SOS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erin Lewis and Boops

Member Since 2015
Please help me understand what is going on with my little guy. I am thinking we need more insulin because we have been in black numbers for so long. I am losing hope. I am wondering if we should just switch back to the Novolin-N. It doesn't help that we are going out of town this weekend for the first time and I am afraid to change his dose without us being here. I feel totally helpless and out of control.
 
Hi, I'm real new here, and I wish I could help you with some answers! I know how you're feeling (a little), it's so overwhelming and totally frustrating, we seem to just make our way through the darkness. But at least you've posted here, we found this board, and I sure hope someone helps you out! Good luck!
 
Sorry I wasn't able to respond to you last night. I know how hard it is to not know what direction to go. Let me look again at his ss and i'll be right back.
 
I really think his teeth issues are probably playing a part in these crazy high numbers. You said he's due for a dental and in the past he's needed work done every year. Diabetic cats often have bad teeth, so if he had bad teeth before he became diabetic, i'm going to think a dental is probably needed. I would get that scheduled asap.

I think he needs a dose increase as well. I'd go back to 0.5u and see if that helps. The trouble, as you know is that we don't have that much information to be certain those highs aren't bouncing numbers, but it looks like the control was lost and the green numbers gone with the reduction to 0.1u. But when a cat gets into the 30's on 0.25u, 0.1u is the next step, so . . . .

It's common to have to go up and down in dose.

My concern is that you've got evidence that he can go from HI at preshot to 40's 4 hours later (i'm looking at 3/27).

If he were mine, I'd do the increase, but I'd make sure there was food available for him while I was at work and I'd make every effort to try to get more day tests in whenever possible. Do you have a timed feeder yet?

I'd also be testing for ketones twice a day while I was still seeing these high numbers.

When do you leave for the weekend?
 
I've decided to go to vet for urinalysis to check for UTI and ketones. We leave tomorrow afternoon. I'll report back. I've been feeding 3x daily now and he is doing a nice job free ranging.
 
Teeth or a UTI may be a factor but I don't think you'd be seeing some of those blue and yellow numbers if an infection or inflammation was present. I agree with Julie -- I think more insulin is needed. Getting the dental done may help.
 
OK. Just returned from the vet. NO ketones and NO UTI. Just plenty of glucose in urine. I feel so much better knowing that. We are going to increase to .5U. I am kind of nervous about doing this while we are away, but he is getting an extra can of food that he wasn't getting the last time he was on .5U. What do you think? Wait until we return from our trip? Go ahead? @julie & punkin (ga)
 
Do you have a timed feeder yet?
dental is probably needed. I would get that scheduled asap.

The reason I'm asking about the timed feeder is to try to figure out what your plans are for him to eat while you are at work and while you are on vacation. The plus of having a timed feeder is that you can ensure that the food is eaten when you want it to be eaten, not as soon as you leave. If you don't have one, the PetSafe 5 compartment is nice because you have 4 covered compartments and you can schedule them to open whenever you want.

Did you schedule a dental?

@Sienne and Gabby has a lot more experience with vacation doses/plans than me. I'd like her input on when to increase and what to do for a dose while you're gone. So you leave Friday afternoon. When will you be back?
 
Won't be back until late Sunday night. We haven't gotten a timed feeder. Not honestly sure how that will work with him. He is so picky with food being a certain temperature and I'm afraid it will scare him. I'm having him being fed at 6 am with morning shot, 6 pm with afternoon shot, and then a late night bedtime feeding. That's the best I can work out and help with making the injections easier for his caretakers.
 
He has gotten better at grazing now that he is getting more food. He doesn't feel the need to gorge as much. He's been a little off his food today, which always bothers me. But, I have to remember that he had a vet visit, which always throws him.
 
Some of the worst zig-zag cycles i've seen have been in cats that needed a dental. There are cats that just do that, but the ones that need dentals - it seems like there's a connection.

Just trying to think of a way that he has food available in case his blood sugar goes low. Most people feed their cat a minimum of 4 times a day. If a cat grazes, that can substitute.

Mary's suggestion about catsicles is a good one. Although you said he's picky about the temperature of his food. I think it's important for you to figure out some way that he can eat between his shots - if you think he'll graze, that's fine. If you don't think that'll work then you need a plan B. Catsicles are formed by mixing regular cat food with some water, then freezing it in either muffin tins or ice cube trays. Smaller units thaw faster, larger ones are slower. Cats then eat the thawed part as they want.

You don't have a lot of time to figure this out before tomorrow afternoon, but I think it's worth you spending some time on to protect him.

If you don't hear from Sienne about the dose . . . i suppose I would wait to increase until you get back. But I'd like to hear her thoughts if she sees this in time. @Wendy&Neko doesn't travel as much as Sienne, but perhaps she has an idea about it too.
 
Vet actually suggested .4U. I really feel like he will be ok with the feeding. My neighbor across the street is also helping do feedings, and I'm sure she could pop in on him to make sure he's ok maybe around noon.
 
The trouble with relying on "looking" is that a cat on lantus or Lev won't show hypo symptoms until their blood sugar is seriously low and then they may have seizures. I'd have her give him food if that's a possibility.
 
Your vet may think it can wait, however dental x-rays will show if the teeth have any underlying root issues, plus getting it done now may help with the glucose control, whether your vet thinks so or not.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top