Something isn't right

Just-As-Appy

Active Member
I'm wondering if my insulin has lost its poop. She does have a bladder infection right now and is on Baytril.

I have been conservative because of her very limited mobility (does not seek food at night) but feel that still something is not right. Thoughts please and thanks.
 
I don't think it's the insulin. Most people get at least 6 months out of a vial.

When following SLGS, you want nadirs to be in the 90-149 range, which they were at 1.25 units. Then you increased. With no tests at night and no curves (also required for SLGS), we don't know how low she's going on this dose. It's possible she's going lower in those white spaces on the spreadsheet, and then bouncing hard. Bladder infections can also make the numbers rise.
 
Have you tested for ketones in the urine? With a bladder infection and those higher BGs I would recommend you do so. You will need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy. Collect a urine sample from Twix and follow the directions on the bottle
 
Back
Top