Spitzer 10/15/2010

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
This morning, Spitzer's BG = 218. He will need some level of insulin, I just need to titrate it properly. I plan to do a curve this weekend.

He was hungry when I put food down (all the food left out for the 11 last night had been eaten), though not very anxious.

I gave him his insulin (2.5 units) using the syringe I had filled yesterday (refrigerated until use).
Based on yesterday, I'm expecting he'll get low during the day, so I left out lots of food, which he will eat.

On just these 3 BG samples, I'm thinking I should drop to 2 units, twice a day. Thoughts?

And a question: when food is available and eaten if the glucose goes too low, ie the insulin was too high, what effects will this have on the cat?

BJ
 
Last edited:
You are using Lantus, right? You have gotten a really good response from the food and insulin. IIWY, I would drop down to one unit twice a day. You can always increase over time; you can't get the insulin out of the cat once it's shot. You don't want him going low during the day and hoping food will take care of it. If he goes really low during the day, it can mean a bounce - or an atypical high number at the next shot time, which you have to be careful not to overreact to.

It's probably time to go over to the Lantus support group for your dose advice. Do you need help with a spreadsheet? Let me know if you do.
 
It is NOT recommended to pre-fill syringes with Lantus.

There's lots of info on Lantus on the ISG board....

ETA: Lantus dosing increases and decreases are based on nadir, not preshot, BG readings. Please go to the support group and read the stickies at the top of the forum...
 
Hi there :)

Regarding food, some cats will eat if they feel themselves going too low, others won't, so you just don't know.

And yes, I think a dose reduction would be warranted.

Jen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top