Spanky Spreadsheet: advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Val9955

Member Since 2011
I finally got Spankys' spreadsheet uploaded. I'm afraid I increases his insulin too quickly. Any advice is appreciated. Also, I think Spanky is having an anal gland issue. Every time he poos, its loose, but he seems to have rank smellling stuff that he leaves behind every time he sits down. Any thoughts or exp on butt-butt issues? This web site has renewed my faith in people. So many issues in life, its so nice to see there are people who care.
 
Val9955 said:
I finally got Spankys' spreadsheet uploaded. I'm afraid I increases his insulin too quickly. Any advice is appreciated.

What insulin are you using? It would greatly help if you could rename your SS from "Spankys' SS : Numbers" to something like "Spanky's numbers on PZI insulin" :smile:

Also, I think Spanky is having an anal gland issue. Every time he poos, its loose, but he seems to have rank smellling stuff that he leaves behind every time he sits down. Any thoughts or exp on butt-butt issues?

The anal glands probably need to be expressed. One of my civies has anal gland issues too ohmygod_smile His glands aren't blocked, just produces a ton of stinky stuff :shock: A groomer or the vet can express the glands for you and show you how to do it at home yourself.
 
He is on Prozinc. I updated his spreadsheet with the insulin name. Calling vet to see if I can get him in to have his anal glands expressed.
 
post on the PZI board! people who know that insulin in and out will be able to give you some great advice. From taking a quick peak it looks good. You're getting green nadirs, but not scary low and he isn't shooting up or bouncing really high between shots. Keep the dose stable for a few days and keep getting nadirs and hopefully a pattern will emerge, but so far so good!
 
Spanky is currently +9 with a BG=99. He is begging for food. If I feed him early, how do I adjust his shot? With him at 99, I don't know if I should give him his insulin now, but afraid he will go hypo, or do I feed him and test at +12 from the morning dose, then give his shot? Any advice is appreciated.
 
Val9955 said:
Spanky is currently +9 with a BG=99. He is begging for food. If I feed him early, how do I adjust his shot? With him at 99, I don't know if I should give him his insulin now, but afraid he will go hypo, or do I feed him and test at +12 from the morning dose, then give his shot? Any advice is appreciated.

Don't shoot insulin unless he is above 150 and BG is rising!! food will make it rise, so make sure he is 150 and rising not because of food! Best bet is to skip the shot if he doesn't go up!!!

I would feed him and check him shortly after eating, and then in a few hours if the number continues to rise give insulin, if it stays the same or goes down don't!
 
Val9955 said:
Spanky is currently +9 with a BG=99. He is begging for food. If I feed him early, how do I adjust his shot? With him at 99, I don't know if I should give him his insulin now, but afraid he will go hypo, or do I feed him and test at +12 from the morning dose, then give his shot? Any advice is appreciated.

For future reference.... we usually advise not to feed after +10 so that the food isn't messing up the +12 pre-shot number. You could have fed him a small meal/snack at +9, but you wouldn't want to give him his "normal" shot time meal. Asking kitty to wait for 3 hours when he's acting hungry is a hard sell. Next time, just feed him a small portion at +9, then test at +12.
 
Thank you for the advice. And I now see giving him a snack would have made more since bc I'm still debating on weather or not to give Spanky an injection tonight. I was so hoping to get him regulated before this weekend. My husband and I are going out of town, so Spanky will be in my mothers hands. Tomorrow I am teaching her how to test Spankys BG and give injections. This message board is awesome! I will have to give my mom my sign in infor for this board too, just in case Spanky has any issues. I'm so thankful for all of you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top