donnahc
Very Active Member
Morning kids:
I usually try to be real positive. It gets me thru a lot. But things are bad for me this morning so the disclaimer is this prob won’t be a real positive post. I am so frustrated that things are not going well here. Asher’s numbers are terrible (in my estimation), and life is crazy otherwise here. It’s a “stop the world, I wanna get off” kinda day.
Asher was doing good at night but still had the F*&^ing 300s preshoots. Then last week I needed new insulin and the vet made me promise to hold Asher at 2.5 for 3 days. He also told me I could kill my cat using U100 syringes, which is not the “discussion” I needed that day, but I will chalk it up to a bad day for our vet, since he has been good otherwise.
We held a bit longer than 3 days, nights were good, days sucked. I raised to 3units and things got worse so I backed down to 2.8 at day and 2.6 at night.
Numbers seem to be rising on that. Last night I had a 300 at +5 and then today I get this 400 at amps. I tested twice, 399 and 405. I shot 3 because I was making myself crazy trying to decide what to do. That might have been dumb because the last two times I raised him to 3 he had terrible numbers. But I only shot 3 once, then backed down, so maybe I have to hold 3u? And he drank from his water bowl this morning and he never does that since I put water in both cats food and have done so for years now.
I have not a clue if I should raise or lower. I have given this 4 months since the dental/freestyle meter nightmare and Asher is still not regulated. He was close, then from my perspective all went to hell again. You’d think after a year and 4 months we might have a clue as to what his dose might be. My white flag is in the air.
So do I raise and hold? Do I go back to a different sliding scale and deal with the vet telling me I am doing it wrong and to hold the dose? Do I lower and hold (which scares the crap outta me since he was 400 again today)?
Any opinions are welcome. SS is current as of this morning. I’ll be here drinking coffee and biting my nails. nailbite_smile

I usually try to be real positive. It gets me thru a lot. But things are bad for me this morning so the disclaimer is this prob won’t be a real positive post. I am so frustrated that things are not going well here. Asher’s numbers are terrible (in my estimation), and life is crazy otherwise here. It’s a “stop the world, I wanna get off” kinda day.
Asher was doing good at night but still had the F*&^ing 300s preshoots. Then last week I needed new insulin and the vet made me promise to hold Asher at 2.5 for 3 days. He also told me I could kill my cat using U100 syringes, which is not the “discussion” I needed that day, but I will chalk it up to a bad day for our vet, since he has been good otherwise.
We held a bit longer than 3 days, nights were good, days sucked. I raised to 3units and things got worse so I backed down to 2.8 at day and 2.6 at night.
Numbers seem to be rising on that. Last night I had a 300 at +5 and then today I get this 400 at amps. I tested twice, 399 and 405. I shot 3 because I was making myself crazy trying to decide what to do. That might have been dumb because the last two times I raised him to 3 he had terrible numbers. But I only shot 3 once, then backed down, so maybe I have to hold 3u? And he drank from his water bowl this morning and he never does that since I put water in both cats food and have done so for years now.
I have not a clue if I should raise or lower. I have given this 4 months since the dental/freestyle meter nightmare and Asher is still not regulated. He was close, then from my perspective all went to hell again. You’d think after a year and 4 months we might have a clue as to what his dose might be. My white flag is in the air.
So do I raise and hold? Do I go back to a different sliding scale and deal with the vet telling me I am doing it wrong and to hold the dose? Do I lower and hold (which scares the crap outta me since he was 400 again today)?
Any opinions are welcome. SS is current as of this morning. I’ll be here drinking coffee and biting my nails. nailbite_smile