Somogyi vs Bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
Is the difference between the two : Somogyi the BG has to drop to hypo level and Bouncing is just the liver's response to a lower than usual number not necessarily a hypo number?
 
Yes, that's correct, at least that's what I have been led to believe. The difference, though, is pretty subtle. With Somogyi Rebound Effect an episode of hypoclcemia triggers the liver to dump glucose into the bloodstream, resulting in an episode of hyperglycemia. My understanding of a "bounce" is that it can be caused by kitty experiencing lower BG than it's system is used to, but not necessarily a hypoglycemic episode. Hope that helps! :)
 
Just researching it since it was 10/ 17 when Bubba's numbers went into the double digits ( green,but not hyp0) and it hasn't happened since even though his dose has been increased from 2 units to 3.5 units.
 
I have reduced! Check out his SS, he went from 3.5 to 1.6 over the last few cycles. Today was the biggest drop he has experienced in one month on a 2 unit dose and his first smile curve in one month. He's a little higher today, but that was to be expected. Tonight I dropped him to 1.6 and he has had a 90 point drop in 3 hours. Compare to previous days..... I am so optimist!
 
I have reduced! Check out his SS, he went from 3.5 to 1.6 over the last few cycles. Today was the biggest drop he has experienced in one month on a 2 unit dose and his first smile curve in one month. He's a little higher today, but that was to be expected. Tonight I dropped him to 1.6 and he has had a 90 point drop in 3 hours. Compare to previous days..... I am so optimist!
Good job, Bobbie! :):):)
 
I think this could be where he should be for now. All hell broke loose when he went down to 51 on a 2 unit dose (10.16.15. I should have reduced it then and did not. I'll just have to see what happens in the next few cycles as the dust settles. The info I read said it could take a couple of days for the numbers to start to come down.
 
Wow, Bobbie, that's so exciting! It's so hard to figure out sometimes if the dose needs to go up or down. Good work, Bubba!!

@Carol & Murphy, that's a super cute pic of Murphy. :)
Thanks Shane, now I've got to figure out if 1.6 is the right dose for now. We have movement with numbers but he is still high :banghead: The good news is that he isn't any higher than when he was on 3 units and his cycles were flat.
 
I know, Bobbie, it's frustrating, isn't it? Squallie's BG was 527 this AM, after days of being in nice, lower numbers! I have no idea where that 527 came from, it came right out of left field and hit us square between the eyes, lol!

OMG! I know you retested to make sure. You must have been shocked!
 
I did retest, yes, right away, and it was 486. I was just stunned, I have no idea at all why he was so high this morning.. The only thing I can think happened was that he got Candy's dish at dinner, and she got his. Hers has a weight supplement added to it, although it's mostly fat and I don't know whether or not it would raise his BG. That would also mean that Candy got his potassium supplement, which is concerning, but so far she seems to be okay.

Or it could just be some anomalous number that I'll never know the explanation for, but I'll make myself crazy trying to figure it out, lol!
 
I did retest, yes, right away, and it was 486. I was just stunned, I have no idea at all why he was so high this morning.. The only thing I can think happened was that he got Candy's dish at dinner, and she got his. Hers has a weight supplement added to it, although it's mostly fat and I don't know whether or not it would raise his BG. That would also mean that Candy got his potassium supplement, which is concerning, but so far she seems to be okay.

Or it could just be some anomalous number that I'll never know the explanation for, but I'll make myself crazy trying to figure it out, lol!
I would too but try not too, it's just a number. Could he have hacked up a hair ball prior to the test.
 
I would too but try not too, it's just a number

I know, but I always want to know "Why?" and it makes me nuts not to have any answers, lol. No hairballs, but he's been playing like a madman the past few days, lol, probably even more than he did when he was younger! He'a absolutely adorable when he plays, his facial expressions are particularly comical.
 
I know, but I always want to know "Why?" and it makes me nuts not to have any answers, lol. No hairballs, but he's been playing like a madman the past few days, lol, probably even more than he did when he was younger! He'a absolutely adorable when he plays, his facial expressions are particularly comical.
Well at least he feels good, and I know what you mean, I need to know "why" too. I have spent all morning going over the SS and researching more and whew, it's exhausting! Made an apt with a new vet that RX Lantus and Levemir, just in case..... my new vet, it turns out that he is semi-retired and using humulin, which I won't use.
 
Well at least he feels good, and I know what you mean, I need to know "why" too. I have spent all morning going over the SS and researching more and whew, it's exhausting! Made an apt with a new vet that RX Lantus and Levemir, just in case..... my new vet, it turns out that he is semi-retired and using humulin, which I won't use.
does anyone know the success rate of switching to other insulins? My friend (who is a feline only vet but is not Murphy's vet) said switching insulins is usually the last resort)
 
I don't know about last resort. If one isn't working and it's been tried for a reasonable length of time, why not try another?

If your blood pressure medicine wasn't working wouldn't you try another?
 
I don't know about last resort. If one isn't working and it's been tried for a reasonable length of time, why not try another?

If your blood pressure medicine wasn't working wouldn't you try another?
that makes sense - I think she just meant she does everything to try to get the insulin to work - am still curious as to success rate though for kitties who switched
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top