Kim&Buddy
Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,
I'd like to introduce myself (warning - long winded!) and my little man Buddy and apologize in advance for what I'm sure will be an avalanche of questions. I've read the stickies which have great information and have follow-up questions. Even though tight regulation seems to be the more challenging option, I think it may be the way I'd like to go. Just not sure if it's an appropriate approach for newbies.
HISTORY
My 12 year old Buddy will begin a much anticipated switch from oral glipizide to Lantus. He was diagnosed at the end of February by a doctor that, at the time, I thought knew what she was doing. Buddy's symptoms started immediately after a steroid injection (literally the next day) that was a last course treatment option as he tried to recover from a severe URI and allergies. Poor little guy.
I trusted my old vet implicitly. It was only after I joined the FDMB that I realized just how much I - and apparently she - didn't know. She never once suggested home testing. I learned about it from you all and taught myself how to do it. Also without any guidance from her, I switched to a low carb, all wet food diet. Again thanks to you all. Newly informed, I approached my old vet. She was visibly disturbed that I was home testing, upset that I was using a Relion Confirm instead of AlphaTrak, and challenged my request to put him on Lantus. Her argument? Her concern was that the diabetes is transient and that glipize will minimize the chance of a hypoglycemic reaction seeing as his numbers are decreasing.
I recently started seeing a new vet here in Orlando recommended by a local FDMB member. This is a feline-only practice and while I didn't get the warm and fuzzies I get with my old vet hospital, I did see someone who seems to be a competent, caring doctor. She starts Buddy on Lantus this Thursday afternoon.
My new vet has said to keep his weight at a good 14 pounds so he needs to eat 3/4 can twice a day. At this point I feed him at 6:00 am (3/4 can and he grazes throughout the day while I'm at work); 6:00 pm (1/4 can) and 9:00 pm (1/2 can).
Below is something I posted in the general health forum and it was suggested that I ask for advice in this forum seeing as you've got the specialized experience. Thank you in advance for any help you can give.
Kim
*************
GENERAL HEALTH FORUM POST (slightly edited)
Buddy will receive his first dose at the vet Thursday and I'm on from there. My plan is to work from home Friday and not budge Saturday or Sunday. My question is this: how often should I check his BG Thursday night and during the day on Friday, Saturday and Sunday?
If I understand what I'm reading throughout the forum, Buddy's dose should be based on nadir and not pre-shot levels. I don't have a real baseline because all my tests have been on the glipizide (see his spreadsheet). Well, on 4/15 I didn't give any glip to him in the morning because his pre-dose number was low, but I learned when I switched out strips that it wasn't as low as I thought. The +9 read on 4/15 (3:00 pm) marks the use of the new strips. I do believe them to be accurate after multiple tests on me. Calling for a control solution today.
Besides the concern of learning the mechanics of the injection itself, I'm concerned about dosage and his low levels at the outset. He's holding steady around 150 on a reduced dose of the glipizide. I can do a BG test Thursday afternoon before I leave and see where he's at. That read will be interesting seeing as he will not have been given any medicine that morning. Should I ask my vet to start him out at .5u seeing as his numbers aren't high to begin with? What if the PMPS I take before the vet is 150'ish? From one of the sticky entries, it looks like 150 is the beginning of a gray area. What if it is significantly lower than 150?
The last thing I want is to induce hypo on his first night. I'm even more concerned because his pre-dose this morning was 124 - which could mark a similar declining trend I saw last week.
I'd greatly appreciate any advice you can give.
I'd like to introduce myself (warning - long winded!) and my little man Buddy and apologize in advance for what I'm sure will be an avalanche of questions. I've read the stickies which have great information and have follow-up questions. Even though tight regulation seems to be the more challenging option, I think it may be the way I'd like to go. Just not sure if it's an appropriate approach for newbies.
HISTORY
My 12 year old Buddy will begin a much anticipated switch from oral glipizide to Lantus. He was diagnosed at the end of February by a doctor that, at the time, I thought knew what she was doing. Buddy's symptoms started immediately after a steroid injection (literally the next day) that was a last course treatment option as he tried to recover from a severe URI and allergies. Poor little guy.
I trusted my old vet implicitly. It was only after I joined the FDMB that I realized just how much I - and apparently she - didn't know. She never once suggested home testing. I learned about it from you all and taught myself how to do it. Also without any guidance from her, I switched to a low carb, all wet food diet. Again thanks to you all. Newly informed, I approached my old vet. She was visibly disturbed that I was home testing, upset that I was using a Relion Confirm instead of AlphaTrak, and challenged my request to put him on Lantus. Her argument? Her concern was that the diabetes is transient and that glipize will minimize the chance of a hypoglycemic reaction seeing as his numbers are decreasing.
I recently started seeing a new vet here in Orlando recommended by a local FDMB member. This is a feline-only practice and while I didn't get the warm and fuzzies I get with my old vet hospital, I did see someone who seems to be a competent, caring doctor. She starts Buddy on Lantus this Thursday afternoon.
My new vet has said to keep his weight at a good 14 pounds so he needs to eat 3/4 can twice a day. At this point I feed him at 6:00 am (3/4 can and he grazes throughout the day while I'm at work); 6:00 pm (1/4 can) and 9:00 pm (1/2 can).
Below is something I posted in the general health forum and it was suggested that I ask for advice in this forum seeing as you've got the specialized experience. Thank you in advance for any help you can give.
Kim
*************
GENERAL HEALTH FORUM POST (slightly edited)
Buddy will receive his first dose at the vet Thursday and I'm on from there. My plan is to work from home Friday and not budge Saturday or Sunday. My question is this: how often should I check his BG Thursday night and during the day on Friday, Saturday and Sunday?
If I understand what I'm reading throughout the forum, Buddy's dose should be based on nadir and not pre-shot levels. I don't have a real baseline because all my tests have been on the glipizide (see his spreadsheet). Well, on 4/15 I didn't give any glip to him in the morning because his pre-dose number was low, but I learned when I switched out strips that it wasn't as low as I thought. The +9 read on 4/15 (3:00 pm) marks the use of the new strips. I do believe them to be accurate after multiple tests on me. Calling for a control solution today.
Besides the concern of learning the mechanics of the injection itself, I'm concerned about dosage and his low levels at the outset. He's holding steady around 150 on a reduced dose of the glipizide. I can do a BG test Thursday afternoon before I leave and see where he's at. That read will be interesting seeing as he will not have been given any medicine that morning. Should I ask my vet to start him out at .5u seeing as his numbers aren't high to begin with? What if the PMPS I take before the vet is 150'ish? From one of the sticky entries, it looks like 150 is the beginning of a gray area. What if it is significantly lower than 150?
The last thing I want is to induce hypo on his first night. I'm even more concerned because his pre-dose this morning was 124 - which could mark a similar declining trend I saw last week.
I'd greatly appreciate any advice you can give.