Sophie AMBG 76, NS, PMPS 133, .25 U given

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoshandSophie

Member Since 2010
Hey y'all,

Thanks to Sienne and the others for prompting me to think about keeping Sophie under tight control and shooting, even though she's stayed in the greens and blues on her own. I've been adjusting her Lantus accordingly, and giving her between .25 and .5 units daily. This is down from 1 unit, twice daily. She's been waking up in the 60s and 70s, and even tonight, at 24 hours since last shot, she was only at 133. I'm feeling hopeful about keeper this tight control, and maybe looking forward to OTJ in the future. I've learned so much here; I'm glad I found you guys and gals.

Sophie couldn't be happier - she's got the energy of a kitten much of the time, running around corners and up walls. Eating, drinking, and urinating is all where it should be. In fact, now that I've gotten her to gain back the pound and a half she lost when she was undiagnosed and hyperglycemic, she's going to have to get used to not getting so much extra food!

Cheers.
 
Josh:

Take a look at Gabby's SS for the last few days. If you want to get Sophie OTJ, you need to start shooting lower numbers rather than skipping shots. If you don't know how to proceed, please post. There's usually someone around who can help. Sophie is doing well. There's just this mental hurdle you need to clear around shooting low numbers.
 
You're right, Sienne, I do have a mental hurdle about it. I'm getting there one step at a time.

You're really giving Gabby a whole unit when she's in the greens? When Gabby gets down into the 40s and 30s does she have hypo symptoms?

Thing is, I can't be as attentive to feeding multiple mini-meals of HC at so many points throughout the day as you do. I can take her to work, which is an advantage, but I don't have quite enough time as some to be as attentive as you have been. Hence my worry about shooting at such low numbers.
 
hello josh. take a look at alex's spreadsheets (2009 - 2011) for yet another example of shooting low to stay low.
she's on levemir, but the same principles apply.
 
Hi, Josh,

The first time I shot the 70s, I quaked in my boots (socks, whatever). You can see Kitty's ride in the SS link below.

I'm sure you know that there are lots of people here who leave their kitties at home all day. It's tough, but it's possible to shoot both shots safely, even with those restrictions. I know they would be happy to tell you their secrets!

Good luck. No telling what Sophie can do!
 
OMG Josh. You are the first person to ask... and, um, no. :oops: Wish I could take the props. One day I will reveal his secret identity to all, but until then, let him be known only as SUPER-KITTY. Because he is.

He overcame such big odds. That's how I know that Sophie also can achieve great things!

Check in often. We want to know how Sophie is doing.
 
I've got to figure out how to get my pix of Sophie (and sugar-free Mink) out of my Verizon phone and onto the computer for my profile.
 
Yup. I give whatever her dose is, although there have been some exceptions.

Part of what you're seeing is that I've learned that in most cases, if Gabby's numbers are going to drop, it's early in the cycle or she will signal that her numbers are going to drop usually by +2. I've arranged my work schedule and shot times so I'm home until +4. (I've been home sick this week hence all of the testing.) You can always leave higher carb food in a feeder if you need to.

Despite hitting some low numbers (you missed the 29), Gabby has never had hypo symptoms. She will signal that her numbers are running low -- she'll follow me to the kitchen and stare at me, then her bowl, then at me, then at her bowl... The texture of her coat is different when her numbers are lower. Part of this sugar dance is getting to know your cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top