Care4Sparks
Member Since 2011
At 8:15am he was at 303 BG, so we admin'd 2.5u Prozinc insulin. [The vet 'prescribed' 4u 2x day but since his last bout of constipation we've been monitoring and admin'ing 2.5-3u]
He has eaten less today than usual (we were worried he might vomit) but has had 1/4 can chicken classic FF at:
5am, 8am, 1pm, 2pm, 6pm plus 1-2ml Lactulose stool softener (SS) and water each time, & 2500mg B12 at 1pm. [I'm sick and we napped together from 2-6 he seemed fine but I didn't want to feed him at 7pm, as he requested, for fear it might muck up the 8pm reading.]
Tonight, his BG PMPS reading is only 102. No shot.
We just gave him another 3/8 can FF, 2500b12, 1.5ml SS. I'd planned to give him 1/4-3/8 can each hour until midnight to get him up closer to 3 cans per day. He has not vomited at all today but he hasn't pooped yet either (since Sunday morning). I will keep feeding if he can keep it down.
His ketone reading hasn't shown anything concerning.
If he doesn't pass something he'll go back to the vet for an all-day "assist" - like Weds if he doesn't pass tomorrow? What do you think?
I am also open to any hairball remedies if you have suggestions... I haven't bought any yet. He hasn't had problems with hairballs in the past, but there was some hair in his BMs from the series of ennemas at the vet (along with clumping litter which is no longer a problem now we have Breeze boxes).
He has eaten less today than usual (we were worried he might vomit) but has had 1/4 can chicken classic FF at:
5am, 8am, 1pm, 2pm, 6pm plus 1-2ml Lactulose stool softener (SS) and water each time, & 2500mg B12 at 1pm. [I'm sick and we napped together from 2-6 he seemed fine but I didn't want to feed him at 7pm, as he requested, for fear it might muck up the 8pm reading.]
Tonight, his BG PMPS reading is only 102. No shot.
We just gave him another 3/8 can FF, 2500b12, 1.5ml SS. I'd planned to give him 1/4-3/8 can each hour until midnight to get him up closer to 3 cans per day. He has not vomited at all today but he hasn't pooped yet either (since Sunday morning). I will keep feeding if he can keep it down.
His ketone reading hasn't shown anything concerning.
If he doesn't pass something he'll go back to the vet for an all-day "assist" - like Weds if he doesn't pass tomorrow? What do you think?
I am also open to any hairball remedies if you have suggestions... I haven't bought any yet. He hasn't had problems with hairballs in the past, but there was some hair in his BMs from the series of ennemas at the vet (along with clumping litter which is no longer a problem now we have Breeze boxes).