Sparks 11/28

Status
Not open for further replies.

Care4Sparks

Member
At 8:15am he was at 303 BG, so we admin'd 2.5u Prozinc insulin. [The vet 'prescribed' 4u 2x day but since his last bout of constipation we've been monitoring and admin'ing 2.5-3u]

He has eaten less today than usual (we were worried he might vomit) but has had 1/4 can chicken classic FF at:
5am, 8am, 1pm, 2pm, 6pm plus 1-2ml Lactulose stool softener (SS) and water each time, & 2500mg B12 at 1pm. [I'm sick and we napped together from 2-6 he seemed fine but I didn't want to feed him at 7pm, as he requested, for fear it might muck up the 8pm reading.]

Tonight, his BG PMPS reading is only 102. No shot.

We just gave him another 3/8 can FF, 2500b12, 1.5ml SS. I'd planned to give him 1/4-3/8 can each hour until midnight to get him up closer to 3 cans per day. He has not vomited at all today but he hasn't pooped yet either (since Sunday morning). I will keep feeding if he can keep it down.

His ketone reading hasn't shown anything concerning.

If he doesn't pass something he'll go back to the vet for an all-day "assist" - like Weds if he doesn't pass tomorrow? What do you think?

I am also open to any hairball remedies if you have suggestions... I haven't bought any yet. He hasn't had problems with hairballs in the past, but there was some hair in his BMs from the series of ennemas at the vet (along with clumping litter which is no longer a problem now we have Breeze boxes).
 
Hairballs.... I did a search for "hairball" on the board and found a couple of things

Here are some diabetic-friendly hairball treatments:
Vetbasis
NaturVet
Excel Sugar free hairball remedy
Pro-Pet Sugar-free Hairball Eliminator
Some people just use a little petroleum jelly (Vaseline) for their cat's hairballs.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=51535
I would keep an eye out for him straining to poop, which will cause vomiting too. Should be okay till Wednesday, but you'll know by watching him if he needs to go in sooner.

Good call on the no-shot tonight.
 
Here is a thread with lots of hairball remedies: viewtopic.php?p=176727

Not sure I would let it go till Wednesday without poop. You might call the vet tomorrow to see what he thinks about the constipation.

The other issues complicate the numbers you are getting. If you continue to get low preshots, it's a sign you need to reduce the dose.
 
Thanks for your quick responses!

I used button link at http://www.felinediabetes.com/pet-supplies.htm to support the site/community

EntirelyPets free shipping code today "CYBERPET" not sure what time it cuts off... so I quickly went with tubes of the NaturPet Hairball remedy. Done and done.

I hope it works!

Meanwhile, if he seems distressed I'll bring him in regardless of the day and if no poops tomorrow then back on Weds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top