Sorry to Post another thread but I am at a loss

Status
Not open for further replies.

jettcat

Member Since 2013
Is it possible that the combined weight loss and the high and low low could have been too much for my guy, he keeps attempting to climb behind the toilet and hide, but lets out a sad mrow when he does, his BG was 215 at seven, i tested early cause he has bee lethargic, or is this a normal state of being. I have this horrible feeling hes just givenn up. What is normal behavior for an 18 year old cat after such an episode. Afraid to sleep.
I force fed him some broth and water, refuses everything, even on lists, i swear he is losing weight before my eyes. He just barfed nothing.
 
Inability or refusal to eat / keep food down may lead to diabetic ketoacidosis and/or hepatic lipidosis very quickly.

The glucose level looks OK.
The vomiting could be pancreatitis or something else.

You might see if you can get him to play a bit; it may perk up his appetite some.
 
215 isn't that bad.. As a newbie we wouldn't be encouraging you to give insulin under 200 anyway.

Is he making lip smacking noises and /or sniffing the food before turning away or no interest at all? The former could mean nausea.

My Tiggy has a hypo one time and wouldn't eat for a couple of days. I tried enticing for two days and then the vet gave me an appetite stimulant and anti nausea med. if he isn't eating tomorrow I would call the vet and ask about those, as well as pancreatitis.

Just checking though the broth doesn't have onions in it?

He could also be a bit annoyed with the syringe feeding and picking up on your stress so make sure you spend time talking and sitting with him but no poke or pressuring him to eat, just nice things like stroking and being with him if he wants it. Try and behave as normal as possible with him and take normal breaths...

Wendy
 
He refuses to sit with me, which is odd....
He just looks at me like im stupid when i put food in front of him, he is walking around right now....i dimmed the lights....maybe he is tired of me sticking him. Although id say im doing pretty good for 16 hrs experience with the lancets and monitor

Wont let me wipe face, just seems depressed and peeved.

He is just so very fragile, and even though hes always been 7 or 8 lbs, he always had such a tude. :evil: my little demon cat.
 
I would take him to the vet today. I think if I remember right that you said you have an appointment on Friday?
Anyway, he needs to eat. Cats can not go a long time without eating. Maybe he is dehydrated and the vet will give him some fluids. Maybe he has pancreatitis and the best test for that is the Spec fPL which needs to be a fasting test, so you can order that test done now. You should probably ask about a full bloodwork. Ask the vet if they sell IAMS Maximum Calorie and ask him for some food syringes. Here is a highly recommended video on syringe feeding: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6o17wH6ujk
I hope Loki is feeling better today, and starts to nibble on his own.
 
Do you have pain meds on hand? Sounds like he's miserable. If you have any bupe from the vet, I would certainly use it. Also, depending upon how much you want to put him through, it does sound like something is going on and a vet visit is in order. If nothing else, for pain meds.
Sending healing thoughts.
 
I am waiting for the fill in vet to call, seriously always happens, how do you tell if thier in pain?

i am waiting for him to call for hunger stimulants, i will ask about pain killer.

so frustrated, took him to regular vet after er and he just looked at him and told me to monitor, BG 275 8:15 am
 
When they want to be isolated, when they don't want to eat....when they howl mournfully...any of these signs are often signs of pain...all three together..
almost certainly.
I hope your vet is able to see you and the little fellow is feeling better soon.
 
Bg 281 no insulin, just shoved some gerber down him.How long should i wait for retest, stand in vet a jerk.... should i contact anew vet...Know any in tigard area?
 
Vet Interview Topics in my signature link may help you rule in or out candidate vets, should you decide to go looking for a different practice.
 
Got back from new vet and er. The new doctor has Loki on fluids and is less concerned about BG and more that those slightly elevated Liver levels have apparently risen twice tuesdays levels.She is more concerned about that than the BG right now. Pancreas fPL snap test is good. He has to stay over night again too have fluids flush him again.

Im worried about cancer. Has anyone else had these issues. ? Cross your fingers for me, i know hes 18 years, but the new vets are really concerned about how he will do because he is so bony.
 
Jett,
IV fluids in the hospital is the best thing for him right now.

Katie had high liver enzymes & pancreatitis shortly after her diabetes diagnosis. If fact months before her diabetes diagnosis, she had elevated liver enyzmes and the vet had said she had hepatic lipidosis. The fatty liver diagnosis made no sense since she was still eating fine and there was really no reason for it. She was treated for it and just recovered, liver enzymes & ultrasound back to normal, and bam! the diabetes showed up. It was all interconnected somehow.

The pancreatitis showed up (with elevated liver enzymes again). Pancreatitis tests I found aren't 100%, Katie had several, two within a couple days of each other during a particularly bad spell, by different vets and one was neg and one was positive. And that's just part of the story...She has been through a lot since she this all started 11/2 years ago.

The pancreas and liver are closely connected and a pancreatic episode can elevate the liver readings. It could also be because Loki hasn't eaten and is beginning to get a fatty liver.
I guess what I am saying is don't give hope. A year ago I didn't think Katie was going to recover, but she did, and she's still here and still kicking butt!
 
Wishing The Best for Loki.
The elevated liver values may be because he hasn't been eating. I hope he feels a lot better after the fluids and the vet stay and will start eating for you. I would ask the vet for the feeding syringes so you can assist feed him if needed once he's home.
 
Hope Loki gets to come home soon. You could learn to give the fluids at home. It's really easy. I had to do this with a couple of cats and the hardest part was getting them to sit still.
 
Not all clear, but we now know its not cancer. I wanna kick the crud outta my initial vet.

Apparently when i asked about Keytones, and my vet told me that no he just had non-complicated Diabetes he was just guessing. The new vet and the specialist looking over his tests very uncomfortably told me they had no evidence he had run any confirming tests other than the cbc.

So after an ultrasound, xrays and a maxed out credit card, we have determined his potassium was through the floor, he has Acidosis, but the good news is he looks great inside. The specialist was skeptical i believe about the level of spoiled my boys receive, and was much kinder when she started looking inside. No damage to kidneys , and all other organs look really good.

We argued a bit about the dose of insulin to start with, probably me being paranoid, but i think i have the right, So tonight he started .5unit of Lantus while they are replenishing Potassium and filling him full of fluids to clear up the acidosis.

I am so relieved. Now i have to study the Lantus procedure.

On price. the northwest compunders have the pen things for 78 dollars and are willing to sell them one at a time. I do not know if this is a good deal or if they ship, but I thought i would see what you had to say.

Thank you so much for the advice and help....Also i have an entire box of 40 u needles if anyone wants them, I dont know if i can ship them? Let me know. Or know where to post them.
 
So glad you caught the ketones in time! Wow...the broth and food you were forcing probably saved Jett's life, as did the overnight with fluids at the vet. What a close call. Glad you are on Lantus and getting him started on the protocol!
 
You can put a post in the Supply Closet forum for those U-40 needles. Ask people to PM you if they are interested in them.
 
So Loki hypo'd on the 1/2 unit of lantus......

He is Home now, and I am giving him Antibiotics, Potasssium, and monitoring his BG every 4 times a day.

Vet say he might be pre-diabetic, or not diabetic?
Everything looks good on xray and ultrasound.

Is it possible for him to just run a GB at around 250- 300 normally? She thinks it might be infection. Thoughts?
 
Infection can cause elevated BG like that. Also even mild stress (especially going to the vet)
can elevate BG temporarily. That's why it's good to also measure at home in a relaxed setting.
Could be your kitty is not diabetic at all and just has an infection like the vet said.
Also from what I understand, after a major hypo event they can become extremely sensitive to
insulin so it could be that as well.
What does your vet recommend?
 
Ok he had a hypo at 0.5IU but is sitting at 250-300 right? So I have a few thoughts.

Normal cats are 40-130 or so we want him lower

He could be high because

- of infection - the antiobiotics should clear that and his blood sugar drop soon if thats the case
- of food -you are feeding blue buffalo wet right? I think those are too high in carbs so you should consider changing to a lower carb like the fancy feast classic pates, friskies pates or wellness grain free
- or he could be a microdose cat - my Bailey will hypo on 0.5 but he is too high without any so he gets 0.1 twice a day

I would work on the food and infection right now and see how that goes for a week or so. And keep testing!

Wendy
 
Currently giving antibiotics.....BG testing at home.....and Potassium supplements....

he seems better, or hes just happy to be home. He has cuddled, is walking better, and attempted to start a fight with my big boy who probably outweighs him by 3x by now! he is fighting me on meds and ear pokes, so i take all of this as improvement!

Honestly terrified of giving any more insuline, but hes still maintaining high 200"s.... though Keytone strips showed only trace amounts today!

Switched to tiki cat chicken and egg.... it fits profile for both cats issues..... is that okay? It has chicken egg and broth... and cat nutrients
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top