sos.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Morning kids: ~O)
I usually try to be real positive. It gets me thru a lot. But things are bad for me this morning so the disclaimer is this prob won’t be a real positive post. I am so frustrated that things are not going well here. Asher’s numbers are terrible (in my estimation), and life is crazy otherwise here. It’s a “stop the world, I wanna get off” kinda day.

Asher was doing good at night but still had the F*&^ing 300s preshoots. Then last week I needed new insulin and the vet made me promise to hold Asher at 2.5 for 3 days. He also told me I could kill my cat using U100 syringes, which is not the “discussion” I needed that day, but I will chalk it up to a bad day for our vet, since he has been good otherwise.
We held a bit longer than 3 days, nights were good, days sucked. I raised to 3units and things got worse so I backed down to 2.8 at day and 2.6 at night.

Numbers seem to be rising on that. Last night I had a 300 at +5 and then today I get this 400 at amps. I tested twice, 399 and 405. I shot 3 because I was making myself crazy trying to decide what to do. That might have been dumb because the last two times I raised him to 3 he had terrible numbers. But I only shot 3 once, then backed down, so maybe I have to hold 3u? And he drank from his water bowl this morning and he never does that since I put water in both cats food and have done so for years now.

I have not a clue if I should raise or lower. I have given this 4 months since the dental/freestyle meter nightmare and Asher is still not regulated. He was close, then from my perspective all went to hell again. You’d think after a year and 4 months we might have a clue as to what his dose might be. My white flag is in the air.

So do I raise and hold? Do I go back to a different sliding scale and deal with the vet telling me I am doing it wrong and to hold the dose? Do I lower and hold (which scares the crap outta me since he was 400 again today)?

Any opinions are welcome. SS is current as of this morning. I’ll be here drinking coffee and biting my nails. nailbite_smile
 
Hang in there!

I can't really advise on dosing, since I can't view ss's on my phone. But I couldn't not comment, either. You'll figure it out. I know how frustrating it is, but you're not alone.
 
Since your SS indicates you have already shot 3 Units this morning......then, I am going to give you some support and say, I would shoot 3 Units!

Truly, you tried the lower doses and it appeared you needed more, so I can't imagine that you need to be decreasing now. The one thing I am certain of is I would not worry about appeasing the vet. Do what you think is right--you understand FD and Alex. Your vet cannot have a more complete picture of Alex's situation than you do.....Follow Your Gut...and Tom's!

I know you don't like the numbers, but they really are not bad! The Freestyle spoiled You!

Have A Great Day in Dutch Ghetto!
 
G'morning Donna -

I haven't been in the trenches as long as you, but I'm right with you on the numbers, and not being "regulated". We've been low low low, we've been hi hi hi, and then we did the reboot - only to find him doing about the same 25% range of drop on 0, 2, 3 and 6 units. What's wrong w/ THAT picture???

Was doing so good at 2 units I got over-confident. Then I tried the last reduction to 1.5 and suddenly saw red again. I kicked myself! So I went back up. Now I'm fluctuating again, just like you. This is such an ever-elusive search for the right number... but on looking over some old posts last night, I found what I told Ellen I'd re-post (unfortunately I don't have Carl's memory to retrieve info - I had to actually READ!!!). These are some of the variables that come into play w/ kitty's BG levels - remember, we only control a couple of the variables: Here it is:

From Dr. Lisa: "(Lori - I am hoping that the last statement will take pressure off of you - not add to it. Copper's body is in charge and we are just along for the ride...doing the best that we can with the ability to affect only a few pieces of the puzzle....ie....diet, insulin, constipation, body weight - in the case of an overweight cat.)

Serum glucose, at any single time point during the glucose curve, represents the sum effects in the *rate* and *amount* and *timing* of:

* Exogenous insulin absorption

* Endogenous insulin production

* Intracellular uptake of exogenous and endogenous insulin

* Insulin degradation and elimination - different for exogenous vs endogenous

* Intestinal glucose absorption

* Endogenous glucose production

* Tissue glucose uptake and utilization

and then throw in the amount of exogenous insulin....excess body fat....inflammation....subclinical infection....etc...etc....


So, don't feel bad that you haven't found the magic number as of yet. We are not as much in control of them as we feel like we need to be!

Lu
 
I wish I had a brilliant idea, Donna. Your 2.6 did look good just a few days ago. We can see what your 3 does today. He has always seemed to do that Asher thing of reacting well at first to a dose, then not so good. He seems to have done better holding the dose so I would be reluctant to try a scale, but it is certainly a possibility.

Nothing else going on? No possibly of infections - urinary or teeth? Same food/same amounts?

I know we have talked about considering a new insulin. Are you contemplating that?
 
No infections that show any symptoms. No change in foods or feeding.

Our vet says he reserves Lantus for cats that won't regulate on PZI. There has been no other discussion than that, he said sometimes it take a long time to get them regulated. Uhhhh, yeah.

So I don t know what to do, I just know I can't keep him in these high numbers. I probably have to increase and hold. Just can't explain why he was going low at night and we had to reduce and got decent numbers not that long ago on 2.6 and 2.8.

Frustrated beyond words today. Went back to bed with the kitties for awhile. Not that cleaning and packing for work next week aren't waiting for me here :YMSIGH: @-)
 
Donna, I SO understand - I was about to post an almost identical post about Linus. Hang in there is about all I can say. And going back to bed with the kitties sounds like a good idea. Trust me, the cleaning will still be there when you feel like doing it.
 
Not good. +7 is 370. 3 units only dropped him 30 points in 7 hours. Ugh.
So maybe we’re back to 3.2 like signature says......
 
Give it time. Sneakers would do that... think of it as poker.

The cards are dealt and currently you two are going back and forth, Asher raising by throwing out a large number and you call (with the insulin) and later you get to see the cards... did you win or did the furkid?

Then it starts all over again in 12 hours.

We need a cat playing picture instead of the dog ones.
 
You got it...
 

Attachments

  • cats.jpg
    cats.jpg
    22.1 KB · Views: 586
  • normal_cats_playing_poker.png
    normal_cats_playing_poker.png
    92.8 KB · Views: 593
Hi Donna!

I'm looking at 4/23 PMPS, and 2.6 looked good to me. The next morning, 2.8 made for a long cycle. I think the AMPS number was a reaction to the green the night before. I am wondering what would have happened if you had stuck with 2.6 or maybe even less that day. If it was a bounce, would it have cleared with a lower dose?
The next night, 2.6 worked. Didn't force him low, but he next AMPS was yellow.

I'm going to think "inside the box" and say go with 2.6 for a week, no matter what the numbers are, unless you see green that causes a bounce the next day. In that case, I'd reduce again. See what he'll do by taking bounces out of the picture?

Carl
 
We had a 290 something for pmps so I shot 2.6u. If his preshoot is okay tomorrow we’ll continue with the 2.6 and see if Carl is onto something. I always think “more insulin” but that may not be the case here. Tired and confused. Story of my life.

Thanks for letting me vent. Some days are more frustrating than others.....
 
Donna, that's why we have eyes and ears....to see and "hear" each other vent.

I hate it when this is as hard (or harder) on the beans than it is on the sugars...

:YMHUG:

Carl
 
Donna,
I so understand about not knowing whether to increase or decrease. We've been at this for about a year and sometimes, I feel like I haven't learned a thing.

Hang in there!
 
Careful what you ask for. Shot 2.6 into 294 tonight. We are at 111 at +4.5 now @-)
No sleep for me! But he's not 400 either, so I'll take it!
 
I would just test in 30 and see what Asher has in mind
 
Yeah I just went downstairs and brought up our secret weapon the gravy lovers food, just in case.....
 
You know this is so universal with many of us - this frustration. I'm currently trying to figure out how LOW is really DANGEROUS because I am so scared of a possible hypo the minute Robbie is in the blues I stress out (as much as I do at the Reds really) and than there I am with a snack or feeling less restrictive when he gets his nighttime snack and than I wake up to 418 (I KNOW last night I gave him a bigger snack than I should have). When I think about myself as a diabetic I have to remember that a swift walk around the block brings my numbers way down - a piece of birthday cake pops it WAY up. The food/the insulin/the activity and than that list of unintelligible things Lu posted are all messin' with us.
Hang in there and thank you for sharing this maybe I don't sound like the only totally strung out person around here today. :oops:
 
I think we're all feeling it today. Not a full moon... but something! Too many pancakes!

Tomorrow - eggs! Scrambled (like our brains)! No carbs - no toast, no bagels, no pancakes, no waffles, no French toast. Eggs. Sunny side up is okay too!

Here's to a new day, and a new cycle - hopefully w/ better numbers!
 
+ 5 is 96. I fed the tiniest fork of food so I can get some snooze in tonight. Alarm is set, we have been thru this many many times so no worrying kids. I'll be testing often. Asher is psyched that it might be a gravy lovers nite :lol:
One extreme to the next .....
 
Didn't realize others posted before I just did. I only give plain chicken as a night time treat and he usually asks for it between 2 and 3am.

I usually test around + 4-6 before I go to bed to know if I will sleep that night or not. If he's around 130 or less by +4.5 I know I am gonna have to test and possibly feed some wet food.

My lower numbers routine is I test twice without food, then if I need to sleep some ( like an hour at a time) I feed the tiny fork full of gravy lovers and retest in an hour. Once he comes up above 100 after food and its past +7.5 or so I can sleep for realz.

Don't know if anyone else should follow this but it seems to work for us.......
 
Donna
What, me worry? Alby is saying "way to go Ash! TOnight we get the yummy's! High fives!"
Yes, this is stressful stuff. But Less stressful the more often you see it, and least stressful to the few of us who are not dealing with it at home currently. Alarm is set so your good to go Donna ?
 
Yep I set it ahead of time for 11, 12, 1, 2. If he comes up enough, I nuke the later alarms. He will prob get one more bite of gravy lovers at 11 is my bet. Then I prob won't have to feed anymore , but I will be testing to know.

Thanks for asking, we r good to go. And yes, Asher and Alby are high 5-ing about the extra treats tonight. This was prob in their plan all along :mrgreen: :lol:
 
Don't have any sage wisdom to share, but been watching this story unfold. Maybe Asher knew you needed extra encouragement today and thought low numbers would do it for you :-D

Wishing you a peaceful night -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Overnight update: @-) ~O) @-) ~O)
We fed the drop last night but I was still up until after 2am with the gray boy. Lowest I let him go was high 80s but that was still enough to bounce us this morning. 350 something amps, so I shot 2.6 again. I have to take my Mom to some doc apps today so I'll leave some food out for him, but my guess is he will be high on bounce all day. He is sleeping at my side now
I-)
Thanks again for everyone's ear yesterday. Hopefully my neurosis can be helpful to someone else out there :shock: :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top