SPLIT DOSE???

Status
Not open for further replies.

DEF

Member Since 2011
I won't be home tonight at shot time.

If you normally shoot at say 8:00 pm but you need to leave home at 6:30 pm and return at 9:30 pm.

As long as it is 10 hours since last shot , can you shoot 1/2 dose at 6:30 and then 1/2 at 9:30.

If an early shot is an increase and late shot a decrease would doing it that way balance it all out?

I don't want to do the whole dose at 6:30 pm and get completely off schedule.

Thanks for opinions.

Elaine and Pinky
 
No...you should not do a split dose.

Between the two options of shooting early or shooting late, I think you are much better off to shoot the normal dose at 9:30 when you return as long as you can move your schedule back to 8 in either two 15-minute increments a day (one 15-minute increment at each cycle) or one time a day (pm cycle) for 30 minutes. So if you shot tonight at 9:30, you could:

1. shoot at 9:15 am tomorrow, 9 pm tomorrow, 8:45 am Sun, 8:30 pm Sunday, 8:15 am Monday, 8:00 pm Monday OR
2. shoot at 9 tomorrow night, 8:30 Sunday night, 8:00 Monday night

IMHO, I would not shoot at 6:30 and then leave. If you shoot early, you must be able to monitor.

Hope that helps and please let us know if you have other questions.
 
Shooting 90 min early and not being home to monitor, especially with nadirs in the 100s, strikes me as a less than safe option. Splitting doses can end up with overlap that could be a problem. I just don't think it's a viable option.

Shooting late is far safer, You can then start to move your shot time back is a reasonable way.
 
Thank you so much!!! I will shoot when I get back.

So glad I asked-- what you all said makes perfect sense.

And now that I think of it --- maybe I can get out of the meeting a tad early. :-D
 
Just to be clear, I wouldn't shoot a reduced dose late. By shooting late, it's already going to be a bit of a reduction but shouldn't be a huge impact.

I think Sienne and I are saying the same thing: regular dose when you get home.

Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top