Spice Update March 11- Negative Ketones

Status
Not open for further replies.

tajana340

Member Since 2010
Good News from the vet visit today. She is negative for ketones and glucose. Her body temp was 100, which means she is regulating her body temp. She did not have to stay at the vet today. It was a follow up. The vet wants to address the eating isuue. She prescribed prednisolone and hopefully she will start eating on her own. We have to continue the fluids under the skin, the antibiotic, and the amino B + K supplements. She was definitely meowing really loud at the vet office which she did not do on Mon or Tues. The Vet also did blood work but will not get the results until tomorrow.
She is doing much better today. She actually walked into the shower while i was in it. She has never done that before, it was cute. She has had 2 bowel movements today which I am relieved.

Just some input here on this;
Vet does not want Spice to have any insulin if her bg is 150 or below. Now I thought it was if the bg is 200 or below no insulin.
Any feedback or should I just follow the vets instructions on that.

What a week...

David
 
This is sounding very encouraging, David. Hurrah!

If I were you, I would get some data asap. I'd get some mid cycle tests. Once you get a handle on where she is and how the insulin is working, you may feel comfortable shooting a reduced dose at 150. For now, if you get a pre shot number below 200, you can wait 20-30 minutes and test again. If she goes to 200, then shoot.
 
Yay that is great news!!!!

Normally we say to start with 200 as your no shoot (for newbies), and then as you get some data lower that to 180, and then to 150. With the risk of ketones I would say use 150, but if you give insulin at that level, be sure to get some early cycle spot tests (like +2 and +4) to be sure she isn't headed too low. If she gets a little bit low a little bit early (like say 90 at a +2), you can usually give them some LC food and that will balance it out (save stuff like HC or Karo for really low #s).

If you already have some data on shots around 200 that is a help - then you can probably go ahead and shoot on something like a 180 with confidence, and then on a 150 be sure to collect data when you shoot, and/or you might want to reduce the dose just a hair (not by a lot though) and then collect data on that before giving the full dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top