, looking at his sheet I do think its important to get some night tests in because you might be surprised how low he goes and it would explain a lot.If you cant get back to sleep then you can do even more tests (lol) especially if you see him dropping..
 
Wendy:
I tried this last night - got up at 1am then got Cedric out of his bed to test him. :lol:
I have updated his spreadsheet, but he started out yesterday am at 179; by 6pm for his pmps he was 116 and dropped the rest of the night. I only got up once, but assume that his numbers would go back up after that 1am reading.

He's 147 amps but I will check him at 8am or 9am - I have to leave around 9:30 for work.
 
Cool! And interesting! He went into nice numbers briefly!!

It also looks to me like he bounced off those green night time numbers last night. I would keep watching and doing spot checks during the cycles, especially when you see a blue preshot. Like last night.. did he go down in the next hour or two after the 65? How low did he go? What I am trying to see is if he is dropping below 40 and you are missing it. If he does drop below 40 you would get a dose decrease.

Even if he isnt going to earn a decrease , this tells you that this current dose maybe wouldnt be safe to increase any further.

make sense?

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top