Spazz help +2.5 50 +2.75 42 help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

michysweets

Member Since 2010
5 pm 309
7 pm 212
9 pm 221
11 pm308
1 am 339
3 am 388
5 am 347
7 am 249 fed ff Classic pate at 5 pm and 5 am shot 1 u of vetsulin
Should I go to two u or wait
He was diagnosed 4 days ago started on insulin last night
 
When did you give the first PM shot?
It is better to display the BG at PM PS (or AM PS) and then for BG after the shot by using the + as you did for the recent +4.
Based on the recent+4 BG a does increase is not in order at all
 
The first p.m. shot was last night at 5 PM that was his first insulin dose after being diagnosed we gave him one unit and he stayed in the 200s, his a.m. shot was at 5 AM and he's dropped to 97 at 9 o'clock which is his +4
 
I definitely would not increase his dose. You might want to check him again around +6 or +7 to see if his BG is still going down or if it's starting to rise. Vetsulin typically does not have the staying power of some of the other insulins, so it would not be surprising to see BG numbers rise anywhere from +8 and up, or sometimes even earlier. My kitty is the exception, he seems to get amazingly good duration from the Vetsulin, maybe yours will, too!
 
Here are our How to Handle A Hypo guidelines
Short version:
Get a low number
Give 1-2 teaspoons of gravy
Wait 20-30 minutes
Re-test
Repeat as needed.


FYI: gravy wears off quickly, so we want the numbers to get above 50 mg/dL and stay stable, even when you back off on the carbs.
 
Are you still giving him Karo? I would keep giving him a little Karo until his BG comes up a little higher. Do you have an emergency vet, or a vet with night time hours you can call, or take him to?
 
Do have an emergency vet talked and will still do Karo for an hour
His 3.5 is 47 he was given Karo and gravy again
 
I'll be watching, too.

Have you got enough test strips and lancets?


How many hours has it been since the shot?
 
It's been +3.75 since 1 u
Vetsulin
He is now 62 I'm gonna test in 15 to make sure it's a steady climb
Plenty strips and lancets using relion ultima
 
I can't help you set it up, I'm not much of a techie, but there are lots of others here who will be glad to lend a hand.
 
Good he's come up. Since high carb doesn't last long, please snag another test to confirm that it is either stable or rising.
 
When his BG stabilizes, I would suggest spot-checking him around the +5 to +7 mark, as Vetsulin can also bring on a later drop as well, although it is usually a softer one. At least, this has been my experience with my cat.
EDIT: +5 to +9, rather than +7
 
Let's give it an hour in case he tries to drop again with the 2nd part of the Vetsulin.
You can feed a couple teaspoons of regular low carb.
 
He's 419 amps .5 shot fed ff
+3 302
If you are able to, just do some spot-checking during the day, many kitties who have had a hypo event are more sensitive to insulin afterward. Given his low AM dose, though, it is less likely that he will have any problems today.

Hugs to you for being such a great kitty mom! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top