Spicey's updated info after hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.
tajana340 said:
Just wanted to let everyone know that spicey's

pmps at 9 pm was 521
gave 1 unit pzi vet insulin
bg reading at 1 am 317

Just wanted everyone to know because the other threads are getting long. So now is to find the right dose after her hypo
on 1-11-10 viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2248&start=0 and check this one as well really helpful info
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2372&start=0

Thanx everyone

Thank you for the update, David.

317 is not a terrible number after what you went thru last night with her hypo. I would be curious to know what her nadir point is. Nadir is the lowest point in a cat's cycle. *usually* it is at the middle of the cycle - 6 hours - sometimes it is later, though. Stormy's was always at +7 to +8.

So this is what your log should look like up to now:

PMPS 521 - gave 1u
+1
+2
+3
+4
+5
+6 = 317
+7
+8
+9
+10
+12

You fill in the bgl#s on the hour that they are taken. Got it? :-)

~M
 
You are doing great, David. And when you post the log, you don't have to add the blank hours.. it can just be:

PMPS 521 - gave 1u
+1
+2
+3
+4 - 317 (9pm to 1 am is 4 hours - I think Mary just made a typo)

I think it's likely that Spice's BG will go a bit lower tonight but not too much. The nadir on PZI is generally mid cycle ... some get a +4 nadir and others somewhere between +4 and +6 or +7... So, at another time, you'll want to get a few more of these +4 +5 +6 and +7 tests (not all in one day) to determine when the nadir is...


You've done really well.
 
We have been following this thread for 2 days, hoping the outcome would be good...Glad to hear the news, this Board is a lifesaver, has been for me in the past...Hugs all around... :YMHUG:
 
Thanks for the update! SOOOO glad you lowered the dose to 1 unit. You can get different timed tests for the BG to see where she peaks with the insulin (the lowest point). Then on your days off, you can test around those times to see how low she's going after the pre-shot. Great job!
 
Victoria & Sundance said:
You are doing great, David. And when you post the log, you don't have to add the blank hours.. it can just be:

PMPS 521 - gave 1u
+1
+2
+3
+4 - 317 (9pm to 1 am is 4 hours - I think Mary just made a typo)

I think it's likely that Spice's BG will go a bit lower tonight but not too much. The nadir on PZI is generally mid cycle ... some get a +4 nadir and others somewhere between +4 and +6 or +7... So, at another time, you'll want to get a few more of these +4 +5 +6 and +7 tests (not all in one day) to determine when the nadir is...


You've done really well.

You are right, Vic. I messed up the time. I saw 1AM as 3AM for some reason. I think that I was over tired...

~M
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top