Bobbie And Bubba
Member Since 2015
Is the difference between the two : Somogyi the BG has to drop to hypo level and Bouncing is just the liver's response to a lower than usual number not necessarily a hypo number?
Good job, Bobbie!I have reduced! Check out his SS, he went from 3.5 to 1.6 over the last few cycles. Today was the biggest drop he has experienced in one month on a 2 unit dose and his first smile curve in one month. He's a little higher today, but that was to be expected. Tonight I dropped him to 1.6 and he has had a 90 point drop in 3 hours. Compare to previous days..... I am so optimist!
I love Squallie's new photo!!Good job, Bobbie!![]()
He is so cute! There is something about his face that makes me want to kiss it all over. Also, he has his right eye sort of winking in each of his pics and Bubba used to do that with his right eye.everyone else was changing their avatar, so I did too
If you had it checked out and they say not to worry, don't worry.His pupils are different sizes -everyone says not to worry about it but sometimes it is unnerving
Thank you! He's getting ready to bat at a floatie-toy in that pic.I love Squallie's new photo!!
Looks like he's saying, "Who me"????Thank you! He's getting ready to bat at a floatie-toy in that pic.![]()
Thanks Shane, now I've got to figure out if 1.6 is the right dose for now. We have movement with numbers but he is still highWow, Bobbie, that's so exciting! It's so hard to figure out sometimes if the dose needs to go up or down. Good work, Bubba!!
@Carol & Murphy, that's a super cute pic of Murphy.![]()
The good news is that he isn't any higher than when he was on 3 units and his cycles were flat.Bobbie - just goes to show you - "Mother knows best" -- (pun on TV show in the 50s or early 60s called Father knows best)Thanks Shane, now I've got to figure out if 1.6 is the right dose for now. We have movement with numbers but he is still highThe good news is that he isn't any higher than when he was on 3 units and his cycles were flat.
We'll see..... I would feel better if the preshots would start to come down, but his little body has been through a lot. I am thinking to hold this dose now for a few days and see what happens.Bobbie - just goes to show you - "Mother knows best" -- (pun on TV show in the 50s or early 60s called Father knows best)
That's probably what I would do, Bobbie, give it a few days to settle down and see where you are then.We'll see..... I would feel better if the preshots would start to come down, but his little body has been through a lot. I am thinking to hold this dose now for a few days and see what happens.
I agree with Lucy. If his numbers are as high as when he was on a higher dose, why not give him less? And at least he's not flat anymore but going back to a smile curve. If his numbers are the same after a few days, then "the group mind" can help you reassess.That's probably what I would do, Bobbie, give it a few days to settle down and see where you are then.![]()
What a roller coaster!That's probably what I would do, Bobbie, give it a few days to settle down and see where you are then.![]()
Better get back on my patience pantI agree with Lucy. If his numbers are as high as when he was on a higher dose, why not give him less? And at least he's not flat anymore but going back to a smile curve. If his numbers are the same after a few days, then "the group mind" can help you reassess.![]()
What a roller coaster!
I know, Bobbie, it's frustrating, isn't it? Squallie's BG was 527 this AM, after days of being in nice, lower numbers! I have no idea where that 527 came from, it came right out of left field and hit us square between the eyes, lol!Better get back on my patience pant![]()
I know, Bobbie, it's frustrating, isn't it? Squallie's BG was 527 this AM, after days of being in nice, lower numbers! I have no idea where that 527 came from, it came right out of left field and hit us square between the eyes, lol!
I would too but try not too, it's just a number. Could he have hacked up a hair ball prior to the test.I did retest, yes, right away, and it was 486. I was just stunned, I have no idea at all why he was so high this morning.. The only thing I can think happened was that he got Candy's dish at dinner, and she got his. Hers has a weight supplement added to it, although it's mostly fat and I don't know whether or not it would raise his BG. That would also mean that Candy got his potassium supplement, which is concerning, but so far she seems to be okay.
Or it could just be some anomalous number that I'll never know the explanation for, but I'll make myself crazy trying to figure it out, lol!
I would too but try not too, it's just a number
Well at least he feels good, and I know what you mean, I need to know "why" too. I have spent all morning going over the SS and researching more and whew, it's exhausting! Made an apt with a new vet that RX Lantus and Levemir, just in case..... my new vet, it turns out that he is semi-retired and using humulin, which I won't use.I know, but I always want to know "Why?" and it makes me nuts not to have any answers, lol. No hairballs, but he's been playing like a madman the past few days, lol, probably even more than he did when he was younger! He'a absolutely adorable when he plays, his facial expressions are particularly comical.
does anyone know the success rate of switching to other insulins? My friend (who is a feline only vet but is not Murphy's vet) said switching insulins is usually the last resort)Well at least he feels good, and I know what you mean, I need to know "why" too. I have spent all morning going over the SS and researching more and whew, it's exhausting! Made an apt with a new vet that RX Lantus and Levemir, just in case..... my new vet, it turns out that he is semi-retired and using humulin, which I won't use.
That's interesting, I hope others will weigh.does anyone know the success rate of switching to other insulins? My friend (who is a feline only vet but is not Murphy's vet) said switching insulins is usually the last resort)
that makes sense - I think she just meant she does everything to try to get the insulin to work - am still curious as to success rate though for kitties who switchedI don't know about last resort. If one isn't working and it's been tried for a reasonable length of time, why not try another?
If your blood pressure medicine wasn't working wouldn't you try another?