sorry but.....help!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anyname

Member Since 2010
76 @ PMPS after modest numbers all day. This subject is so confusing. Last night I reduced his dose for just last nite (.75 from 1unit). Maybe do the same tonight? I've only got 45 mins until it's +1. He's quite low and had raw chicken at +11 - but I tried some new cat food after PMPS. tuna and chicken in jelly. He loved it. I'VE NEVER MISSED DOSING HIM. Do I do a small dose late?
 
Hi there-

Just want to make sure I'm up to speed...you did or did not shoot? I'm reading your post as the 76 was PMBG and then you fed, but didn't shoot? Is that right? Will you be able to monitor for a while? If you get a low pre-shot number, generally you want to stall, meaning wait a little bit and test again to see if the numbers are coming up to a shootable BG on their own. If you give food, you will most likely get a bump in the BG, but it will be food related and then you may be in danger once the effect of the food wears off. How long ago was the 76? Can you test again?

s
 
I'm not familiar with you cat but a few questions might help to make the decision.

1. Are you able to test during the cycle or do you need to shoot and leave him alone?
2. When you say you fed a new food, does that mean he has already eaten (since the chicken at +11, so he ate catfood at +12 PMPS?)

The general guidelines are when you have lower than "normal" preshot you withold feeding and continue to test every 15-30 minutes, the idea is to have numbers that are not influenced by food. When you see that the numbers are going up you know that the previous dose is wearing off and it's safe to give a shot (Lantus doesn't start working for several hours so by then the number will likely have risen much more plus after the shot you can feed the cat and this will raise the BG giving the insulin something to go to work on). When you have verified rising numbers depending on how much and how fast they rise plus your "experience" and comfort level (if you are home to monitor or need to be away and leave the cat alone) you make the decision on what dose to give (either full dose, reduced dose, or skipping all together) after deciding on the dose you decide what food and how much to give (a potential drop can be slowed by feeding a higher carb meal before onset)
 
Yes I tested before it was his shot time. 76.
I didnt' shoot. Still haven't.
It's 1 hour past that time now. I aslo fed him a little @ +11 as I had been out till late. Usually I feed him 2 hrs before PMPS.
His number should have come up from small +11 feed. He was 99 @ +11. But he dropped to 76 even after snack of chicken breast.
I gave new food because I didn't know to withhold in this situation -he was asking for food.
I will test again and see what he's doing. I will be home but this is our night time - I've done a 40K bike ride today and I'm done in (I'm 57!). @-)
 
Monique, thanx for your advice. I know this is crazy but I really didn't know to withhold food @ low pre shot numbers until numbers come up. I am fairly sure the food was low carb but it may have had sugar in the jelly. I also thought his numbers might go lower without food. They went lower with food after +11. I really do read and read and read here - but it takes me so long to catch on to things.

Thanks for help - much appreciated. It's not the end of the program if I stuff this up tonight. I will return to program tomorrow. Thanks again.
 
It's ok....test again and see where he's going (up, down, sideways :lol: ) you reduced last night so I expect he will rise (shed is smaller) so if you see a good rise and you can possibly set an alarm to get up and test 1-2 times I would think the regular dose would be ok. You can always use some HC food to control the numbers.

A 40K bike ride! WOW impressive, I would dead too. It's mid morning here so my day is just getting started but I guess you are ahead of me (I'm on CET so UTC+1)
 
I'm not sure that I'm up to setting the alarm. I feel like I'm abandoning my child! He's actually pretty good about waking us up when he's desperate. When I look back over his pattern I'm pretty sure he's gone very low at night and we didn't know. But he's woken us desperate for food at times like 3.30am. Two nights ago he woke my husband at 4am. DH dutifully got up and uncovered his lid to find a bowl of butter. Oops, wrong bowl! Cat looked at DH like he'd lost his mind!!!! WTF am I meant to do what that?????? :smile:
 
Do you have a new BG number yet (since the 76)?

1 unit is not a really scary dose and I see in the SS he has been on much higher doses and has some pretty nice surfing times, I would think as soon as you have another number and it's not still dropping you could give 1U (or .75 again if you feel more comfortable) and feed him a LC/MC meal, then leave the covered food bowl (not the butter!) out so DH can dutifully feed if nessisary :cool:
 
So it's now 1.45 mins past usual shot time. No shot. BG is now 92. he's eaten enough for several hours. He weighs 20lbs. I dont' want to feed him when he's not asking for food. I better to leave a dose or give him .75 ???
 
It's never a good idea to skip a dose (unless you have to) A reduced dose is a better choice (it at least keeps the reserve tank full) so you don't risk running out of fuel completely somewhere down the road. You have a little rise already (ok, some food may be involved), I would wait 15 minutes (then you are shooting on the hour) test again and as long as the number is not going lower then shoot the .75 and leave a snack.

So your 76 (should have been PMPS) but since you waited it becomes just +12 and the 92 is then labeled as +13.45 and when you test again in 15 minutes and shoot then that number is PMPS (at +14) and in the morning you get your AMPS 12 hours from now. If you have the chance in the morning to test at +11 and you get a high number (because of the reduced doses) you could shoot a little earlier to try and get back on you schedule (an early shot also works like a slight increase in dose)
 
It's approx 2 hrs late so will adjust accordingly. We shot .75 - maybe slightly more as DH was giving me a lecture about the Qld protocol. :sad:
 
Thanks. We Aussies abbreviate everything. Qld = Queensland. It's the protocol that's been combine with the German protocol. The thing is that DH doesn't worry about hypo episodes. He thinks they happen to other cats. Also I didn't mention that I had run out of HC cat food. I had to go out to buy some @-)

Anyway, Cat just scoffed down a big plate of food. There goes his diet -there'a always tomorrow!
 
we usually say "nice shooting"...but given your location..."Good on ya!"

my sis spent 2 yrs in your neck of the woods...some of the most beautiful pictures, videos, and stories i've ever seen & heard.

nice work today...

celi & binks
 
I was following this one: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Last nite was difficult coz we were soooo tired and it was our first hot night of the season. I want to tell you what I really think and by all means tell me I'm wrong. I think LB has come right. I think he's ripe for stopping insulin. Instead of doing this I intend to reduce him to .75 now. I intend to follow the protocol to the extent of dropping him off inulin bit by bit. I think the diet has done a large part of the work. I especially want to avoid giving food to counteract the affect of the insulin as he's got too much belly fat which is bad for diabetes. In the beginning I was only concerned with getting the diabetes under control so I ignored the question of supplements. Now I'm more worried about supplements and introducing them to him because although he looks great he's fairly inactive. He's over 20lbs - so I intend to keep him mostly on a very low fat high protein diet. But I need to be getting some goodness into his diet.

On an unrelated matter we are bike riders and part of the pleasure is stopping to chat with cats who wait at their front fences for company. Yesterday there was a cat that looked like LB only smaller. We shook hands and then he allowed me to pick him up. Goodness he was heavy - nearly as heavy to lift as LB. This type of cat doesn't look fat but they weigh a ton. (part Maine coon) I noticed was wearing engraved tags. DO NOT FEED ME was one of the tags plus another stated his owner's mobile phone number. Very good idea.

I was already given the sites to read on diet which I am now reading my way thru. Thank you for your support.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top